We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to standard”

Ambrosia Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 95 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Up to standard”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Very good food. Excellent service. Enjoyable atmosphere. Best food I've had so far on the island. Only thing lacking was a cocktail list. Would recommend.

Stay away from 1800 if your looking for a meal as nice.

Be sure to make a reservation

Helpful?
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    209
    109
    47
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food, great views and very expensive”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Of all the restaurants along the main drag in Oia, Ambrosia seems to be the most elegant. It clearly positions itself as a highly upscale restaurant. The waiter was knowledgeable and the service was good. The views are spectacular although the outside seating area is tight. The food was good but the prices are comparable to top tier restaurants in any major city. We enjoyed our meal. However for the value, I would think twice before going back..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vdf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unable to book”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I've emailed 3 times requesting a booking for my upcoming trip. No one has replied to me, and there is no other way to contact them except for email. Has put a bad taste in my mouth for visiting this restaurant, so will look elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leahevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We chose Ambrosia because of its location. Because it has a very limited number of outdoor tables, we went there on the afternoon of the evening we had planned to book but there was no one there. When we arrived in the evening, it was booked out so we made arrangements for the following evening and then went elsewhere to a place that had been recommended by others. That was a disappointment but Ambrosia made up for that the following evening. The service was brilliant and the food superb.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyLH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were recommended to this restaurant as we were looking for fine dining. Unfortunately, in my opinion this was not' fine dining'. The wine was more expensive than the hotel (which was fine dining) and it was not chilled. They did not put the wine in an ice bucket and instead brought a cylinder wine cooler which will keep wine cool if it is cool in the first place but if not, you might as well not bother. The restaurant was very overcrowded on the outside terrace and we were glad in the end that the tables outside were fully booked and we had to eat inside. We had a table by the window and all the windows were wide open so it was kind of inside/outside. The food was very good but all in all we did not find this restaurant worthy of the prices that were charged.

The restaurant inside was old and traditional and was definitely worth seeing. Fabulous view from the terrace if you can get on there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ambrosia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ambrosia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing