We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anemomilos...We want to go back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We stayed at Anemomilos Apartment # 2 from 28 Sept-4 Oct 2010 and would definitely recommend it. To stay only a few minutes walk outside of Oia but for such a reasonable price was brilliant. The Caldera is obviously beautiful but you see it every day as you are walking around so not having a direct view from our room really didnt bother us. Room 2 looked over the pool and a panoramic view to the sea on the non-caldera side, which was fab. Just a note but lots of hotels on the Caldera side (where space is at a premium) have small pools with only space for a few sunbeds so the large pool and plenty of space around/sunbeds at Anemomilos is a real bonus.

The rooms are fairly small but adequate & clean and we werent disappointed at all, the air-con worked well too. The beds and pillows are pretty hard for my taste but we still slept well. The staff at Anemomilos are helpful and friendly. Spiros the owner kindly let us stay in our room as long as we needed on the day of departure without charging us as our flight wasnt until 11pm.

If you are on a budget as we were then you need to be a bit clever in Oia as things are EXPENSIVE, there are plenty of restaurants to choose from but overall we were not that impressed with most of the restaurants we ate at, or the quality of food. We generally chose the mid-range restaurants where main courses were approx. 10 Euros. The portions are small. I think perhaps we were unlucky, but the restaurants we ate at on the Caldera side with a fantastic view did help make up for the mediocre food served.

The best & most reasonably priced food food we had was actually at Anemomilos' own restaurant, well worth a visit. The baked feta and tomato starter is delicious! portions are definitely more generous than a lot of places, and a carafe of (nice) red wine was only 9 Euros whereas some places in Oia 6 Euros a glass! Eat there early in your stay and you will end up going back again and again!

FYI - Avoid the sunset bar at the top near the old fort, we ordered a sharing meze platter for 30 Euros expecting it to be spectacular and lots of food, but it was one small dinner plate of meze between us, quite nice but for 30 Euros?? What planet are they on? Sunset view=free license to charge whatever they like.

To keep within our budget we bought bread from one of the bakeries in Oia and supplies from the shop across the road from Anemomilos to make sandwiches for lunch, this worked out really well and the fridge in our room meant we could keep cheese etc. Also, dont miss the amazing cake shop in Oia (on the main walkway) it is perfect for a great value pudding, they do take away so you can find a nice caldera side spot to perch on & enjoy.. yum yum,

We absolutely loved Oia, a really breathtakingly beautiful place, you cant help but be blown away every morning seeing that view! The sunsets were awesome, we went down to see it every day, well worth it - avoid the overpriced bars and get a beer from the shop for 1.3 Euros vs. 6 + in the bars.

Although it was an expensive place to stay Oia is definitely the best resort on the island, i wouldnt want to stay anywhere else - Fira was nowhere near as nice as Oia - much bigger and more commercial.

Anemomilos was perfect for us: friendly staff, great location, gorgeous food, lovely pool, fab weather, aaahhh can we go back please?? :-)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cubagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

My friends and I stayed in an apartment recommended by Spiros since we there was no avaialable room that could fit the 5 of us in the main hotel. Turned out to be really nice and we had a terraza that had a great caldera view we enjoyed very much while drinking our coffee in the morning. Martha-Spiros mother- was very attentive and nice. We loved our dinners at their family restaurant with freshly prepared dishes. The bus stop was right in front of our apt if we wished to go to Fira and the main drag of Oia is just a walk away. There is a great walkway with shoppes and restaurants from our place to the main drag where you watch the amazing sunsets it is famous for. We will stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
Thank yadayoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We stayed in room 13!! twin with balcony & sea view. The overall initial impression was of an outdated, tired hotel and room. The bathroom door didn't close. The shower didn't work properly. There was dirt in the shower tray. One of the bathroom lights didn't work. The TV was almost on the ceiling so could only be viewed lying down. The plaster on the walls was very rough in places especially around light fittings. The floors made my feet dirty. The beds were hard and lumpy. After the first night my partner asked for a new pillow as his was congealed and lumpy. The lady gave us a dirty old stained pillow in replacement. We were horrified and asked for another one. The next was as bad as the first. After that we didn't want to sleep in the beds. I caught a glimpse of a mop head that they were using to clean floors. It was so dirty. It was hot when we were there and the sheets were not changed at all. You couldn't sit on the balcony and enjoy the views because when you sat down the concrete wall came to almost the top of your head. The breakfast was brought to our table, no choice, very dull. The saving grace was that the hair dryer worked and the swimming pool was nice, would have been nicer if they had cleaned the yellow stain from the tiles inside the water. The hotel was in a convenient location for sightseeing in Oia. I have travelled in Greece for many years and have lived there for 5 years but this was the only place I couldn't wait to check out of.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

This place undersells itself. From memory their website does not sell the view much as it is on the wrong side of the road for high price 'caldera views' but from our balcony / roof garden (we had an apartment) we had a stunning view of the caldera.

There are no high buildings opposte (although that may be different from the rooms rather than apartments?) so the view is uninterrupted.

We ALSO had, from the same point, a view of the other coast of the island. Something that people would pay for on other islands, but just because it is not 'caldera' on Santorini it is undervalued. Being exposed to both coasts we had a wonderful breeze on the terrace too.

Our children (5 and 7) could cope with the very steep stairs to their mezzanine bedroom, and the dangerous road outside (not hugely busy, but narrow and with typical scooter riders etc). I would not recommend it to others with younger or more accident prone kids though!

The pool was good, although it would benefit from some more sunbeds.

The restaurant was good too, and we wish we had had an evening meal here after we had a lovely light lunch on our last day.

The room had loads of towels and was clean. The only other whinge being tiny kitchenette - depends how much you intend using it - may not be a problem, and poorly stocked with utensils.

Would return here if we were to plan a return to beautiful Oia.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldreamjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We absolutely loved our stay at Anemomilos. In addition to the hotel/restaurant (not on the caldera side) the family owns two cave houses (on the caldera side). We stayed in Villa #1 and thought it was an incredible bargin. The villa had a living room, small kitchen, bathroom, and two bed rooms. The best part was the large patio with a perfect view of the water and the white cave house-covered cliffs. We enjoyed several picnics out there.

The only negative I can think of was that the mattress was very hard (that may be a positive for some).

The location is about a 5-10 minute walk from downtown Oia, on a picturesque stretch of the caldera. I acutally preferred being just out of town, because Oia gets extremely crowded on summer nights. We loved walking through Oia, shopping and enjoying dinner, but then heading back to our quieter cave house at night. The mornings on the private balcony were incredibly peaceful and still.

We enjoyed several meals in the restaurant at Anemomilos and enjoyed all them. Spiros was very friendly and helpful.

We would not hesitate to stay at Anemomilos again. The price for a private villa on the caldera was unbeatable and it was the perfect location for us.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Me and my wife stayed at Anemomilos hotel one week at the end of July. We stayed in the hotel rooms. I cannot describe how amazing it was.
The rooms are very good, the swimming pool is great.
It doesn't have a Caldera view but it is not necessary. You just have to cross the street. The hotel also has free parking if you want to rent a car.
We had lunch outside the hotel and one time also dinner. None of these other restaurants even came close regarding the food. What an amazing food, one of the best I ever tried, and the prices are not expensive.
The staff is great. We had a problem and they immediately solved it.
If I go back to Santorini this is the hotel I would pick again.

Liked:
Food, location, staff, swimming pool

Disliked:
Nothing at all

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PFB_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

A very beautiful location in a wonderful place like Oia. Our aparment was very clean and complete, with a beautiful sea view from the terrace. The owner Spiros was very friendly and very helpful for everything. There was a great swimming pool with solarium. We also tried the restaurant of the hotel for dinner and we were very pleased. In conclusion I highly recommend this hotel to everyone who want to spend his holiday in Oia, which is the most characteristic town of the island.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adonaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.5 mi away
Finikia Memories
Finikia Memories
#37 of 56 in Oia
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 56 in Oia
361 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
0.8 mi away
Golden Sunset Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anemomilos Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anemomilos Hotel Apartments

Address: ON the Main street of Oia village, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#19 Family Hotel in Oia
#24 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £42 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Anemomilos Hotel Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anemomilos hotel welcomes you to its hospitable premises in Oia on the island of Santorini. Οne of the most popular holiday destinations, due to its spectacular view of the volcano and the Aegean Sea.Comfortable and attractive premises, modern amenities and services, warm family environment, authentic Greek cuisine, friendly service and unrivaled prices await you for the most idyllic holidays, on the most beautiful Greek island, to a breathtaking view of the Aegean blue.Enjoy absolute leisure in a wonderful relaxed ambiance, in one of the 20 rooms, apartments, studios and private villas of the hotel ANEMOMILOS, all decorated in stylish island style, the colors of the Cyclades and equipped with many modern amenities. Select your fitting accommodation by the number of family members or friends, the ages, your tastes and needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anemomilos Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anemomilos Hotel Oia
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing