We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Filotera Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Filotera Suites
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

We stayed at Filotera Villas in May 2010 and we read so many reviews at various hotels that we couldn't decide where to stay. So, we split our time between Filotera and another hotel. While this other hotel was ok, it was not nearly as beautiful and as enjoyable a stay that we had at Filotera. Filotera is family owned and very friendly. We stayed 3 nights in one of the small caves, which was very quaint and very CLEAN (which was very important to us). We arrived around 2am and were met by Nikolas at our taxi and escorted to our room. After waking the next morning we walked out onto our balcony and was mesmerized by the breathtaking view! (See photos). The view is simply amazing and while we did not see any of the other caves, the size of the small cave house was adequate and affordable for us. After all, we were in a beautiful place and we didn't want to spend much time in our room anyway. Breakfast is not included but the room was equipped with a kitchenette and fridge. Also plenty of restaurants and small grocery stores within 1 to 2 minutes walk to buy whatever you want with ease. Filotera is ideally located. The bus stop can be reached within 2 to 5 mins walk and the far side of Oia can be reached with a 10 to 15 mins walk. If you go to Santorini, I would highly recommend Filotera Villas in Oia. You will not be disappointed! The combination of the view and the hospitality at Filotera put them above and beyond at any hotel that you would stay at Oia

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
206
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

Lodging in Oia are very expensive, especially with Caldera view. Filotera hotel is a good option: family owned, wonderful view and with a reasonable price compared to the ones near by. Do have a swin and a jacuzzi in the terrace with the spectacular caldera view. At night is priceless!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lullionline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

We travelled to Oia primarily to attend my cousin's wedding... Niko, his wife Maria, and son Adonis were awesome and we cannot say enough good things about them. For budgetary reasons we were able to rent a room in the section usually reserved for family or staff who rent these appartments during the holiday season. So it was on the road, which was fine. Second floor had a limited view of the caldera out one window, and of the ocean on the other side of Santorini.

Location:
> Great spot , at the end of the pedastrian path and away from the bustle of tourists from the tour busses
> Main section of Filotera has awesome Caledra view with rooms being lower which makes it quiet
*Importan notice: For sunset views from your hotel in Oia, you have to be at the very end of the village on the Western slope, where the steps to Ammoudi port are...so you need to stay at places like Art Maison, Golden Sunset and the like...however, with that you get the daily tour bus crowds invading your area every day*
> Corner store 50 meters away
> Great bakery 40 meters away
> Awesome all natural bakery up the main road 100m
> Main grocery store 100m up the road
> Akylona restaurant next door on the main road...great gyro and nice people

Room:
> Very clean room
> Just a note: All of Santorini is like this, but had to get used to not flushing the toilet paper
> Beds were a bit hard, but linen refreshed regularly
> Second floor was for the children and they loved it...
> Steps to second floor were a bit steep but to be expected in these older locations
> Shower was only on telephone type head...wich was fine...and didnt need to push button to warm water up first like other hotels due
> Had a small kitchenette, but nothing more to heat up water for tea and such...
> Had small fridge to store food that we bought for the kids

Services:
> Niko, Maria and rest of family exceedingly nice and would go out of way to help
> Arranged for volcano boat tour (wear good shoes, hot springs are accessed by diving off boat, wear old bathig suit as it will get stained by metals in water, and don't eat lunch at the port of Thirassia, take donkey ride up to top...no matter what tour guide says)
> Internet accessed only from terrace behind office
> Pool small but great...no big pools in Oia
> Hot tub well received
> They made arrangements for us for a car rental on one day...which was great to do
> Bus stop right at door of this location on the main road
> Niko played interpreter for us and helped us call around Athens looking for accomodations...at no extra charge
> Check in- Niko met us at the road and helped us with luggage and we dealt with paperwork the next day once rested
> Check out - Smooth, efficient, no surprises, let us keep the room for the day as we had a late flight out to try and get more in...heck, he took the kids by the hand, walked over to the bakery and bought them each chocolate while we waited for the shuttle to the airport that he arranged for us

Cannot reccomend this place enough!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lazy_Artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights of our honeymoon and it was just perfect. Beautiful, romantic cave room with a bottle of champagne waiting for us, fabulous views, beautiful, convenient location. Hosts were fabulous, and breakfast brought to out patio every morning was an absolute treat. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemongirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

Fantastic Hotel on a Great Island.
I will definitely come back again!
Really relaxing and romantic stay. Extremely clean rooms and breath taking views.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzz1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

I am writing this review sitting on the balcony behind Niko's office... We checked out at 11:00am this morning, but had booked a late flight out of Santorini, wanting to maximize our last day here. Niko, consistent with his outstanding hospitality all week allowed us to store our bags at his office and let us hang out by the pool all day - savoring every last drop of the Santorini sun before we reluctantly head to the airport.

I was a little concerned upon arrival at the airport as the taxi driver that was to meet us - arranged by Niko - was no where to be found. After waiting about 10 minutes I called Niko and he assured me the taxi driver would be there... sure enough, about the time I hung up the phone, the driver appeared. No doubt hung up in traffic through Fira. About 30 minutes later, we were greeted by Niko and checked in. We were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary, and Niko presented us with a bottle of wine made from his family's grapes and when we arrived in our room (Afoura), there was a bottle of white sparkling wine for us as well!

Afoura is a traditional cave house, a deep room with a kitchenette and sitting room at the front end and the bedroom area at the back. Off to the left immediately upon entering is the bathroom. This was a large sized room for the two of us, but completely comfortable. There was a faint smell when we first moved into the room... I think maybe from the room having been closed up prior to our arrival. This smell quickly went away upon opening the windows.

The bathroom - carved into the wall of the caldera, just as the room, is not small, but has a low ceiling, The 'shower' is a large jacuzzi tub with an handheld shower attachment. There's a place to park your bottom on the side of the tub closest to the wall (kind of in the corner) and it's a perfectly serviceable shower. I mention this not to disuade you from booking, but just so you know what to expect.

The pool is perfect, just large enough for the number of guests, although only a few manage to get hot at the same time and get in to cool off. There are plenty of chairs and lounges and umbrellas.

It's a family affair here at Filotera. Niko and his family take a lot of pride in managing their property. We found it clean and everything was in working order.

The location is very good. It's got roughly the same view as the much more expensive Katikies (tho we did look longingly at Katikies and their pool side service - food and drinks - then remembered the price delta and looked at Niko's wonderful property and were once again happy)! It's near the end of the Oia pedestrian sidewalk, and at first I feared 'too far outside main Oia'. I couldn't have been more wrong. We avoided the 'crush of humanity that decends on the point of Oia for sunset everynight, and were seconds walk of markets, tavernas and one of the best restaurants in town - Feredini.

Niko arranged breakfast on our patio every morning, and it was great. Breads, pastries, yogurt, fruit... all in varying combinations. Each morning was a surprise, but a pleasant one each morning.

I researched MANY places in Oia in this budget range, and I went to many of them to check out the options I had passed up. They were all similar, but I have to say that of the places I was considering, none of them, when viewed in person made me second guess my choice.

Location - outstanding
Hospitality - outstanding
Price - for Oia, it was a good value :)

Niko goes out of his way to recommend some activities and places to eat, but I found that the things I had researched and decided to do fit better with the expectations of our trip than what he had recommended... Not saying his recommendations would have been bad, but he points you to some of the more 'mass market' type activities, and we were purposely looking for smaller, more intimate (albeit slightly more expensive) experiences.

At the end of the day, in this budget range, I could not recommend someplace more!

Bravo to Niko and his family for making our 10 year wedding anniversary trip everything we hoped it would be!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wildcatpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed in the Afoura cave house for a week at the beginning of August 2010.
The view we woke up to every morning was just out of this world, it was just magical.
The Filotera villas are located in an ideal position and it was always so quiet and peaceful.
Swimming in the pool, lying at the edge overlooking the cliffs down to Armeni and the caldera was just paradise. It was so hot while we were there [35/36C] that we needed the pool or the jacuzzi to keep cool.
Nikolas and his wife Maria were just the perfect hosts - nothing was too much for them during our stay. The personal touch was what made our holiday!
Our cavehouse was spotlessly cleaned every day, towels were changed daily and sheets every other day.
There are plenty of restaurants in Oia varying in prices and many supermarkets around Filotera Villas where you can buy everything you need for your own self catering. Plus a bakery across the walkway!
It was busy in the evening when coaches of tourists arrived to see the sunset in Oia which was around 8.15pm in August. Most tourists gathered by the castle or by the Lioyerma Pool area which became extremely busy. It also tended to be busy during the day when cruise parties visited but we didn't venture out as it was too hot.
I would certainly visit again - both Oia and Filotera Villas are special places.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baileysmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.2 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
5.6 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 82 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.4 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filotera Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filotera Suites

Property: Filotera Suites
Address: Main Road, Oia 847 02, Greece (Formerly Filotera Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#1 Spa Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Filotera Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portray your Santorini holiday with exclusive experiences. Santorini... A half-moon shaped paradise with dove-white houses and superb suites, engulfed by the calm cobalt blue Aegean Sea and cherishing volcanic sandy beaches all around. A magical place on earth, an island that constitutes a top international destination seen in personal wish-lists of millions of people worldwide! You have made your dream come true and you are finally here! This small island certainly looks nothing like what you have left back home. You are not only mesmerized by the beauty of the 'black diamond' of the Aegean, but eager with enthusiasm to portray your holidays with exclusive experiences. Oia Luxury Suites are waiting for you! Brand new. Unbeatably luxurious. Memorable holidays in the Aegean archipelago. Relax and take a breath of fresh air. The landscapes will overwhelm you, the sunsets will enchant you, the history will fascinate you! You have made the perfect decision, having selected to stay at a beautiful boutique hotel in the atmospheric settlement of Oia in Santorini - the heavenly, brand new Filotera Suites, which is bound to offer you an incredible and memorable stay, thanks to its quality services and its perfect Oia private pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Filotera Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filotera Villas Hotel Oia
Filotera Suites Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing