We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than a hotel and a GREAT value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“More than a hotel and a GREAT value”
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed at Anemomilos as part of our Volcano Discovery Santorini tour, (http://www.volcanodiscovery.com/volcano-tours/travel/santorini.html) and ended up extending our stay there ...

The hotel and it's attached restaurant are family run. We got to know Spyros, the owner/manager, and his mother, Merusa (who served breakfast each morning) and began to feel like friends as much as guests.

The pool is large and clean. The rooms are airy and quaintly charming. It's the kind of place where the ocean breeze blows through gently and ruffles the curtains while you lay on the bed and relax after a long day of walking / shopping or otherwise "touring".

The food in the restaurant is fantastic. Greek yogurt for breakfast each morning, so thick it's almost a cream. Eggs fresh from Merusa's chickens. Tomatoes from her garden. And Spyros' baklava is to die for.

You can watch the famous Santorini sunset from restaurant patio.

And after the meal, take a very short walk to the marble strip with the shops in Oia. Or hop across the street to the bus stop to head for Fira, Akrotiri, etc.

After our tour ended, we had 2 nights in Santorini on our own. For one we had a night booked at a cave hotel, and were particularly disappointed after spending the first part of the trip at Anemomilos. The cave was a true cave (no windows except for the one in the door), with an awkwardly tiny bathroom; the pool was tiny and cloudy, and the staff, though nice, was much more perfunctory. We had an option to stay a second night there, but couldn't get back to Anemomilos fast enough!:)

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Althera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    114
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
44
181
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed at Anemomilos as part of our Volcano Discovery Santorini tour, (http://www.volcanodiscovery.com/volcano-tours/travel/santorini.html) and ended up extending our stay there ...

The hotel and it's attached restaurant are family run. We got to know Spiro, the owner/manager and his mother, Merusa (who served breakfast each morning) and began to feel like friends as much as guests.

The pool is large and clean. The rooms are airy and quaintly charming. It's the kind of place where the ocean breeze blows through gently and ruffles the curtains while you lay on the bed and relax after a long day of waling / shopping or otherwise "touring".

The food in the restaurant is fantastic. Greek yogurt for breakfast each morning, so thick it's almost a cream. Eggs fresh from Merusa's chickens. Tomatoes from her garden. And Spiro's baclava is to die for.

You can watch the famous Santorini sunset from restaurant patio.

And after the meal, take a very short walk to the marble strip with the shops in Oia. Or hop across the street to the bus stop to head for Fira, Akrotiri, etc.

After our tour ended, we had 2 nights in Santorini on our own. For one we had a night booked at a cave hotel, and were particularly disappointed after spending the first part of the trip at Anemomilos. The cave was a true cave (no windows except for the one in the door), with an awkwardly tiny bathroom; the pool was tiny and cloudy, and the staff, though nice, was much more perfunctory. We had an option to stay a second night there, but couldn't get back to Anemomilos fast enough!:)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Althera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

I just returned today from an 8-day stay at Hotel Anemomilos in Ia, Santorini. The hotel is located just accross the street from similarly equipped hotels that offer a direct view of the Caldera. These places often cost 200 - 300 Euros and more per nicht. At Hotel Anemomoilos, I paid an extremely reasonable rate of aroung 65 Euros per night.

Both the Caldera and the volcano can be seen from basically anywhere in Ia, so why should anyone be interested in buying the same view they enjoy all day for free? The rooms at Hotel Anemomilos were just fine and the food that the Kokkalis family serves at the taverna restaurant next to the hotel was absolutely fabulous! If you are planning to go to Santorini, do your self a big favor and stay in Ia. If you are interested in staying at an inexpensive hotel at a great location, my tip is Hotel Anemomilos.

Rick Lane

  • Liked — Cost-performance ratio
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PorscheMainz_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

We stayed in this hotel towards the end of Sept for 3 nights. We arrived after a terrible boat journey from Naxos, tired and weary, it was dark and the weather very windy but the owner came straight out to greet us at 3am showed us to our room and it was lovely!!! We had a traditional villa with mezzanine floor, kitchen, two double beds and bathroom with views to the rear of the sea and Ios and the front had views of the caldera. I loved how greek, simple but lovely this room was. The pool was very quiet but a lovely place to chill out and relax. The town was a five minute walk with wonderful views of the caldera and volcano so its not an unpleasant walk to endure. The only thing were werent impressed with was the breakfast we had at the hotel so we bought our own supplies and cooked in our room. Overall a lovely hotel for the money, a bargain compared to other hotels in Oia.

  • Liked — The views and traditional style
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mango1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2007

For the same price you can stay closer to the port. The shower head wasnt installed properly and the pressure was weak. It's one heck of a walk to everything and if you dont die from the walk, you will from all the crazy drivers.

the couple was very nice, but honestly, would not recommend this place.

  • Liked — The price was ok
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.5 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
1.0 mi away
Ecoxenia
Ecoxenia
#32 of 54 in Oia
135 reviews
3.9 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Costa Marina Villas
Costa Marina Villas
#5 of 82 in Fira
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Finikia Memories
Finikia Memories
#36 of 54 in Oia
338 reviews
4.1 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anemomilos Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anemomilos Hotel Apartments

Property: Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
Address: ON the Main street of Oia village, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#19 Family Hotel in Oia
#24 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Anemomilos Hotel Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anemomilos hotel welcomes you to its hospitable premises in Oia on the island of Santorini. Οne of the most popular holiday destinations, due to its spectacular view of the volcano and the Aegean Sea.Comfortable and attractive premises, modern amenities and services, warm family environment, authentic Greek cuisine, friendly service and unrivaled prices await you for the most idyllic holidays, on the most beautiful Greek island, to a breathtaking view of the Aegean blue.Enjoy absolute leisure in a wonderful relaxed ambiance, in one of the 20 rooms, apartments, studios and private villas of the hotel ANEMOMILOS, all decorated in stylish island style, the colors of the Cyclades and equipped with many modern amenities. Select your fitting accommodation by the number of family members or friends, the ages, your tastes and needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anemomilos Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anemomilos Hotel Oia
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing