We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Culinary Journey”
Review of SPHINX Restaurant - CLOSED

SPHINX Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Magnificent Culinary Journey”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We were greeted with smiles and hugs. Escorted to a corner table overlooking the whole island below. We started with local grilled cheese in tomato sauce and small steak medallions in mushroom sauce. Both were just divine. Our main course consisted of the summer risotto and whole locally-caught fish grilled to perfection. Both were amazing and the waiter recommended the perfect local wine pairings. A trip to santorini must involve dinner at this romantic spot. It's simply a must!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nikolas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    186
    90
    41
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cold Food”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Expensive and portions more like Nouvelle Cuisine.

This rather pretentious, over priced restaurant served my lamb shank in lemon sauce cold!! The service was poor the value for money was shocking and the food was not very good.

There are plenty of other places to eat in Fira which are much better value and certaintly serve better food.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Service, Amazing view”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

It was our first night in Santorini for our Honeymoon. My wife and I walked into this place and were greeted with excellent service and a beautiful view. We didn't go for the sunset but I am sure it would be amazing. We had the calamari, fava, lobster tagliatelle, mussels, and baklava for desert. All was excellent

I would recommend this place for sure!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aseem N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linwood, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unimpressed”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This place was right across from our hotel. It had good reviews here on trip advisor and in Fodor's. Of all the places we ate in Greece, this was the least impressive. While the view is fantastic, almost every restaurant has them. The calamari was chewy and tasteless. The service was rushed and unfriendly, probably the only time we experienced that in 2 weeks in Greece. Add to that, it was one of the more expensive places to eat, I'd bypass this and try anywhere else.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow...what a view! (and good food too!)”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Viewing the sunset in Santorini is one of the "must do's". The views from the Sphinx are second to none. After several days visiting crowded spots in Oia (pronounced eeya) where crowds gather to watch the sunset, out hotel suggested we go to the capital of Santorini in Fira and try the Sphinx. The food was great, the service adequate and our balcony table on the first row provided us with an amazing view of the Caldera and setting sun. The Pasta's and traditional Greek Moussaka were wonderful as were the frshly made bread and spreads.

The Sphinx is conveniently located within walking distance of the bus/taxi stand which makes it that much better after a long day hiking the volcano or shopping on the hilly streets and steps of the villages. We will definately try it again on our next visit to Santorini

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alnosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SPHINX Restaurant also viewed

 
Imerovigli, Santorini
Exo Gonia, Fira
 
Imerovigli, Santorini
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing