We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A holiday gem!”
Review of Nissos Thira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nissos Thira Hotel
Ranked #50 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A holiday gem!”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We led a group of 27 people on a visit to Santorini late April/early May and arranged our accommodation at the Nissos Thira Hotel, mainly based on price.
When we arrived, it was to be warmly greeted by the family who run this establishment and who subsequently went out of their way to make our visit most memorable.
The rooms in this typically decorated establishment were cool and refreshing and most of them opened onto balconies or the swimming pool. The bathrooms were a bit on the small side, but so what - the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff were what we will take away as lifetime memories. While not right in the middle of things, it was only a few steps to whatever we were looking for and the position was convenient for bus pick-up and delivery.
Great value for money and wonderful atmosphere - we will recommend to all our contacts and also hope to return someday.
For the price we paid the breakfast was ace!

Room Tip: Since the main road runs along the front of the hotel - the back rooms, opening onto the pool area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    69
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
17
91
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Shores, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The Nissos Thira is located on a busy street but it quiets down at night. Our room was located at the back of the property on the second floor. There was a balcony which looked out to the pool area and a glimpse of the sea. The room itself was quite large if not a bit sterile. Double doors went out to the balcony. The bathroom was small with a minute shower stall. The mattress was very hard and we tried making it more comfortable by putting the spare blanket under the sheet. The whole place was clean and bright. The reception area has seating which extends to the outside.
The reception personnel where very nice and helpful. We requested a kettle for the room and extra pillows which were brought without hesitation.
Breakfast was adequate, tea, coffee, toast, jam, canned fruit and yoghurt.
The pool area was clean but no extra towels, I did not ask and there are numerous sunbeds.
The hotel is about 5 minutes walk to the bus station which is handy for other towns on Sanotorini. To visit the touristy area, shops, restaurants etc and get a view of the Aegean it is about 10 minutes walk up the hill. There is a fridge in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank millc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Very clean and pleaseant personel. Breakfast is excellent and the place is everything you expect from Santorini at a great price.

Room Tip: Located rigth next to all the buses to take you all over Satorini.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephfromMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Owner Rosso manages the cozy boutique hotel with his children at the center of Thira yet away from the busy street. Place is clean, warm and bright. Rooms are clean and secure. All-you-can-eat Continental breakfast is included. Great value. Will surely come back again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phwualoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This friendly family run hotel was perfect for my friend and I. It was perfectly located, a really short walk from the heart of Fira and all the restaurants, shops and bars. The room was spacious, with a lovely view of the pool and the sea, and it was just up the road from a main bus station that went to all the key areas you would want to visit. Couldn't have picked a better spot. It is also small and quiet, with a lovely pool and a relaxed breakfast each morning - we were really surprised that it didn't have more stars!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiejwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north shore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Our 2 nights here were great. The room and bathroom were large and clean, the balcony spacious with direct access to the lovely pool. The hotel had a lovely holiday feel about it with several places to relax and was central,a short walk from buses, shopping, restaurants and the caldera. Staff were friendly, professional and helpful. Breakfast was good. We look forward to our next stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This hotel is located right on the main drag of Fira. Motorcycles, cars and tour buses rumble by at all hours. The staff is apathetic at best. The wireless is very spotty on all of Santorini, but when it does work it's fine. The decor looks like it was updated in 1992. They served canned fruit with the breakfast. The pool only gets sunshine for part of the day, as the hotel is surrounded by other buildings. The shower curtain is completely redundant. The only bonus of this place is a delightful restaurant next door that serves home made food.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santorini
Hotel Santorini
#46 of 80 in Fira
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#42 of 80 in Fira
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#44 of 80 in Fira
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nefeles Suites Hotel
Nefeles Suites Hotel
#39 of 80 in Fira
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solaris
Solaris
#64 of 80 in Fira
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nissos Thira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nissos Thira Hotel

Property: Nissos Thira Hotel
Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Fira
#37 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nissos Thira Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nissos Thira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nissos Thira Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing