We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dining ”
Review of Petra Restaurant

Petra Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 99 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$283
Cuisines: Fusion
Description: At Petra Restaurant we invite you to indulge the magic of enchanting moments with breathtaking views and enjoy the Mediteraneean cuisine of high gastronomy. Our Chef showcases his ‘savoir-faire’ by impressing diners with its quality ingredients and dishes that focus on texture, flavor and excitement. The innovative dishes are designed to invoke all sorts of sensations for the finest palates. Don’t miss the inventive, delicious desserts! Set on the Caldera cliff rising above the Aegean Sea - a flautless scene to enjoy an exclusive epicurean experience in a romantic, candlelit ambience under the veil of stars. In addition to the panoramic views, we offer flavored luxury food inspired by Mediterranean cuisine with Greek influences. We invite you to experience in the simple pleasure of coming together to eat, drink and be with your favorite people. LOCATION: BY THE SWIMMING POOL SETTING: OUTDOOR CANDLE LIT TERRACE WITH IMPECCABLE CALDERA VIEWS ATTIRE: CASUAL CUISINE: GREEK - MEDITERRANEAN FEATURES: WHITE CAVE TABLE and PANORAMA BALCONY
Restaurant details
Description: At Petra Restaurant we invite you to indulge the magic of enchanting moments with breathtaking views and enjoy the Mediteraneean cuisine of high gastronomy. Our Chef showcases his ‘savoir-faire’ by impressing diners with its quality ingredients and dishes that focus on texture, flavor and excitement. The innovative dishes are designed to invoke all sorts of sensations for the finest palates. Don’t miss the inventive, delicious desserts! Set on the Caldera cliff rising above the Aegean Sea - a flautless scene to enjoy an exclusive epicurean experience in a romantic, candlelit ambience under the veil of stars. In addition to the panoramic views, we offer flavored luxury food inspired by Mediterranean cuisine with Greek influences. We invite you to experience in the simple pleasure of coming together to eat, drink and be with your favorite people. LOCATION: BY THE SWIMMING POOL SETTING: OUTDOOR CANDLE LIT TERRACE WITH IMPECCABLE CALDERA VIEWS ATTIRE: CASUAL CUISINE: GREEK - MEDITERRANEAN FEATURES: WHITE CAVE TABLE and PANORAMA BALCONY
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

During our stay at the Canaves Oia Resort, we were dining a lot in this restaurant as it was convenient that it is in the premises of the resort. The food was excellent taste and fresh, we were able to try different Greek traditional food, and the local wine they were serving was really good. We enjoyed every breakfast, lunch and dinner we had at this restaurant. The prices is higher compared to some other restaurant in Oia but it is good quality, nice presentation and staff were very attentive, that’s why it was worth every Euro. The view of the Caldera and Oia is spectacular while dining at this restaurant. Only issue is that you got to inhale the smoke of the other guest as it was allowed to smoke.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank MsLigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

We are a honeymooning couple who had planned to go to Petra’s for the amazing views on the day our cruise was in port. I had made a reservation with Desi in FEBRUARY for our October lunch. When we arrived, we were greeted by a very snobby front desk attendant who informed us ‘we don’t have a reservation under your name’. I pulled out the email on my phone, and had to physically show her my email. She then proceeded to pretend to look on the computer and not find anything; but eventually admitted that we had it in writing. I have never experienced such bad customer service and felt so judged and looked down upon in my life. My husband and I had dressed up for the occasion, and so we did not think this was the issue. Additionally, I had confirmed in the email with Desi that this restaurant is open to the public and you do not need to be staying at the hotel to eat there. What a horrible experience after feeling so excited to see the views on our honeymoon, a once in a lifetime opportunity!

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank I7067SSemmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Came here for dinner one evening on our stay in Santorini. We stayed at the Canaves property (where the restaurant is located) and were so impressed with the accommodation and facilities we assumed this would be a safe bet for a special dinner.

Unfortunately, we didn’t feel the quality justified the high prices at this restaurant despite the million dollar views. The complimentary amuse bouche was very unmemorable and underseasoned. We had the scallops and lobster ravioli for entrees, these dishes were very good and the reason we are leaving a 3 star review. We had the grouper and sea bass for mains, at £45 per dish. The sea bass was well cooked but not impressive for the price, the grouper was served in a salty, rich sauce that overpowered the fish. The serving sizes are small (my husband asked for more bread after the mains to fill up a little).

The service was ok but not what I would expect from a restaurant that charges these sorts of prices. Aside from the very good entrees, the view is also spectacular. Given we were staying at the property, we weren’t there for the views. There are better options elsewhere in Oia

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 1LMac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We absolutely loved this restaurant. Everything was perfect! The view was incredible, the service was spectacular and the mood was just right. The food was just as incredible. The presentation was so beautiful and the taste matched equally. So happy we made a reservation and got to experience Petra. It is definitely an experience and not just a restaurant. The staff was also insanely helpful in every way. If your in oia, you must visit Petra as it was the highlight of our dinning experience in santorini. Don’t forget to make a reservation, as it does book up.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank E2758LTdenisep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Everything about our evening was spectacular.

The view of the caldera & sunset

The quality if the food & wine (world class)

The friendliness/ charm of the hotel staff

The price!

If you can do it you should do it. It’s a night to remember.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank BigginsBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petra Restaurant also viewed

 
Imerovigli, Santorini
 

Been to Petra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing