We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical”
Review of Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantis Hotel
Ranked #40 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Any hotel in Fira overlooking the caldera has a stunning view. Most of them cannot be accessed by car since the roads are pedestrian only. This is where Atlantis has its USP - cars can drive right up to it so for people unable to walk up and down very steep, rocky pathways, Altantis is perfect. The rooms are quite small though and compared to other hotels in Fira that cannot be accessed by car, they are also not very well decorated. Atlantis is a landmark hotel since it ends up being meeting points for groups who need to a find a convenient point to congregate on. I would not want to return here unless I needed to access the hotel by car and wanted a caldera view room - that's why this hotel is unique. There are plenty of better hotels that can either by accessed by car OR offer the calder view, but not both.h

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scuderia_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

We have just come back from a four night stay in Santorini.
The Atlantis Hotel is located just on the South end of all the main strip of Caldera view bars and restaurants. The view is great and the staff are helpful and friendly.
I can understand why some people have given low ratings as the rooms are small, but all the rooms in Santorini are small due to the high price of property with THAT view. Most of the bad views are by Americans who I am sure are used to something more palatial.
I personally love the decor in the lobby, it's a retro mint colour which makes me feel like I'm in a Poirot movie!
It is a shame the pool is quite so cold and shady, but we didn't spend much time there anyway as we were site-seeing. Had we been staying for two weeks I would have liked a better pool.
I liked the breakfast, a hotel this small cannot put on American style buffets. Considering we spent all of the rest of our days there eating cheese and souvlaki, I was glad of a small breakfast! They offer you bacon and eggs but you really can have whatever you want, you just have to ask, it's included in the bed and breakfast price.
I also found their mini bar prices very reasonable. The running water was hot with good pressure and the bath had centre taps.
Overall I liked this hotel but yes the rooms are a bit small but you will find that in every Santorini hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonAndDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Of course the first thing to say about this hotel is the fabulous, breathtaking views from the balcony in the room, and also as you walk in the door of the hotel. We spent a lot of time siting on the balcony looking at the scenery and it was so different at each time of day - so quiet at early morning, very dramatic as the sun was setting and at night. We decided to stay at the Atlantis as we'd read on TA that it was one of the few places that you could get a taxi right up to the door of the hotel - very handy for lugging the bags. It was also very close to everything, an easy walk to all the lovely, interesting shops; great restaurants and cafes/bars; and the cable car to the old port. Also a short walk to the bus stop to go to Kamari, Oia (great spot to watch the sun set on the caldera and walk lovely little winding streets). The rooms are pleasant, comfortable. The room was a good layout for friends staying together as the wardrobe was situated along the room's entrance hall, next to the bathroom, with a another door to close off the bedroom. This served as a private dressing room when we came out of the shower. The staff deserve special mention - they were very friendly and very helpful, especially Pedro who served us the nice and plentiful breakfast in the morning. They were always on hand to arrange taxis, and give us clear directions to places we wanted to go. I'd stay there again if (when) I go to Santorini again

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

great hotel overlooking the caldera. it is situated at the top of the rim next to orthodox cathedral.there are many shops and restaurants nearby. the rooms are spacious and clean.the staff are very helpful and friendly especially petro and maria.wll definetly stay there again when we return to santorini. the bus stop is only 2min walk and from there you can explore other cities in santorini.the view from the hotel is spectacular just like the postcards,

Room Tip: rooms with balcony over looking the caldera
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonesy059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The Atlantis Hotel was a great place to stay in Santorini. I don't think the location could have been any better. It is at the top of the rim, right next to the Orthodox Cathedral at the beginning of the pedestrian walkway shopping area! It is a two minute walk to the cable car down to the port. Great shopping within a one minute walk in all directions. The breakfast was very good with a view you couldn't beat, inside or outside. It is pretty much in the center of the northwest coast of the Island so it is easy to get everywhere within 20-30 minutes. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating...typical Greek hospitality. The price is a steal for what you get in return. I definitely recommend the Atlantis Hotel during your stay on Santorini. Great experience!

Room Tip: Room 25...two balconies...one of them is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith_machen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This is a nice, small and clean hotel with very polite and helpful staff. We really enjoyed our staying there since our room overlooked the volcano and the caldera. The view is breathtaking!!.
Moreover, what seems to be the asset of the hotel is its location which offers easy access to vehicles and spectacular views! (You don't have to walk down or up tiring steps, carrying your own luggage!) Everything is within walking distance, bars , restaurants, cafeterias, bus station and taxi station, which is really convenient. we had great time there and we'll definately come back someday...since then I will treasure the memories in my heart!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kelly j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This Hotel is located in a perfect location, amazing view, in the heart of the village, You can go anywhere from there !The staff are the best!, Antonia the manager treat me as a family member and I am very thankful for making me have a wonderful time, I stay almost 2 weeks I wish I could stay more !. You can see all the incredible view day and night only opening your doors on your balcony!....is really "Magic" The place is super clean and quiet....if you need to be in a exclusive and peaceful place ....this is the best!
The breakfast is very nice and you can either take it in the balcony of the hotel looking the Caldera view or if you prefer from your balcony in your room!....really fantastic !
I was very surprise to see that in reality this Hotel is better than the pictures, at the moment I open the doors for my balcony i was speechless !. I recommend this hotel to anyone that knows how to enjoy excellent service and an unique place.

Room Tip: Caldera view room are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.0 mi away
Cori Rigas Suites
Cori Rigas Suites
#38 of 80 in Fira
269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Santorini Reflexions Volcano
0.1 mi away
Tzekos Villas
Tzekos Villas
#25 of 80 in Fira
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Panorama Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Aria Lito Mansion
Aria Lito Mansion
#33 of 80 in Fira
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Hotel

Address: Mitropoleos, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#36 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range: £98 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A' class hotel (4 stars) located in the best part and center of Fira/Thira, with breathtaking views of the Caldera-Volcano-Aegean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing