We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice dinner”

Ambrosia Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 91 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very nice dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I had a very nice dinner in this beautiful restaurant in Oia after the sunset. Very good starters, main dish and dessert. Good service also.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    197
    92
    42
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get one of the balcony tables!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The whole experience at this restaurant was sitting on the balcony overlooking an amazing view. The service was also excellent. And the food was of course quite good too. But mainly you'll remember the view - definitely sit outside. We had no problems with reservations (only made a couple of days before) and getting seated on time. Charming, romantic place! Visited August 2012.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food, great view from the terrace.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is a stylish restaurant overlooking the caldera with very good food and efficient service. The outdoor area has the views, inside is a cosy cave house. We really enjoyed the dinner (only slightly spoilt by the volume of the music).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PGL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Romatic and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

A candlelight dinner on the side of a mountain facing a volcanic view so the food could be ok but it wasn't. The food was some of the best on the island. Good, good and good. Wonderful service also. Make reservations during the season. We were lucky and able to walk in but it was after sunset. All things revolve around the sunset in IA.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belleamy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very important to book it right ! Or don't bother going there !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Everyone should note that there is only 3 tables ( for 2 ) with views of the caldera described on there website .

With this in mind before our visit we went to the website , to get the phone number so we could book the table we wanted , and also get the address.

After a quick look through the web site , we found that the only address offered on the web site was " located near the main Church " .
I am a devout atheist , So I can't tell the difference between a church , a synagogue or a mosque , conveniently in the area where the restaurant is supposed to be according to google maps there is 2 " church religion buildings " I had no idea which one was the main " church religion stop/station" , and the restaurant is near neither of them , we found the restaurant by asking 2 shop keepers to direct us , ( the first guy , with a smug grin on his face said " ambrosia ? Yeah it's near the main church " .... Ha ha ha ya douch bag ) ... As you walk the path which has all shops there is a square , if you are standing in the square facing the caldera , it is to your left just out of the square , there is a faded sign at knee hight which says "ambrosia" on it , you will only see this sign if you are walking south to north , as it is on the north wall of the stairs facing south .

They did not offer their phone number on the web site at all . To book you needed to send an email , we sent an email 2 days before and specifically asked for a table " on the edge of the balcony , one of the tables with un obstructed views of the caldera please ? " . We got no confirmation or response . So we turned up at the time we booked for , when we arrived and saw that all the tables we wanted were taken , we advised them that we had booked , they claimed to have not received the email .... We weren't happy but decided to stay .

All of that said , by the end of our meal ( and wine :-) ) .... We were extremely satisfied with the service , listen out for the exceptional waiter who answers every request with a big smile and " of course I can you that ! "

We thoroughly enjoyed the amazing food was easily the best food we ate on the island

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rambo2714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ambrosia Restaurant also viewed

 
Oia, Santorini
Oia, Santorini
 

Been to Ambrosia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing