We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel and owner!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Filotera Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Filotera Suites
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and owner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in the cave houses in August 2013 and had an exceptional time. The hotel is right in the middle of everything that is wonderful about Oia! The view is amazing from every room- you can't go wrong. The hotel is close to all shops and restaurants- great location! The owner of the hotel was so helpful and kind to us. Nicholas arranged a reasonable airport transfer for us, as well as quickly helped out when two people in our party missed a pickup for an excursion (by 1-2 minutes- they left without hesitation!), and he without even being asked popped us into his car and drove us to the water without a second hesitation. He also took our whole party to and from dinner at a nearby restaurant for the sunset- so kind! They arranged for us to have hearty breakfast by the pool overlooking the water each morning for just 5 euros a person- magnificent! The views and facilities were perfect, especially for the great price! A Rick Steve's spot on suggestion! I will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: We had the suite cave house- it was a two bedroom- and it was great- lots of space and a family room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvellios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
202
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Really great hotel in a great location and with a great view. The rooms were really nice and the overall feel to the place was very welcoming. The owner of the hotel and his son very nice and they couldn't do enough for you. Not a 5 star hotel but a brilliant one none the less. Their is no restaurant on site but their are great ones very near by. Will definitely be back when I am next on this wonderful island.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank smccor_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the wonderful caves houses known as Filotera Villas in early April 2013. The villas have the perfect view overlooking the caldera each with their own private balcony. We were allocated the family cave house, which for the two of us, was huge. Our cave house had a large bathroom with a spa bath, kitchen facilities, 2 bedrooms and a separate sitting area, all spotlessly clean. A complimentary bottle of wine from Nikolas’ winery is waiting in the cave house. A lovely breakfast on your own private balcony is provided each morning consisting of fresh coffee, juice, boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit and freshly baked bread. The villas are on the walkway to the shops, very close to restaurants, bakery, grocery store, bus stops and I will say shops again as the shopping in Oia is marvellous. There is a communal area housing a hot tub, pool and lounge chairs.

Nikolas was a wonderful host, very knowledgeable about the island and super helpful. He arranged our transfers from the harbour and to the airport and would check with us throughout the day to ensure things were in order.

We didn’t want to leave this beautiful spot but hopefully we will be back one day and will definitely stay at Filotera Villas. Oia was everything that we imagined and even more.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greatimes4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

This place is adream. Great views, location and hospitality. For those who don't know there's a small restaurant across the road (opposite bus stop) where we had the best on-budget meals. Stay in the pool and stare at the view becomes your sport here. This is amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellendale, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Our dream holiday we had booked a package holiday at another hotel & after one night we were desperate to find the dream accommodation & view we thought we had booked. How happy we're we to find Filotera Villas, who offered us a great last minute deal!
Filotera Villas was everything we had hoped for & more. A boutique family owned hotel with just 8 rooms. The views from our balcony & the pool were absolutely stunning and even though it was full occupancy we seemed to often have the pool to ourselves. It was a peaceful & relaxing atmosphere even though its in the center of Oia.
Our room was fabulous with a great little kitchenette area, very comfortable & well furnished bedroom (exceptionally good nights sleep) & a well equipped bathroom, even with a spa bath. Even though it was a traditional cave room it was still airy & light with the option of A/c. The room was exceptionally clean, with new bath & pool towels everyday. Little touches like slippers & candles were very nice.
A family run hotel & it showed in everyway. All staff were incredibly friendly & helpful, infact Adonis & Nikos (son & father) accommodating us after a disastrous start at another hotel certainly made our holiday.
My husband & I could not recommend this gorgeous boutique family hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Filotera Villas was the highlight of our 2 week Greece trip - truly an amazing hotel, with a view that we will never forget. Do not hesitate - book this hotel!!

The hotel is on a cliff overlooking the caldera - there is no better view in Santorini than right there in Oia overlooking the caldera. The location is perfect - right in the center of Oia, steps away from great restaurants, shops, and a short walk from the best sunset views.

The hotel is immaculately clean and very well very taken care of - the grounds and authentic cave rooms are beautiful. There is a small pool and a hot tub and plenty of loungers, all of which overlook what may be the most beautiful view in the world. If you choose to have breakfast on your private balcony, you will have a coffee/tea, juice, hardboiled eggs, bread, jams and butter and cake -- plenty of food to start the day.

Nikolas and his son, the owners of the hotel, were incredibly welcoming and kind, always greeting us by name with a big smile. They were some of the friendliest, best people we met during our entire trip. You can really tell that they care so much about their wonderful hotel and their guests. Nikolas' son checked us into the hotel when we arrived and as we were settling into our room (by settling I mean that we had not yet even entered our room because we stopped at our balcony to take in the breathtaking view - we could not get over how unreal it looked), Nikolas came over, greeted us by name, and welcomed us to his hotel. The hospitality continued throughout or entire stay.

THANK YOU NIKOLAS FOR A WONDERFUL STAY - WE HOPE TO RETURN SOON!

Room Tip: We stayed in a small cave house, Lino, and it was great for a couple (and somewhat cheaper than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyportnoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Filotera Villas, in Oia, are heaven on earth. The view on arrival will take your breath away, and breakfast on your private terrace every morning will make you never want to leave. The owner Nicholas, and his son, Adonis, are the perfect hosts. They could not be more friendly, caring, or helpful. Oia is the only area to stay on Santorini. Fira is loud, busy, and crowded. Imerovigli has almost no restaurants or shops, so you will have to travel daily. There is great shopping, and many fantastic restaurants in Oia just a short walk from your oasis. The pool is small but adequate, and don't expect much from the in wall blow dryer. This will be the vacation of your dreams if you want an authentic Santorini experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.2 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.4 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filotera Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filotera Suites

Property: Filotera Suites
Address: Main Road, Oia 84702, Greece (Formerly Filotera Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Oia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Filotera Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portray your Santorini holiday with exclusive experiences. Santorini... A half-moon shaped paradise with dove-white houses and superb suites, engulfed by the calm cobalt blue Aegean Sea and cherishing volcanic sandy beaches all around. A magical place on earth, an island that constitutes a top international destination seen in personal wish-lists of millions of people worldwide! You have made your dream come true and you are finally here! This small island certainly looks nothing like what you have left back home. You are not only mesmerized by the beauty of the 'black diamond' of the Aegean, but eager with enthusiasm to portray your holidays with exclusive experiences. Oia Luxury Suites are waiting for you! Brand new. Unbeatably luxurious. Memorable holidays in the Aegean archipelago. Relax and take a breath of fresh air. The landscapes will overwhelm you, the sunsets will enchant you, the history will fascinate you! You have made the perfect decision, having selected to stay at a beautiful boutique hotel in the atmospheric settlement of Oia in Santorini - the heavenly, brand new Filotera Suites, which is bound to offer you an incredible and memorable stay, thanks to its quality services and its perfect Oia private pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Filotera Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filotera Villas Hotel Oia
Filotera Suites Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing