We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous!!”
Review of Aethrio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aethrio Hotel
Ranked #6 of 35 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous!!”
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Just back from 7 nights at Aethrio. This is the first time we have felt compelled to write a review, but this hotel is more than worth it. The staff looking after us could not be more helpful if they tried and yet completely unobtrusive. We love walking and with the advice from the staff we were able to discover parts of the island we would otherwise have not known about. Breakfast was lovely and our room was just beautiful with a lovely terrace to take in the sea view. Though not on the slopes of the Caldera it really made no difference especially as the sunset could be watched from the peace of their own sunset terrace. Its a little gem of a place!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyandAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    90
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
89
142
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
146 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The location of this hotel is perfect, room 4 is very spacious, cleanliness is doubtful in the kichinette and bathroom, value for money is very good.
The breakfast in minimal, the pool is nice, the view is breathtaking and it is perfect for the sunset view. Depending on who is behind the desk, the service is either great or miserably confusing.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosalindaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon in Oia. It was definitely a great value. We had a private rooftop to watch the sunset and a huge two story room. It was also in a great location with a nice pool.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegTollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

The staff were really friendly and helpful, a slight mix up with transportation charges was handled promptly. I arrived super early in the morning and was allowed to check in my room, which was so comfortable and charming. It was one of the rooms that stand alone - not in the main building - I loved it. The room was clean, the bathroom did smell a bit (as another review mentioned) but that's just the way it is - not spending that much time in there and the bedroom didn't smell at all. The location is perfect just outside the crowded tourist area, great sunset views from the roof.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishgirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Fantastic location. Great pool and terraces. Good service and nice clientele. Rooms were spacious and clean. Could use some more comfortable beds and sofas in suites but space and air conditioning was great. My daughter had a blast and the compound felt safe yet tranquil. Worth every euro. Try Kypritha restaurant near by, well worth the short walk!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esmeerory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Lousy breakfast with canned fruit, cold eggs, and stale pastries. Be prepared to hold your shower head as you shower, 3 fake flowers and paint chips falling off the walls. Our laundry was returned to us wet and folded - do not expect anything extra and do not plan on spending ANY time in the room. Maids are un friendly , however, the new renter from the owner of this property , Aliki is pleasent ; she is overwelmed and observedly quite frustrated with all the problems.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kuma75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Small, friendly, clean, gorgeous, in the middle of Oia, and with THE BEST uncrowded sunset view terrace! I was really impressed by the 3 star rating and price of this hotel...it was great! Good breakfast, great icecreams (only 1euro/scoop). Honest staff...Gael was so helpful and shared great restaurant recommendations. The pool is beautiful, everywhere you looked, there's beautiful churches, beautiful architecture. The kitchenette is nice, and towels were soft! (unlike other greek places). I'd even give it a higher star rating!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boxofgoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.6 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#37 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#7 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aethrio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aethrio Hotel

Property: Aethrio Hotel
Address: Hotel Aethrio, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aethrio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aethrio hotel, an exclusive hotel in the heart of Oia village, overlooking the sunset and situated at the main square of the village’s central church. Dedicated to guest’s pleasure and full satisfaction, our hotel is located in Santorini Island, in Oia and at the most central spot in the village. It is only few steps away from all restaurants, shops, caldera and main activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Aethrio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aethrio Hotel Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing