We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Private Santorini getaway with breathtaking...”

Review of Domus Solis

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Oia, Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
reviewspl...
colombo
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very Private Santorini getaway with breathtaking views”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had high expectations coming to domus solis and santorini in general given the photos we had seen of both santorini and the domus villa.

We weren't disappointed with either.

What made the stay at the villa what it was ended up being the privacy that it offered compared to every other place we saw packed like sardines into cliff faces. Not having neighbours on all sides of a property is a blessing at domus solis. The fact that Lorenzo, the very friendly owner, is very hands on and available to help at most times was also a major plus (he whatsapps). Our transport was organized well and we had good advice for restaurants and what to see.

The villa itself is well laid out with amazing vantage points of the world famous Oia sunset. There is no better spot to enjoy this amazing experience than from the privacy of the domus villa and you can feel that when you are there. You can see teeming crowds in all directions at sunset on surrounding hills - however domus still retains its privacy!

The daily fresh croissants (self bake) were a nice touch as are the oranges for juice. The cleaning service was spot on and timed according to our needs. The powerful high-end reverse cycle ACs in the rooms were very handy given the cool temperatures. The bathrooms are well appointed and with views I might add! The slightly less normal bedroom with the loft style setup and steps to get up does offer a challenge although this is not a hinderance given the overall space available (no roll off risk!). There is a dual door access option to access the property which can be handy for two groups although if you're traveling together entering from the main door is enough.

Domus solis is a place you can spend some time in as its homely enough to do that. A few board games and card packs might come in handy! The living area is slightly smaller than we thought however its manageable given the awesome options outside. The sofa is very comfy with comfy cushions and ample space for 3. There are bar style self serve wine and champagne bottles available to enjoy - we tried one of the local reds. The kitchen is stocked well with everything you'd need.

We didn't mind the slight hike up to the restaurants and town area - it was our daily workout! The nearby creperie opens early and is as charming as it is small, try the greek yoghurt with fruits and honey! The trek below was more challenging, but still very rewarding given the selection of restaurants serving up exceptionally fresh seafood. A lot of the places are reservations driven and Lorenzo can organize if you have any in mind.

One of the experiences we totally missed was renting a convertible to tool around the island and take in a few more sights or a maybe a winery - that needs to be planned in advance especially if you are after a nicer convertible - another thing Lorenzo can help with!

If you're going to Oia please do yourself a favor, pack hand carry's only and save the donkeys and yourself some heartache! Luggage service is offered but this is either by Lorenzo himself or a friend or worst case donkeys...Domus is not hard to get down and up from with hand carry's at all. The other benefit of packing light is its less of a hassle dealing with their tiny airport. Domus arranges transfers including pickup service at the airport with a namecard at reasonable charges, & at all hours so its very convenient getting to and from.

You will not be disappointed taking domus solis for your stay in Oia, it is highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I_duroy
1 review
“An unique spot in Santorini”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I spent five unforgettable days in this place with my boyfriend, everything was perfect. the first thing that impressed me was the exclusive isolated location from the classic of oia hotels but still close to the characteristics streets of the village. The villa has two terraces from which we enjoyed unforgettable sunsets. The villa as complitely equipped with every comfort furnished with class and personality. A special mention goes to the owner Lorenzo ,thanks to his attention and his suggestions our stay has been full with things to do and discover, certainly an experience that I would recommend to do!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G
1 review
“Fantastic view”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

we have been to Domus solis for 3 nights with my wife !

what to say ..... a fantastic experience !

The villa has a perfect location , is more privat than other homes with incredible views over the bay of amoudi and the famous sunset of oia !

Lorenzo (the owner ) was behind and made us feel pampered us throughout our holiday!

He helped us book tours,restutants and he suggested us the most beautiful places to visit! Really a perfect host !

The villa is equipped with every service , all very new with cleanliness and utmost care in the details !We will definitely be back in this beautiful setting !

super recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdecker1
Morgantown, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect relaxing get away”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was the best experience I have ever had while booking a vacation property. The house is meticulously kept, and beautifully done. Modern interior mixed with the classic greek architecture makes this place amazing. The views bring everything together to create a remarkable property.

Lorenzo was our host and he was simply the best. He made us feel like royalty by attending to our every need. He provided us with a shuttle service to get to the house and met us at the drop off point. He walked us through every detail of the home (safe box, lights, attractions), and even showed us how to bake the freshly made pastrys he left us and make fresh squeeezed orange juice. He left us a cell phone to contact him with so we didn't need to use ours. He responded within minutes. When we booked a boat tour, he met us at the shuttle to make sure we arrived on time and had no language issues. He helped us find nice places around town to eat and would make reservations for us. Beyond his service, he made us feel like old friends.

The house is located on a cliff, so there are lots of stairs. However, this allows you to enjoy the greek food guilt free! I would love to make it back to this place one day!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vitorosaf...
Chioggia, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex A
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaPa95
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing