We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUCH a DELIGHT!!!”
Review of Lauda Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lauda Hotel
Ranked #62 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Oia
Reviewed 2 February 2012

lauda is BY FAR the best & my favourite place that i have ever stayed anywhere!!!

(this review is looong overdue but SO called for!)

i visited santorini twice during the spring of 2010 (while studying on a neighbouring island) and staying at lauda, which I did twice, was literally one of the highlights of my time in greece.

on my first visit i was with three friends and while we wanted to get away to santorini for the weekend (we particularly wanted to see oia) we were a little intimidated by the first-glance prices. i found lauda while browsing online and it was love at first sight!!!
when i called to inquire nektaria was incredibly sweet & so accomodating
we arrived in oia & set out to find lauda, we had the joy of a collective gasp of glee & disbelief from all 4 of us when we stumbled upon the entrance! :)
we were only able to stay for one night (we spent the first night in fira) but i am SO GLAD we went out of our way to make it happen!
the amenities are super basic (which we loooooved)
++ the rooms have wonderful little kitchens + there is a great little grocery store next door so it's perfect to pick up goodies for breakfast!
++ comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, airy rooms & lauda is close to e v e r y w h e r e you could want to be
++ the pool is simple & lovely
++ nektaria (& her precious family!) is SO sweet & so kind, so helpful, SO accomodating, so wonderful!!!
we were there in early april & it was warm during the day (we were able to lay out at the pool & tan but there were some light showers our first night) but we went back a month later it was VERY warm.

& i just love this place so much i wish i could visit all the time!!!

the second time i visited i was with two friends and it was just as pleasant as the first time :)

i would MOST highly recommend this place for EVERYONE & people looking for a true cycladic island experience (cliff dwellings are a staple in santorini)... the only people i would NOT recommend this hotel to are people looking for top-natch amenities & pampering :) although i was not able to visit, the armeni villas (right next to lauda) looked perfect for those looking for something a little more luxurious! :)

... the bottom line is, if you are looking for the MOST incredible & affordable place on santorini, LAUDA is it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amywantsadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2011

This place is amazing and such good value! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicken_features
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

What you need to know up front: You have to call to make a reservation and Nectarina doesn't even need a credit card to hold your room:) Just call again a week ahead to confirm. And, you must pay cash upon leaving.

Why it's worth it: The view is second to none, you are in the middle of all of the little shops and restaurants, and you know it's a good sign when everyone stops at your hotel to take pictures of the caldera! The pool area is inviting, the water refreshing. There's a fridge and small cooktop in each room. Nectarina, the woman who keeps the place, has the most infectious laugh! She's a doll.

There's also a yummy little restaurant with delicious breakfast right next door since breakfast is not provided by the hotel. You're very much "on your own" here, so if you require a wait staff 24/7 or sheet and towel change every day, this isn't the place for you. But, if you're on a budget and want a clean, simple room with a view second to none, I'd recommend it!

Drawbacks: You pay for what you get. The bed is rock hard (although your room window looks straight into the cladera!), the towels are so scratchy you better hope you don't have to use one while sunburned(!), and the bathroom is super tiny and the itty-bitty shower makes it hard to contain the water, meaning much of the bathroom gets wet. However, that's not uncommon for much of Europe.

Room Tip: We loved our room under the reception. It's at the top of the small complex and enjoys the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newsformaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I was quite overwhelmed searching for the right hotel in Oia. I had put Lauda towards the bottom of our list because you had to call to make reservations versus booking online with a confirmation number. After lots of research for the bargain gem in the perfect location, I decided it seemed worth it to call this hotel. I am so glad I did! Lauda is in the absolute perfect location in the middle of the caldera and next to all the shops and restaurants. You will definitely not beat the price for the location. Also, not alot of the "bargain" hotels had a pool, but Lauda's was great. It was the perfect temperature, clean, and relaxing. Nectarina in reception was absolutely great, making sure we were taken care of the whole time. The original room we had booked ended up being occupied last minute so she upgraded us to another room for the same price! Our traditional cave room/apt had a small bathroom, bedroom area and a small kitchenette...it was perfect. We also ended up adding another day onto our stay and cancelling our other hotel because we loved the location and cave room. On our last day, we checked out around 11 am and our flight didnt take off until 11 pm later that night...so Nectarina let us keep our luggage in the reception area while we spent our last day exploring the town...we were very grateful! I would highly recommend Lauda to anyone traveling to Oia who wants a bargain in the hot spot, great views, a great host, and a pool!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

My husband and i stayed 3 nights at the Lauda hotel and we loved it! It was a very relaxing hidden gem located in one of Oia's best spot. The pool area was very spacious and very clean as well as the room we stayed in. We chose one of their "cave" room and really liked it, we had our own terrace with transat chairs and a table to have breakfast in the morning sun. The only thing that was a bit disturbing was the toilet pipes running under the floor in the bathroom which provided quite an unpleasant smell...other than that it was nearly perfect...We thought it was overall a great find.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lomo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Please check the alotted room before you check into Lauda.The room that we were given (for 100 euros) was afar cry from the one that my daughter had booked nearly 3 months in advance after seeing the pics.The very tiny room that we were given just had space enough for 2beds,2 chairs & a tiny table-with hardly any space to keep my hubby"s & my medium size suitcase.We were ready to pay more & asked for a better room but the owner told us that all the other rooms were the same more or less and that they were all occupied (which was utter lie as we could see people checking in much after us throughout the day and night-and to much better rooms)!The only thing that the owner complied to was to give us an electric kettle which we had to keep on top of our suitcase which in turn had to be kept on top of the tiny table as the cord of the kettle was so short that it wouldn't reach the plug point( as they had no provision for any kettle).The next day we paid a little extra (140 euros)& checked into a better hotel with the same view & on the same side of the coastline(hotel Villa Filotera).Here the cave rooms were just "WOW'.The furnishing was classy-the bed room & the bathroom were done up with a lot of taste & ideas-unlike the outhouse like room that was given to us in Lauda!Each room had its own private balcony area with a table & 2 lounging chairs & a clothes dryer.This place made me feel that my holidays had really begun though I felt a little sad that I had lost out on a day of my hard earned holidays.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
5  Thank Madhu c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Oia is the most beautiful place to stay in Santorini. Lauda Hotel has the best location (just in the middle of main street and very close where buses stop) with probably the best view of the caldera. Also, you don´t have to forget that this is a traditional hotel and apartment so don´t expect the luxuries of a five stars hotel because the concept is different but it is a wonderful experience. The swimming pool is great. If you compare the reasonable money you pay here with the price of other surrounding hotels the decision is absolutely clear. It is the best choice. Also, we had a problem with a forgotten bag in a bus and after reporting to the police, Nectarina (the lady in charge of the reception) helped us all the time and she solved the problem and sent it to me to our next hotel in Mykonos. Best service is impossible. You feel like at home. We travelled with a 18 months baby and she was very considered giving us a room on the very top in order to avoid many stairs (of course with a baby cot with no extra charge).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank nacho280472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.0 mi away
Almyra Studios
Almyra Studios
#44 of 56 in Oia
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amoudi Villas
Amoudi Villas
#48 of 56 in Oia
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nikos Villas
Nikos Villas
#45 of 56 in Oia
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Leta
Hotel Leta
#50 of 80 in Fira
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauda Hotel

Address: Oia, Greece (Formerly Lauda Traditional Rooms and Apartment)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Oia
Price Range: £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Lauda Hotel Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing