We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canopy collapsed on us!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Don Angelo

Don Angelo
Ranked #157 of 180 Restaurants in Fira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Canopy collapsed on us!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We happened on this place during the day and thought it looked nice, good setting etc..so we returned that evening for what can only be described as a disaster from start to finish! First we were sat outside on what was a windy night and the canopy sheltering us collapsed and nearly took our heads with it! No apology received but we quickly ran inside to what was a dusty table but that didn't bother us considering the near death experience! Next the food..we only ordered a recommended shared main which took an hour and a half to arrive! It was the most expensive fish on the island coming in at a whopping €110! (Big surprise there!) Sides consisted of a small piece of potato, carrot and cale. We also had some overpriced wine which was also recommended! Needless to say we skipped dessert. After receiving a bill of €185 I gave 15 mins explaining how overpriced and terrible our experience was to a decent young waiter while the owner stood back and shrugged 'the price is the price'! I told him that I wasn't paying for the surprise cocktail he gave us and that the wine should at least be complimentary but the latter was dismissed outright. We paid the €185 only on condition that the waiter receive €15. All in all a terrible experience...do not eat here!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maired1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    6
    20
    412
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fogelsville, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just stay away!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We were hungry and decided to give it a try. The menu offered a lot of expensive meals, but we found some we thought were reasonably priced. The waiter was pushing the expensive meals, but accepted our selections. He recommended the pasta with seafood and the crab spaghetti. The pasta came with seafood shells and a crab cut in two. There was hardly any seafood in the dish, just pasta and shells. The crab spaghetti came with very little crab meat, mostly pasta. For the price it was definitely not worth it. The service was extremely slow, the waiter was pushy, the food was poor, the prices were high The view and ambiance were the only things worth while.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vschramak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This restaraunt is a massive rip off.
We had a bottle of red wine, a 2kg black snapper and a salad for a total of 253€

we will never return

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A rip off for a nice view”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We chose this restaurant becasue of the stunning view on the Caldera with very tables on individual small terraces. The service was better than OK, as well as the wine, however the food - no matter which course - was way below expectations. The 210 EUR for 2 people is a real rip off. You can have a very nice meal in Santorini at a good place with identically nice view for about the half of it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful! What a rip off!!! Avoid the this place like the plague!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were so overcharged its not funny! 60 euro for a Greek salad, plate of octopus, a beer and water and then they had the cheek to charge us 12 euros for service charge and taxes... The food wasn't even that good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saralouiseyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Angelo also viewed

Fira, Santorini
 
Fira, Santorini
 

Been to Don Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing