We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hidden gem!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nissos Thira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nissos Thira Hotel
Ranked #49 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hidden gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This friendly family run hotel was perfect for my friend and I. It was perfectly located, a really short walk from the heart of Fira and all the restaurants, shops and bars. The room was spacious, with a lovely view of the pool and the sea, and it was just up the road from a main bus station that went to all the key areas you would want to visit. Couldn't have picked a better spot. It is also small and quiet, with a lovely pool and a relaxed breakfast each morning - we were really surprised that it didn't have more stars!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiejwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    65
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
15
81
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north shore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Our 2 nights here were great. The room and bathroom were large and clean, the balcony spacious with direct access to the lovely pool. The hotel had a lovely holiday feel about it with several places to relax and was central,a short walk from buses, shopping, restaurants and the caldera. Staff were friendly, professional and helpful. Breakfast was good. We look forward to our next stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argentina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

This hotel is located right on the main drag of Fira. Motorcycles, cars and tour buses rumble by at all hours. The staff is apathetic at best. The wireless is very spotty on all of Santorini, but when it does work it's fine. The decor looks like it was updated in 1992. They served canned fruit with the breakfast. The pool only gets sunshine for part of the day, as the hotel is surrounded by other buildings. The shower curtain is completely redundant. The only bonus of this place is a delightful restaurant next door that serves home made food.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone. There were singles, couples, friends staying at the hotel and everyone enjoyed it. The location can not be beat for the price. 65 euros for a less than five minute walk into the center of Fira. There was a great pool for relaxing to get away from the crowded streets when the cruise ships come in. The staff were helpful and very welcoming answering all of our many questions about what to see/do on the island. Room was HUGE with a balcony overlooking the pool area. Very clean and well maintained. It is not on the caldera but like I said 5 minutes you are right there. Breakfast could have have had more options but it was sufficient. Had bread, fruit, ham, cheese, yogurt, pound cake, cereal. Also located 5 minute walk to the bus station which takes you anywhere on the island you want to go including the port. Everywhere being less than 3 euros a person. Would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkyy126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is a great hotel at a fantastic price. The rooms are clean and airy, there's a pool for guests to use and the breakfast is filling (coffee, yoghurt, fruit, cereals, toast, bread, cheeses, ham). The hotel is in the centre of Fira and a minute's walk from the bus station and main street. An absolute bargain in contrast to everything else in Fira.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anth_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in August. The hotel is located right on the central street in Thira, going through Santorini. The location is perfect, close to the city, the bus station and pretty much everything in Thira. The room was very clean, we were quite impressed. Every room has a balcony which is very lovely in Santorini. The pool is very nice and large enough to enjoy. The breakfasts consist of toast, cheese, ham, cake, honey and yogurt- it's not a lot, but we're not huge eaters and it was just enough. The hotel is great for the price (as compared to the caldera view accommodations with prices out of this world). Only caution I have is the shower curtain, which is pretty much useless so we ended up taking showers without it; and the street noise (mainly from the scooters) if you are facing the street (the pool side is very quiet). We rented an ATV and were able to park it at the hotel overnight with no problems. Overall a great stay!

Room Tip: It can get a bit noisy from the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anunia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Although this hotel doesn't have a caldera view we really enjoyed staying here. The rooms on the roadside are noisy but we moved after the first night to a great room - big, comfortable and with a large balcony overlooking the pool. Breakfast was fine and free wifi in the lobby. Really helpful staff too. You are a couple of minutes walk from the bus station which was good as we travelled round the island and a few minutes walk from the caldera as well. Fantastic value.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thewelshwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santorini
Hotel Santorini
#47 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#45 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Golden Star
Hotel Golden Star
#57 of 80 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Leta
Hotel Leta
#42 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.4 mi away
King Thiras Hotel
King Thiras Hotel
#35 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nissos Thira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nissos Thira Hotel

Property: Nissos Thira Hotel
Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nissos Thira Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Nissos Thira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nissos Thira Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing