We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete rip off / horrible service”
Review of Don Angelo

Don Angelo
Ranked #167 of 188 Restaurants in Fira
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Complete rip off / horrible service”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

beautiful looking restaurant with absolutely horrible service. Our waiter, a used car salesman, was a total con man. The food was OK but we got taken on the fresh fish of which we were completely overcharged. Luckily we had three other nights to dine in Santorini.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    6
    22
    484
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“If you even see this place..run forrest ..Run....”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Oh my god what a ripoff.
My wife and i were on a 2 week holiday in crete and decided to go to santorini for 2 nites.our first nite we spent the evening watching the sunset from the rooftop of a class coctail bar.after a few drinks we decided to go for dinner.we spotted this nice looking place from the bar and decided to go there.BIG mistake.got offered comp. Coctail that turned out to be12 euro each.fish for 2 cost 76 came with veg that was like something that was in the fridge for a month.avoided wine list overpriced.i can only describe the owner as a horrible little man..felt like knocking his lights out .total bill for rubbish meal was 124 euro.if you are dying of the hunger and its the only place open dont go there.2nd night went to parathiri restaurant and had a fab dinner .great staff great food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay Away!!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

OMG I can't believe the awful experience we had at this restaurant. I so wished I had read trip advisor before going there. You will see that everyone calls it a rip off, well we were..... on a grand scale !!
The owner was very friendly and invited us in, a waiter said would we like an apperitif and we accepted. The owner gave us the menu's but did not give us chance to read it, recommending starters of a fish meze, with a little bit of different fish. - The mussels were either empty or boiled to nothing, the prawns were fishy tasting and i didnt' try anything else.

They then brought two whole fish to the table, black snapper which he said would feed all four of us and he would include potatoes / veg for free, at no point did he give us any prices, he also tried to recommend the wine, but when i looked at the menu it was 60euro's a bottle, so I changed it for the cheapest at 38 euro's. We waited ages for the main and it tasted just ok.

We then had desserts, again he recommended what we had but we said we wanted to see the dessert menu, I ordered creme brulee and that isn't what I got, although it was nice.
He then brought us a drink which we thought was complimentary, we did not order it.

We discussed that we thought this was going to be expensive, when the bill came we guessed at between, 300 & 400 euros . it was 730 !!!!!!!
The owner stayed away and sent a young girl to go through the bill, where the starters came to 135 euro's. The drinks were at 15 euros each. We argued this out, we did not have that amount on us and was told that we shouldn't eat what we cannot afford !! we paid 470 euro's what we had on us and told them the name of the hotel we were staying at. We said we were going to get advice, they would not let us have a copy of the bill or even take a photo of it, they would not let us write down the full cost less what we had paid so we had proof of what was outstanding.
We spoke to our rep who said she would get advice and that she had never heard of this ever before.
We did not go back and pay and no one came to the hotel, we blamed ourselves for been naive but now that I have read the comments it must happen all the time. The restaurant was empty only us in there and now I know why. !!!

I have to add I have never experienced anything like that at other restaurants in Thira, all staff were friendly and we never had a bad meal apart from this one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahH001123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Canopy collapsed on us!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We happened on this place during the day and thought it looked nice, good setting etc..so we returned that evening for what can only be described as a disaster from start to finish! First we were sat outside on what was a windy night and the canopy sheltering us collapsed and nearly took our heads with it! No apology received but we quickly ran inside to what was a dusty table but that didn't bother us considering the near death experience! Next the food..we only ordered a recommended shared main which took an hour and a half to arrive! It was the most expensive fish on the island coming in at a whopping €110! (Big surprise there!) Sides consisted of a small piece of potato, carrot and cale. We also had some overpriced wine which was also recommended! Needless to say we skipped dessert. After receiving a bill of €185 I gave 15 mins explaining how overpriced and terrible our experience was to a decent young waiter while the owner stood back and shrugged 'the price is the price'! I told him that I wasn't paying for the surprise cocktail he gave us and that the wine should at least be complimentary but the latter was dismissed outright. We paid the €185 only on condition that the waiter receive €15. All in all a terrible experience...do not eat here!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maired1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fogelsville, PA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just stay away!!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We were hungry and decided to give it a try. The menu offered a lot of expensive meals, but we found some we thought were reasonably priced. The waiter was pushing the expensive meals, but accepted our selections. He recommended the pasta with seafood and the crab spaghetti. The pasta came with seafood shells and a crab cut in two. There was hardly any seafood in the dish, just pasta and shells. The crab spaghetti came with very little crab meat, mostly pasta. For the price it was definitely not worth it. The service was extremely slow, the waiter was pushy, the food was poor, the prices were high The view and ambiance were the only things worth while.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vschramak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Angelo also viewed

 
Fira, Santorini
 

Been to Don Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing