We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We stayed at Mystique for three nights on our honeymoon after escaping from the Astir Palace outside Athens. What a difference! The van was waiting to pick us up from the ferry dock despite our ferry running over an hour late, the porters scrambled to take our luggage down the steps as we walked into the main office and were warmly greeted by the manager proffering champagne....absolute A+ on the service for our entire stay, could not find fault with anything (and just to note - we were staying in one of the less expensive rooms, so it's not as if this level of service is purely reserved for those booking the 2,000+ EUR/night suites). The staff definitely went out of their way on every occasion to ensure that our stay was wonderful.

The pool area and restaurant were always impeccably clean, well maintained, with prompt service. The food at the restaurant was quite good and high priced, but not exhorbitantly so - we ate there several times. We also did the wine tasting which was fun. Plus, there's a host of good restaurants in Oia which is just a couple blocks away.

Is the pool small? Yes. All pools overlooking the caldera are. But with 18 rooms, the pool was never overcrowded. If you want a big pool, don't stay on Santorini

Are there alot of steps? Yes. But every place overlooking the caldera has alot of steps. If you don't want alot of steps, don't stay on Santorini.

The other thing to note about Mystique is that unlike the dozens of other high end hotels dotting the Caldera from Fira to Oia...the balconies actually give you some privacy, instead of being right next to a public walking path or on top of your neighbor, which is really nice.

Would definitely recommend this place to others - it is alot of money, but we left happy that we spent it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    80
    26
    8
    10
See reviews for
45
416
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Have just got back from the most wonderful week in Santorini. This was our second week in Greece, Crete being the first. We were picked up from the Ferry Port and taken to Mystique. Down 30 steps to be greeted by reception with a glass of champagne, taken on tour of hotel and then shown to our lovely room (14). This was a vibrant suite (standard room). It had a very comfy bed, well stocked mini bar and good bath products for the fab bathroom.

The breakfasts were mostly very good, although eggs could be fantastic one day and not good the next. My husband had poached eggs one day, perfect, next day so vinegary he struggled to eat them.
We ate lunch here quite a few days and they were lovely. The waiting staff go out of there way to make sure you have everything you need and really look after you. Thank you Dora, Marta and Dana.

Oia is fantastic with lots of restaurants to choose from. We liked walking the 250 steps down to Ammoudi and eating at Dimitris or Sunset, both were very good and the sunset from there is amazing. In the day you can walk along the path to a 'beach' where people were jumping off the rocks, very entertaining. Also at the top of the steps there is a restaurant called Kastro which serves good food and has a really good view of the sunsetting, very romantic.

Our only small gripe would be the music being played at breakfast and round the pool all day. The hotel is so calm it doesn't need awful background music. People have ipods these days if they want music. We were not the only people to feel this way, one lady tried to muffle the noise with towel over the speaker!

All in all a fantastic hotel with great staff, we would love to go back again. Perhaps next year.
Thanks to everyone

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauralou911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We spent a few days in Santorini and did a few days in Andronis and in Mystique. The view is beautiful but the pool is too small and the quality of the hotel is better at Andronis (rooms, food, location). I will give Mystique the fact that they are very nice and tried hard. But again stay in Andronis for the same price!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capferret23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysOia, Manager at Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to post your comments on Trip Advisor, even though you spent only few minutes in Mystique since you were immediately upgraded to a Villa with a private pool to our sister property Vedema Resort.

We would like to note that is not really fair to compare the highest category of room of one hotel (Andronis) to the lowest category of another hotel (Mystique). Also not fair, is to judge a property by the fact that there was no availability to offer an upgrade, even though we would be most happy to do so, if availability permitted.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you in the future at Mystique and offer you an exceptional stay.

Kindest Regards,

Antonia Veskou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2010

My husband and I stayed here on the last leg of our honeymoon and although the place is very pricey, it's well worth the cost. We were in Italy for a week and were in desperate need ofsome R&R from all the walking and activities in Italy. The rooms were beautiful, with our very own jacuzzi and terrace with lounge chairs and a bench we actually fell asleep on one night (Dimitri the bartender serving us too many drinks :) j/k). The location was also ideal since it was walking distance to the shops and restaurants in Oia. It's a 15-20 minute cab ride into Fira (downtown area of Santorini) and not really worth the trip unless you want to do some shopping for souvenirs and such (better selection of items there than in Oia). The hotel seems small, but you don't feel it, for the most part everyone minds their own business, although we met some couples who were very friendly, so it depends on whether you prefer the privacy or not you can easily have both.
We had breakfast here and a couple of lunches and yes, it is very pricey. We walked into town to buy 5 euro gyros and 15-20 euro meals to save on the cost of food.
You are honestly paying for 2 things, the most gorgeous view on the island. Given, the sunset view is best in town (go into town and down the long stairs to Dimitri and have dinner there to get the best view of the sun setting into the water). The second thing you're paying for is the amazing customer service. Everyone there was so hospitable from Antoinette, the GM to Harry, the restaurant manager and our personal favorite Dimitri, the bartender. We spent every night at the bar with Dimitri and another couple and we stumbled back to our room every night! It was wonderful! We never wanted to leave.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yhuizar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

My husband and I have just returned from 5 wonderful days at Mystique.

The hotel is in a beautiful location overlooking the Caldera and on the edge of where all the shops and restaurants are located in Oia. The hotel location is on edge of volcano and therefore you have to go down approximately 30 steep steps to get to the hotel. This would not be suitable for someone elderly or infirm.

All of the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help.

The breakfasts are great and there is a wide choice on the menu. We had lunch on our first day and was a little dissapointed. My husband had shrimp salad with only 2 shrimps! After mentioning this to the waitress she then brought out another 3 shrimps!! We decided not to eat lunch or dinner in the restaurant again and found many other
lovely restaurants.

Small problems relating to our room were fixed very quickly by the attentive staff.

One downside while we were on holiday was that some very loud new York travel agents were reviewing the hotel, not sure why it took 2 couples - personally think they were taking the Michael! They thought it was ok to smoke in the pool and drink shots. The more they drunk the louder they became - they were very inconsiderate to other guests and we personally felt that they took over the swimming pool. This spoilt our relaxing day. Fortunately this was only for one day. The rest of the time was peaceful and relaxing.

A couple of things to do when staying in Oia:
- Santorini sailing with captain ted. Sunset cruise and swimming in the thermal springs followed by onboard BBQ and entertained by guitarist and entertainer Harry - excellent.
- walked (230 steps) down to Amoudi harbour for swim in the sea. Had dinner in Dimitri's - very nice and watched the sunset, then walked back up again.

Ladies - leave the high heels at home due to the steps and uneven pathways!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathshopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

The location and view is breathtaking from The Mystique. Antonia and the staff in front office bent over backwards to make our stay perfect. As long as you are in decent shape, don't worry about the stairs, not as bad as others make them sound, but don't even think about wearing heels to walk into town. Our room was a spa-like calm retreat with an huge balcony overlooking the water.
There were some complaints from other reviewers about a long wait for breakfast. We found the service to be attentive and timely and the food absolutely delicious.
Some highlights of our stay (besides relaxing by the pool and in the room ...)
- semi-private sunset sailing cruise of caldera (arranged through hotel)
- 6 mile hike from Oia to Fira
- Dinner at Dimitris at Amoudi fishing village (walk down around 200 stairs at end of Oia to get there)
- Inexepensive authentic greek food at Roka in Oia

All in all a very special hotel, but I feel the room charge is higher than it should be.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greektraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed at Mystique for 5 nights to start our honeymoon (before continuing on to Istanbul). I researched pretty much every hotel in Santorini and finally decided on Mystique becasue of the great reviews and becasue they are a member of Starwood's Luxury Collection, which we have always had luck with. We were not disappointed. Mystique is fabulous, the people who work there are amazing, and it was the most luxurious vacation I have ever had!

To begin with, the view from Mystique (and our suite) was surreal. But, to be fair, the view from anywhere in Oia is surreal. What made the hotel so fantastic was the service. The front desk personnel are nothing short of amazing - better than any other hotel I have ever been to. Anytime we wanted to do something, we mentioned it to them and they made it happen. Want a catamaran cruise around the island? They will book an amazing sailing trip with dinner and drinks and arrange pick-up. Want to rent a convertible for a day? They will find you the exact vehicle you're interested in and have it brought to the hotel. Want a recommendation for a good, out of the way lunch spot? They have it. Want to hike to Fira? They will help you find the trail. Plus, they seem to make every effort to upgrade hotel guests when possible. We were upgraded to an Allure Suite with a giant jacuzzi tub. It was amazing to sink into at the end of a long day - and the hotel ajusted the temp to be just how we wanted.

We never ate at the hotel restaurant becasue there are just too many incredible places in town to eat (try Tis Pandoras right on the water down in Ammoudi!) so I can't comment on that. But we had drinks at the bar with the fantastic bartender Dimitri and enjoyed snacks by the pool, which were always great. We also did a wine tasting which was lovely (tip: don't plan on a big dinner after the tasting, we almost fell asleep at the restaurant).

Yes, you have to go down (and then up) about 30 stairs to get in and out of the property. So it's not for people with mobility problems -- a bummer because otherwise my parents would love to visit. And it has a small pool -- perfect for dipping but not for laps. But there's great lounge chairs overlooking the water where you can lay out all day. Finally, the fact that the hotel is a 5 min walk to the pedestrian walkway shouldn't deter anyone - the walk is lovely, short, safe and made Mystique seem even more private and serene.

In sum, Mystique was a dream vacation. We cannot wait to go back to Santorini in the future and stay there again. They made our honeymoon so wonderful. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHale3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.3 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.2 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#12 of 56 in Oia
938 reviews
0.7 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Perivolas
Perivolas
#16 of 56 in Oia
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
3.0 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Thiras - Ias, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Oia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystique is a stylish property consisting of 39 suites and villas built exactly on Oia's most famous cliffs with dazzling views of clear blue crystalline waters towards the Volcano and the Aegean Caldera. 18 Km from Santorini Airport and 20 km from Athinios Port.All accommodations are a wondrous exploration of driftwood, a free spirited, untamed material that harness the elegance of simplicity. Enticing patterns carved into the walls. All suites open onto sea-facing terraces with relaxing daybeds. Cobblestone pathways lead to the plunge pool surrounded by sun beds for the utmost relaxation.Guests may experience an outdoor infinity-edge pool, the "Aura" Bar, the "Charisma" Gourmet Restaurant, "ASEA" the new artisan Japanese restaurant and the "Secret" Wine Cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystique Hotel Oia
Mystique Oia
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing