We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to be on Santorini”
Review of Aethrio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aethrio Hotel
Ranked #5 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place to be on Santorini”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Absolutely amazing hotel, very beautiful, romantic and a quiet oasis. Very friendly staff, tasty breakfast, great pool and sunset terrace. Oia is by far the best place to be on Santorini. And Aethrio is right in the middle of it. We felt very fortunate to stay here. Countless restaurants, cafe's and shops in the area. Also the main bus station is just down the hill were most of the tours leave from.

Room Tip: Room number 12 is amazing with two balconies facing the pool and has wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jeroenmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    96
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
97
151
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I would go back to Aethrio Hotel in a heartbeat!!!!

Absolutely everything here was perfect - the friendly staff, the delicious buffet breakfast, the clean and comfortable apartment, (they surprised us with a free upgrade from a room to an apartment on arrival!!!!) and proximity to the most amazing site for watching the sunset in the whole of Santorini - literally people would come in bus-loads to watch the sun set!!!

We saw a bride and groom posing for their wedding photos up on the rooftop terrace - oh, how romantic!!!!!!

I wish I could go back tomorrow!!!

Room Tip: Higher apartments offer beautiful scenic views!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 545Disappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We had our own sunset view from the rooftop balcony here. The hotel is 2 minutes walk from bus stop for around Santorini buses and supermarkets/atm. We lost a mobile phone during our stay and staff helped us make calls at no expense to recover it. Would recommend for all families and couples too

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Neanie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Aethrio is located right in the centre of town and just a few minutes from the bus stop. So easy to get around. There is a beautiful rooftop terrace where we watched the sunset from. A nice break from the crowds at the typical sunset point.

The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. They helped us to arrange a volcano tour and transfers to and from the ferries. They had lots of great local information.

We booked a triple room and a double room and each were very generous in size. The pool area is beautiful and there is a good selection of drinks on the menu.

The breakfast each morning was good quality and the general atmosphere at Aethrio is so nice and relaxed.

I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Santorini!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucycj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Aethrio has all the charm you think of when traveling to Santorini. It was a wonderful way to end our Greek Isles cruise. Also much less busy than staying right in Fira. Georgia and the rest were so friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were great and location perfect. The rooms are quite spacious and very clean. If you want the sea view be ready to climb quite a few steps but the view is worth it!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra if you want the sea view! Nice patio balcony area to relax and enjoy a glass of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We arrived at this property with flagstone paths, dotted with geranium pots and white washed buildings and quickly fell in love with its charms. From the friendly staff (thank you, Georgia!) to the relaxing pool and terraces with breathtaking views of Oia, Hotel Aethrio a great spot. We had 2 nights in Oia, our family of 4 and stayed in a the spacious quad studio. Tall ceilings, clean rooms, with A/C and a nice breakfast included and bar service option too. The hotel location is great for exploring Oia, steps away from excellent restaurants, shops and the beautiful Oia vistas. If you are looking for a casual, charming, quiet escape this is it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is exceptionally quiet, very well located and has all the facilities you need. A lovely buffet breakfast with Greek yoghurt, fresh fruits, home made pastries and gorgeous bread sets you up for the day. The pool is warm and clean, with towels provided. The grounds are beautiful - pots of really well kept plants and cooling palms. There is a limited but adequate snack menu with Greek salad and toasted cheese sandwiches plus well priced drinks. Each room has a sitting area and there is free wifi by the pool and on the breakfast terrace. Charming staff. Very good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meltonwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.1 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#43 of 56 in Oia
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
1.0 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
0.6 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aethrio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aethrio Hotel

Property: Aethrio Hotel
Address: Hotel Aethrio, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aethrio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aethrio hotel, an exclusive hotel in the heart of Oia village, overlooking the sunset and situated at the main square of the village’s central church. Dedicated to guest’s pleasure and full satisfaction, our hotel is located in Santorini Island, in Oia and at the most central spot in the village. It is only few steps away from all restaurants, shops, caldera and main activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Aethrio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aethrio Hotel Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing