We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place for alternative visitors”
Review of Maria's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maria's Place
Ranked #3 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

For those who seek quiet, rest and comfortable vacation in Oia ..........Very friendly and hospital owners with genuine interest for their clients.... Clean rooms, comfortable beds, easy parking, lots of facilities..... Anna and Kostas are the best guide tours for the island!!!!! Thank you guys!!!!! We will be back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YiotaDimitro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Beautiful room with good furniture and nice view from window.The owner is very friendly and shows her hospitality.Kitchen staff was not efficient.If you do not cook nothing problem on it.
10 minutes to walk to a new supermarket with fresh food and bakery.
20-25 minutes to walk to viewpoint of sunset. I recommend to people.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noanoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

As we arrived at Maria's Place we were a bit unsure but as we walked down into the blossoming garden we were warmly welcomed by the lovely Ana. She immediately extended her hospitality and brought us to our humble abode. The rooms are quaint and provide all of the necessities for a fabulous time in Santorini. We can't even begin to describe how wonderful Ana is, her warm and loving personality shines through in the hotel. She was willing to help in any way possible.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breezy_240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The location is in a quiet street at walking distance from the village of Oia. The room is comfortable with a nice balcony. Administrator Anna talked about the best places in the city and gave us lots of helpful information. She makes the difference.

Room Tip: The rooms are excellent, very nice and clean bathroom. The views are not to the caldera but beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcelErick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

If you want to stay in Oia but can't afford the caldera side this is the perfect alternative. Anna was lovely and friendly and arranged for her husband to pick us up from Fira and take us back to the airport at the end of the week at no extra cost. I had asked for an upstairs room not realising they were family ones so we got a lovely room for four over two floors! The view from the room was amazing, you could watch the sunset from bed if you wanted. Small kitchen area with some cooking utensils and nice bathroom. Balcony felt a bit shared with the next apartment as there was nothing separating them and was actually a bit too windy to sit on often but we just had a couple of drinks by the pool before we went out instead. Nice pool area that was never too busy despite not having many sunbeds. It's a short walk from the start of the main strip in Oia and from all the beautiful shops and restaurants and is close to a little minimart and the bus stop. We also walked to Fira which was hot but beautiful (got the impression it would be a little easier in reverse). Anna was a great source of information and this is a great place to stay in Oia

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weri00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The main reason Maria's Place is exceptional in my opinion is Anna - she is the best!! She really cares about you and the time you are spending in Oia. We arrived late in the evening and to our dismay our luggage did not arrive. Anna was there waiting for us and took us immediately to report our lost luggage. She took my hand and squeezed it tight and told me not to worry. Anna made countless telephone calls for us trying to help us locate our lost bags. We stayed at Maria's Place for three nights and enjoyed our stay. She will give you tons of valuable information regarding the island, places to go, places to eat and things you shouldn't miss. The location is great, just a short walk to the Caldera and the hoards of people waiting for the sun to set. The bus stop is just across the street so it is very easy to get around using public transportation. If you did want to rent a car there is an agency less than a block away too.

Anna is a gem, I would go back just to see her! As a follow up our luggage didn't find us until the end of our trip when we were in Athens. It was a real pain not having our things but we made do and Anna made it bearable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a lovely hideaway about 5 minutes' walk from the caldera. It has it's own sea view and is so peaceful, without being isolated. There is a lovely pool though the water is very cold at this time of the year
Anna give wonderful advice and is so friendly and helpful. The wine shop is three minutes away and two supermarkets just a little further.
The room was spotless and had everything we needed for the odd occasion when we wanted to self cater, including a toasted sandwich machine! Breakfast is available at extra cost and there are many restaurants close by. There were no mosquitoes or insects , so the nights were ver comfortable. The. Units all have a balcony with a sea view.
This is a wonderful retreat away from the noise and crowds of the centre and at a really modest price. It was excellent value and we would heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: Some of the upper rooms have a mezzanine floor where there are two single beds, which would be ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.7 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.2 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
0.6 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.2 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#10 of 56 in Oia
681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laokasti Villas
Laokasti Villas
#31 of 56 in Oia
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's Place

Address: Oia Finikia Road, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Oia
Price Range: £67 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maria's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Maria's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria`s Place Hotel Oia
Maria's Place Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing