We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel- clean, good price, great owners.”
Review of Ecoxenia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ecoxenia
Ranked #35 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel- clean, good price, great owners.”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Christopher was very helpful. He made it easy for us to understand the island and had a lot of answers to all our questions! We thought for the price it was a terrific find.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ck8480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    25
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
75
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My favorite times in Santorini were the ones away from the crowd, taking in the gorgeous natural surroundings. Ecoxenia was perfect for my friend and I, who were treated exceptionally well. The room was gorgeous, overlooking the sea. The grounds were lovingly cared for, with a jacuzzi, hammocks, and gardens. But it was our host, Christopher, who treated us more as old friends than travelers, and because of that, we had a trip we'll never forget. Our dinner at the vineyard was the highlight of my entire vacation, and one of the best meals of my life (because of the great company and fresh, local food and wine).

Ecoxenia has more character and beauty than a boring resort and provides a way more authentic experience in Santorini. We were expecting to feel like tourists, but Christopher made us feel like guests.

Thank you so much, I'm recommending you to everyone I know!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I took my first trip to Greece in July 2013, and it was a great experience. Our room was very comfortable and homey. There is a grocery store close by to get things for breakfast and snacks. We got to enjoy the view from our own balcony. Christopher was a great host. He is very friendly and helpful. He took great care helping us plan tours, rent a car, and getting my lost luggage (Thira airport doesn't have customs, so be sure to pick up your luggage and recheck it if you fly through Athens!) We had nothing planned and he helped us figure it all out. I would definitely recommend Ecoxenia and Christopher!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Aberdeen, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This hotel exceeded expectations. It came recommended from a friend, and we couldn't have been happier. It is a little out of the hustle and bustle of oia town, but the walk up to the village immerses you in the real community of the island, and is a pleasant 25 minute stroll. The view from the balcony was enough to keep us there to watch the sun go down on both of our nights stay, and we found the facilities more than sufficient to cook up a couple of tasty meals from local produce. Christopher was a wonderful host, providing us with an invaluable insight into the best that the island had to offer, from food to activities, and helping to organize them all. Can't recommend highly enough!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, and the view was incredible. The ground floor had direct access to the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Christopher is a great host and sits down to explain everything about the island before your exploring begins! He also organised quads for us and did our laundry but turned everything pink. The hotel is pretty far away from any action such as the pubs and restaurants of fira and the beautiful beaches of Kamari and Perissa! It is located about 20 minutes from Oia where there are some nice restaurants. The worst part of the stay was the bed in our room. It was like a bunk bed with a ladder up to it, was not romantic at all trying to climb into bed and crawl out to get down!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our stay at Ecoxenia was perfect. The apartment style room had a kitchenette, two beds, breakfast nook, patio - with bistro set and lounge chairs. Everything was very clean and readily available. Christopher was the most gracious host. He showed us all the points of interest on a map and wrote down everything we would need to know for us. He helped with every request we had! The grounds are very well maintained and they soon will have an outdoor bar on-site to go along with the outdoor seating/lounging areas and hot tub. I would recommend Exocenia to anyone wanting to stay in Oia, Santorini. I couldn't have enjoyed my time there more!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top two floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercedes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

When I chose to go visit Oia I expected accommodation to be expensive.... And it was at the touristy town hotels. Here's the surprise - Ecoxenia is not located in the town. It's a 3 minute drive away (15 minute walk) but offers a much better view of the famed Santorini sunset than those other pricey options overlooking the caldera.With all the amenities of a service apartment, its more private, quiet and exclusively intimate at a fraction of the cost. In fact I proposed to my girl on the balcony of our apartment amidst the gorgeous sunset. New visitors to the island will also appreciate the hospitality of owner Christopher who greets you with a drink of your choice before patiently running though all the things to do in Santorini and booking whatever you need, from car rentals to boat tours. His recommendations for food were spot on and we didn't have a single meal we didn't like! Three thumbs up

Room Tip: When it comes to a good views, the higher the floor the better. We had a perfectly good view from wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
1.0 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
0.9 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
1.0 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#43 of 56 in Oia
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Finikia Memories
Finikia Memories
#37 of 56 in Oia
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#34 of 56 in Oia
27 reviews
1.0 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#46 of 56 in Oia
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecoxenia

Property: Ecoxenia
Address: Main street Oia - Baxedes, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#18 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecoxenia 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The settlement: 8 traditional island dewellings that can accommodate 1-4 persons, built in a 2.000 m2 garden in tranquil natural surroundings with care for special quests who love nature, sea, privacy, tranquillity and romantic view for honey-mooners. View: From your private balcony you can enjoy the ocean view, Oia's famous sunset and the beauty of Ios, Sikinos and Folegardros islands in its fading line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ecoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecoxenia Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing