We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and convenient...”
Review of Hotel Lignos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lignos
Ranked #76 of 80 Hotels in Fira
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and convenient...”
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Lignos only cost 30 euros for the one night I stayed there. The staff was accommodating and friendly and the main square of Fira was a 2-minute walk away. The cliffs of Fira overlooking the caldera was maybe a 3-4 minute walk. Lignos was definitely not luxury but it was a average sized room with a queen size bed in it. The air conditioning was used often since it was very hot out. There is a mini fridge and a small TV attached to the wall near the ceiling with about 5 TV channels. The hotel also arranged for me to be transferred to and from the hotel (from another hotel and to the airport.) This was good since it saved me about 20 euros in taxi fare.

There is no caldera view. When I was searching trip advisor to find a hotel, I wanted to read about whether or not there was a caldera view and not many reviews mention the view.

I stayed at Irini's Villas because I needed a place to stay the night before my stay at Lignos. I hadn't booked anything because my friends and I were parting ways (They continued on to Turkey) The "boss" at Lignos also runs Irini's villas in Imerovigli which is a 5 minute-5 euro taxi ride away. Lignos had no room on the night that I wanted to stay but hadn't booked so she offered me a room at 50-euros a night (for a room that usually costs 120-euros a night). They were friendly, nice, and accommodating. They also preferred cash at Lignos.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiiangirlinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    17
    25
    22
See reviews for
11
43
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Good location but bad service , breakfast was very basic .

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rangIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fira hotels

santa clara, california
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

we stayed for 2 days we only paid around 30 euros per day and it was worth every penny so close to the best views, restaurants and shopping..they picked us from airport and dropped us off as well at 5.45 in the mornign for a 7am flight..the hotel was extremely neat and tidy would definately go back.. they even booked us a all day tour for 28 euros and had tickets ready at the reception...breakast was very simple cereal bread and coffee..

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wowwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Just spent 2 days at Lignos Hotel. Great value - and it included a modest breakfast. Location was great - very quiet yet only 100 metres from the centre of Fira. Close to bus and taxi station. Expected to pay much more. Staff, Maria, was very friendly and efficient. The hotel was spotless - all the time. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lebeeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

We booked Hotel Lignos online which was seemed very budgeted. i emailed them a few times prior to the trip to ask if there was airport transfer to the hotel and after the 3rd email, they replied "ok". However, on arrival at Santorini airport, no one showed up and when I called the hotel, no one picked up either. After an hour of waiting around, eventually took the public bus (KTEA) into town (EUR 1.40pp). On arrival, we got told the hotel is full and transferred us to Hotel BlueSky which is 200m further away from Lignos (but still quite close). The receptionist was rude. when I got to Blue Sky hotel, to my surprise the room was actually quite clean, with TV, aircon and a good shower. The breakfast was horrible though (just bread and jam and some ham which has gone bad). On my leave, I asked if there was hotel transfer to the airport and they said "NO", "only transfer to the port". I guess overall, you need to have certain expectations of their service (low) and be prepared for no transfers to the airport (some other hotels do it for free, which could save you a lot, considering a taxi to the airport is EUR 12 per way). The pool also looked unclean.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dazzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Odyssey
Hotel Villa Odyssey
#71 of 80 in Fira
35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Ilios
Villa Ilios
#59 of 80 in Fira
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea of Aegeon
Sea of Aegeon
#74 of 80 in Fira
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Solaris
Solaris
#64 of 80 in Fira
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aroma Suites
Aroma Suites
#27 of 80 in Fira
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lignos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lignos

Property: Hotel Lignos
Address: Parodos Agiou Mina, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lignos 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lignos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lignos Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing