We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!!”
Review of Filotera Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Filotera Suites
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Fantastic Hotel on a Great Island.
I will definitely come back again!
Really relaxing and romantic stay. Extremely clean rooms and breath taking views.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzz1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2010

I am writing this review sitting on the balcony behind Niko's office... We checked out at 11:00am this morning, but had booked a late flight out of Santorini, wanting to maximize our last day here. Niko, consistent with his outstanding hospitality all week allowed us to store our bags at his office and let us hang out by the pool all day - savoring every last drop of the Santorini sun before we reluctantly head to the airport.

I was a little concerned upon arrival at the airport as the taxi driver that was to meet us - arranged by Niko - was no where to be found. After waiting about 10 minutes I called Niko and he assured me the taxi driver would be there... sure enough, about the time I hung up the phone, the driver appeared. No doubt hung up in traffic through Fira. About 30 minutes later, we were greeted by Niko and checked in. We were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary, and Niko presented us with a bottle of wine made from his family's grapes and when we arrived in our room (Afoura), there was a bottle of white sparkling wine for us as well!

Afoura is a traditional cave house, a deep room with a kitchenette and sitting room at the front end and the bedroom area at the back. Off to the left immediately upon entering is the bathroom. This was a large sized room for the two of us, but completely comfortable. There was a faint smell when we first moved into the room... I think maybe from the room having been closed up prior to our arrival. This smell quickly went away upon opening the windows.

The bathroom - carved into the wall of the caldera, just as the room, is not small, but has a low ceiling, The 'shower' is a large jacuzzi tub with an handheld shower attachment. There's a place to park your bottom on the side of the tub closest to the wall (kind of in the corner) and it's a perfectly serviceable shower. I mention this not to disuade you from booking, but just so you know what to expect.

The pool is perfect, just large enough for the number of guests, although only a few manage to get hot at the same time and get in to cool off. There are plenty of chairs and lounges and umbrellas.

It's a family affair here at Filotera. Niko and his family take a lot of pride in managing their property. We found it clean and everything was in working order.

The location is very good. It's got roughly the same view as the much more expensive Katikies (tho we did look longingly at Katikies and their pool side service - food and drinks - then remembered the price delta and looked at Niko's wonderful property and were once again happy)! It's near the end of the Oia pedestrian sidewalk, and at first I feared 'too far outside main Oia'. I couldn't have been more wrong. We avoided the 'crush of humanity that decends on the point of Oia for sunset everynight, and were seconds walk of markets, tavernas and one of the best restaurants in town - Feredini.

Niko arranged breakfast on our patio every morning, and it was great. Breads, pastries, yogurt, fruit... all in varying combinations. Each morning was a surprise, but a pleasant one each morning.

I researched MANY places in Oia in this budget range, and I went to many of them to check out the options I had passed up. They were all similar, but I have to say that of the places I was considering, none of them, when viewed in person made me second guess my choice.

Location - outstanding
Hospitality - outstanding
Price - for Oia, it was a good value :)

Niko goes out of his way to recommend some activities and places to eat, but I found that the things I had researched and decided to do fit better with the expectations of our trip than what he had recommended... Not saying his recommendations would have been bad, but he points you to some of the more 'mass market' type activities, and we were purposely looking for smaller, more intimate (albeit slightly more expensive) experiences.

At the end of the day, in this budget range, I could not recommend someplace more!

Bravo to Niko and his family for making our 10 year wedding anniversary trip everything we hoped it would be!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wildcatpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed in the Afoura cave house for a week at the beginning of August 2010.
The view we woke up to every morning was just out of this world, it was just magical.
The Filotera villas are located in an ideal position and it was always so quiet and peaceful.
Swimming in the pool, lying at the edge overlooking the cliffs down to Armeni and the caldera was just paradise. It was so hot while we were there [35/36C] that we needed the pool or the jacuzzi to keep cool.
Nikolas and his wife Maria were just the perfect hosts - nothing was too much for them during our stay. The personal touch was what made our holiday!
Our cavehouse was spotlessly cleaned every day, towels were changed daily and sheets every other day.
There are plenty of restaurants in Oia varying in prices and many supermarkets around Filotera Villas where you can buy everything you need for your own self catering. Plus a bakery across the walkway!
It was busy in the evening when coaches of tourists arrived to see the sunset in Oia which was around 8.15pm in August. Most tourists gathered by the castle or by the Lioyerma Pool area which became extremely busy. It also tended to be busy during the day when cruise parties visited but we didn't venture out as it was too hot.
I would certainly visit again - both Oia and Filotera Villas are special places.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baileysmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We recently stayed in the Nixteri cave house in Filotera Villas and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The cave house was charming and the view just outside our door was nothing short of breathtaking. Nicos and his family were wonderful hosts and went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed. We can't say enough good things about this "paradise" and highly recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babsnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Friends recommended Filotera as an experience not to be forgotten. Oia, Santorini is beautiful and made even more charming by what Nikolas has to offer. As a couple we had a 'small cave' house which was just ideal. Quite the experience everyone raves about. Hard work to get to the beach below but the Taverna soothes the muscles and helps the breath. Shrimps were delicious.

See the island by quad bike. Really great value.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Cookster56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

I just joined Tripadvisor to let everyone know how much of a fabulous time I had in Oia, and at Filotera Villas.

Nikolas was friendly and always willing to help when needed. He makes Filotera Villas that much more special because of his fantastic attitude towards his guests.

We arrived very early (before reception opened) to Filotera but because I'd let Nikolas know in advance, he made sure there was someone there to show us to our rooms.
We stayed in a traditional cave house with 2 bedrooms (called Canava) and this would have been plenty of room for 4 people (although only 2 of us were staying). The view from the room and our terrace was like a postcard. And the little kitchenette was perfect to cook our own breakfasts.

I agree that having a shower was a bit difficult as it was only a hand held shower head. The bathroom tended to get very wet as a result! But this was cleaned (and dried!) every day so didn't pose too much of an issue.

The pool and sun deck were lovely and had an amazing view over the caldera. What a way to relax!

As for location, Oia is not a large town so the fact that it is only about a 5 minute walk from the main part of town is not an issue. It was actually a blessing as I can imagine it would get noisy in the middle of town during the peak tourist months. There are plenty of mini markets nearby to stock up on food and wine as well as bakeries. A great tip if you don't want to spend too much on eating out all the time.
(Having said that the food at the restaurants we went to was delicious!).

So if you're looking for a memorable, yet chilled and relaxing way to see Santorini, I would definitely choose Filotera Villas. You won't forget the experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieLondon362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Filotera played a big part in making our honeymoon so wonderful. We stayed the first week of September and we were blown away by the tranquil views from our room , the gracious and warm hospitality and an excellent location in Oia. The owner Nikolas made us feel so welcome and we loved coming back to Filotera after a day of exploring Santorini. He gave us restaurant and trip recommendations, set up a car rental and even treated us with his homemade wine! Since there are only a few rooms at Filotera, there were many times we were able to have the whole pool/sun deck area all to ourselves-- amazing! Of course, im not sure this applicable in July or early August, but it was a real bonus for us. Compared to prices of other hotels in Oia with a pool, this is a really great value. Thank you filotera!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.2 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alta Mare by Andronis
0.4 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#10 of 58 in Oia
681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filotera Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filotera Suites

Address: Main Road, Oia 84702, Greece (Formerly Filotera Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £215 - £806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Filotera Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portray your Santorini holiday with exclusive experiences. Santorini... A half-moon shaped paradise with dove-white houses and superb suites, engulfed by the calm cobalt blue Aegean Sea and cherishing volcanic sandy beaches all around. A magical place on earth, an island that constitutes a top international destination seen in personal wish-lists of millions of people worldwide! You have made your dream come true and you are finally here! This small island certainly looks nothing like what you have left back home. You are not only mesmerized by the beauty of the 'black diamond' of the Aegean, but eager with enthusiasm to portray your holidays with exclusive experiences. Oia Luxury Suites are waiting for you! Brand new. Unbeatably luxurious. Memorable holidays in the Aegean archipelago. Relax and take a breath of fresh air. The landscapes will overwhelm you, the sunsets will enchant you, the history will fascinate you! You have made the perfect decision, having selected to stay at a beautiful boutique hotel in the atmospheric settlement of Oia in Santorini - the heavenly, brand new Filotera Suites, which is bound to offer you an incredible and memorable stay, thanks to its quality services and its perfect Oia private pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Filotera Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filotera Villas Hotel Oia
Filotera Suites Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing