We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, gorgeous property”
Review of Filotera Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Filotera Suites
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I can't say enough about this wonderful hotel. From the enthusiastic greeting by Nikolas and Adonis to the gorgeous views, our 6 night stay at Filotera Villas was an extraordinary experience. The property is meticulously attended to. Our room was clean, beautifully furnished, large, and comfortable, and had a kitchenette. The large bed was very comfortable with nice linens, good pillows, good lighting, and bedside tables.The bathroom was on the small side, but large enough. My only comment is that they will most likely have to remove the small shower/bathtub soon that is difficult to get in and out of, and replace it with a more accessible shower stall. That was a very very small drawback.The terrace was huge and furnished with table and comfortable chairs and looked over the caldera. The pool is lovely, sparkling clean, and there are very comfortable lounges with tables and umbrellas.The place is magical, and made more so by the friendly and kind Nikolas and son, Adonis. The room had a bottle of wine made by Nikolas, and a bowl of fruit, on arrival. Very peaceful and beautiful, and perfect for a "vacation" from your trip. We ended our month in Greece with a week in Oia, and never left the town. I wholeheartedly recommend Filotera Villas.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any bad rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonnagumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Filotera Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at Filotera Cave House Villas in Oia on Santorini.
This is an amazing place to stay, with the best views. It was easy to get to from the airport by taxi.
All of our cases were taken to our room. There was wine and fruit in our room.
The hotel was close to the Main Street ( pedestrian street ) not too many steps.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was beautiful looking out to the sea whilst swimming . Very quiet and peaceful .

Room Tip: All rooms looked good
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I was lucky enough to stay at Filotera in September 2013 with 3 girlfriends. WOW. Forget the fact that the view is out of this world and the property is so well located, the hospitality here is second to none. Niko, Maria, and their son Adonis treat you like you are part of their family - if only I really were and could live there with them full time! Niko especially always went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable, organising transport and activities for us all over the island, and giving us some great restaurant recommendations (side note - make sure you visit Santos Winery for a sunset wine tasting, followed by dinner at Metaxi Mas!) The cave rooms are so beautiful, and such a nice change from staying in a regular hotel room. It's almost impossible to believe that Filotera is as well priced as it is! I cannot recommend this place highly enough, and can only hope that I will have the opportunity to visit again soon. Ευχαριστώ (thank you) Niko!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Chloe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at Filotera Villas in May 2014 for two nights. We had requested an apartment cave house with a caldera view. Nikolas, the owner, honored our request and provided a great place to stay. We had requested a transfer from the airport to Oia and it was on time. Nikolas was waiting for us at the villa and made us feel welcomed. He was very gracious along with his family. It was a wonderful experience to see the caldera in the morning and walk around the city admiring the beauty of Santorini. Breakfast in the balcony was simple but filling and fruits and a bottle of local wine were provided too. Great place to stay and walk around as everything seems to be close. The perfect location as there is a bus stop right in front of the villa and some restaurants nearby. Please keep in mind that the ceiling in the cave can be kind of low in certain areas such as the kitchen for some tall people. Also, there was no shower head or curtains just a bathtub and a hand hose. However, this was no big deal for us. You just need to sit down and use the hand hose carefully. Overall, we were very satisfied with Filotera Villas and would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Domingo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We just spent 8 glorious nights at Filotera and can only rave about Nikolas, his son Adonis and daughter Mauguerite and the magical Filotera. This wonderful family welcomed us each day with joyous hugs and made us feel part of their family. They even mailed me back a dental appliance that I left in the room. They obviously take tremendous pride in Filotera since everything was perfectly cleaned each day. Filotera is located on the marble pedestrian walkway just before shops and restaurants. Thus it is quiet but just a few steps away from the activity. Our cave room was even more beautiful than the internet photos with a private balcony and all amenities. Breakfast served to you for 5 Euros each is a bargain. However, for variety, try some of the nearby cafes and pastry shops - or get some things from the nearby market to make your own. Adonis recommended Thalami and we loved it - great food for reasonable prices. Likewise turn down the street by the school for a wonderful new gyro place - only 2 Euros each. We used the buses rather than renting a car and were glad we did. There is typically gridlock getting in and out of Oia, many roads are hairpin turns and folks on scooters drive crazy with no helmets. We were glad for the peace of mind and body to ride around. The buses got us everywhere we wanted to go. Go to the website and use the interactive map to see what towns each bus stops at. By the way, out in the country you can stand on EITHER side of the road where there is a bus stop and you will get picked up. If you can stay longer like we did, you will have time to really experience the island. We hiked from Oia to Fira (not bad or too long) but no one could tell us where to pick up the trail and there are no maps. We ended up on the street till we reached Finikia's Place and found a path entrance. Also hiked up to Ancient Thera - a steep and bit taxing climb and then walked back to town (Kamari Beach) on the s curved road. Also take time to check out the charming villages of Megalochori and Messaria. Also booked a tour of Akrotiti and more through Pelican Travel - very well done and worthwhile! In our opinion, Oia is the only place to stay and Filotera will make your stay more magical than you could imagine!

Room Tip: If a traveler has mobility issues, check out what the tub/shower arrangement is in your cave house...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelebratingLifeNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Before our trip, I spent way too much time reviewing hotels in Oia. I wanted to stay in the best location...at the best price...with the best view…in the prettiest cave rooms…with the most helpful hotelier. Filotera Villas provided exactly that--and more. Location was exceptional. Tucked into the cliffs in the middle of the curving caldera rim, we were centrally situated for walking to every possible attraction. The stunning caldera view, in my opinion, beat the choice of a sunset view, while still allowing us to walk a very short distance to catch the fading rays. The price was not too much, not too little - just right. The cave room and views looked even better than the website photos (hard to believe, but it's true!). Rooms were totally quiet, great for sleeping. Yummy breakfast delivered to our balcony each morning made us feel like royalty from the minute we opened our eyes. And I wish we could adopt the family of the hotelier. They bent over backwards to make us feel at home, provide advice, even transportation. Filotera Villas thoroughly exceeded my high expectations!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizmcatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I just returned from a trip to Greece with 3 of my best girl friends. It was a bucket list trip that we had only dreamed about. We chose to fly into Athens and then went directly to Santorini! We chose Oia based on reviews from TA and also based on the fact that we were looking for rest and relaxation and not clubs and bars. We searched and searched and read review after review and finally settled on Filotera. We had high hopes and arrived with our fingers crossed that we would not be disappointed.

I can't even begin to describe our excitement and pure happiness as we walked into our villa! From the moment we arrived until the moment we left it was nothing but amazing. We spent 5 nights and loved every minute. I advised we might be staying too long but for us it was perfect. We spent two of those days soaking up the sun on the pool terrace over looking the caldera and basking in the beauty of Santorini. It is exactly as you see in the pictures and can be enjoyed without even stepping outside of Filotera.

We stayed in a 2 room villa (I think named Canava?). It was basic, clean and had everything we needed. The doors and windows opened to reveal blue water and a sunny day. We had a table and 4 chairs on our private balcony where we enjoyed our morning coffee and breakfast over looking the pool and caldera. It was perfect for the 4 of us. There was only 1 bathroom on our villa but it worked out fine. It had a bathtub with a seat to sit and "shower" as it was not a stand up shower. I am 5'10" and had no issues with it. The villa had lots of outlets for charging, nice size fridge,utensils, cups, dishes, towels for the pool, and a safe...The staff were available for anything we needed but honestly we were not a very high maintenance group so we didn't have any special request ect.

Just steps away from the villa was a bakery that had fresh chocolate croissants, breads, and bread sticks, Just down a few more feet was a grocery store that had everything you would need to make a delicious breakfast, lunch or cocktail. Close by is a delicious little crepe place too! I just couldn't say enough nice things about our experience.

Our timing was perfect (May 7-12) as Oia was not too crowded and the weather perfect! It did get chilly and windy at night so pack appropriately if going now...

We did rent a car for the day and drove around to other parts of Santorini, but I wished we had taken the quads instead. After our excursion we kept saying over and over how happy we were to have chosen Filotera and are convinced it is the best place in Oia for the price!

One thing to note is we could not see the actual sunset from our villa but just walked down past the grocery store off the main road for an amazing view - there is also a little place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine and dinner. It was much less crowded than walking down to the end of the the Oia walkway by the fort however that was also amazing as it set over the town.

They arranged a pick up from the ferry port for us upon arrival. We were picked up by a small bus./van and only paid 25 Euro between the 4 of us and our many bags. The driver was there and easy to find which we really appreciated after a very long and sick ferry ride (my advice is to fly)...

Sorry my review went kinda long and is scattered, but I wanted to share our great experience! Thanks Nikolas and family!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allisonmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.0 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
3.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.4 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#11 of 56 in Oia
669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filotera Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filotera Suites

Address: Main Road, Oia 847 02, Greece (Formerly Filotera Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £270 - £1,011 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Filotera Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portray your Santorini holiday with exclusive experiences. Santorini... A half-moon shaped paradise with dove-white houses and superb suites, engulfed by the calm cobalt blue Aegean Sea and cherishing volcanic sandy beaches all around. A magical place on earth, an island that constitutes a top international destination seen in personal wish-lists of millions of people worldwide! You have made your dream come true and you are finally here! This small island certainly looks nothing like what you have left back home. You are not only mesmerized by the beauty of the 'black diamond' of the Aegean, but eager with enthusiasm to portray your holidays with exclusive experiences. Oia Luxury Suites are waiting for you! Brand new. Unbeatably luxurious. Memorable holidays in the Aegean archipelago. Relax and take a breath of fresh air. The landscapes will overwhelm you, the sunsets will enchant you, the history will fascinate you! You have made the perfect decision, having selected to stay at a beautiful boutique hotel in the atmospheric settlement of Oia in Santorini - the heavenly, brand new Filotera Suites, which is bound to offer you an incredible and memorable stay, thanks to its quality services and its perfect Oia private pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Filotera Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filotera Villas Hotel Oia
Filotera Suites Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing