We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world charm with fabulous location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atlantis Hotel
Ranked #42 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old world charm with fabulous location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Location, Location Location and more. Spectacular setting on the edge of the caldera with balcony overlooking the port and sea breezes cooling through the french doors. The new museum of Acrotiri is directly behind the hotel.

This hotel is an original part of old Santorini--Fira town. Easily walk to shops and great restaurants without battling the crowds that descend on this town daily from the cruise boats. Relax by a quiet and seculded pool on the ground level in a walled area. The hotel is quiet, well air conditioned and the staff is helpful and pleasant. They will arrange for a rental car, taxi or dinner reservations.

Down side--no elevator--rooms are one flight up. Luggage is carried up and down for you. Breakfast could be made more inviting and have more choices. They will cook eggs to order, however, the other choices of breakfast foods are limited to toast and corn flakes. (Very old world)

Room Tip: ask for a balcony facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderingdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    89
    32
    11
    7
See reviews for
44
128
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Great place to stay! Location is great, just steps from shopping, restaurants and bars. Get room with volcano view. The balconies are great on ocean side. While others are juggling for a spot to enjoy the sunset - you can sit on your private balcony and drink it all in! Downside to these rooms - the noise level is high once bars close. Late night party folk are walking on sidewalk under balconies on their way home. It can be quite loud. However, I think the view is worth the noise. Rms are clean, staff helpful and YOU CANNOT BEAT THEIR BREAKFASTS! Upon my next trip to Fira, I will book a rm here again.

Room Tip: Ocean/volcano view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights and were very pleased with the accommodation. It is in a prime position on the caldera. We had a balcony room, so plenty of space. Could eat on our balcony or upstairs. Very easy to get to restaurants, bus and taxis stands, museum etc. a great base for santorini. Staff were very helpful calling travel agents and taxis for us. Pool was cold but refreshing, nice small area to relax beside it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYGinSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Atlantis Hotel, during my stay in Santorini Island. The Atlantis is ideally located on the South end of the main strip of the Caldera. Caught the shuttle from the airport and the hotel is the last stop. I just had to make a short walk up the hill from the bus station.

Maria, on the front desk was wonderful in assuring that I had a room with a balcony and view of the Aegean Sea and the volcano. I watched the sunrise and the cruise ships pull in as I ate breakfast on the balcony. Breakfast is included in the room charge.

The hotel is just a short walk from the shops and restaurants and other villages on Santorini.

The staff was kind and courteous. I highly recommend the Atlantis Hotel.

Room Tip: Nice hotel and a good bargain for the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLee2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Any hotel in Fira overlooking the caldera has a stunning view. Most of them cannot be accessed by car since the roads are pedestrian only. This is where Atlantis has its USP - cars can drive right up to it so for people unable to walk up and down very steep, rocky pathways, Altantis is perfect. The rooms are quite small though and compared to other hotels in Fira that cannot be accessed by car, they are also not very well decorated. Atlantis is a landmark hotel since it ends up being meeting points for groups who need to a find a convenient point to congregate on. I would not want to return here unless I needed to access the hotel by car and wanted a caldera view room - that's why this hotel is unique. There are plenty of better hotels that can either by accessed by car OR offer the calder view, but not both.h

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scuderia_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We have just come back from a four night stay in Santorini.
The Atlantis Hotel is located just on the South end of all the main strip of Caldera view bars and restaurants. The view is great and the staff are helpful and friendly.
I can understand why some people have given low ratings as the rooms are small, but all the rooms in Santorini are small due to the high price of property with THAT view. Most of the bad views are by Americans who I am sure are used to something more palatial.
I personally love the decor in the lobby, it's a retro mint colour which makes me feel like I'm in a Poirot movie!
It is a shame the pool is quite so cold and shady, but we didn't spend much time there anyway as we were site-seeing. Had we been staying for two weeks I would have liked a better pool.
I liked the breakfast, a hotel this small cannot put on American style buffets. Considering we spent all of the rest of our days there eating cheese and souvlaki, I was glad of a small breakfast! They offer you bacon and eggs but you really can have whatever you want, you just have to ask, it's included in the bed and breakfast price.
I also found their mini bar prices very reasonable. The running water was hot with good pressure and the bath had centre taps.
Overall I liked this hotel but yes the rooms are a bit small but you will find that in every Santorini hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonAndDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Of course the first thing to say about this hotel is the fabulous, breathtaking views from the balcony in the room, and also as you walk in the door of the hotel. We spent a lot of time siting on the balcony looking at the scenery and it was so different at each time of day - so quiet at early morning, very dramatic as the sun was setting and at night. We decided to stay at the Atlantis as we'd read on TA that it was one of the few places that you could get a taxi right up to the door of the hotel - very handy for lugging the bags. It was also very close to everything, an easy walk to all the lovely, interesting shops; great restaurants and cafes/bars; and the cable car to the old port. Also a short walk to the bus stop to go to Kamari, Oia (great spot to watch the sun set on the caldera and walk lovely little winding streets). The rooms are pleasant, comfortable. The room was a good layout for friends staying together as the wardrobe was situated along the room's entrance hall, next to the bathroom, with a another door to close off the bedroom. This served as a private dressing room when we came out of the shower. The staff deserve special mention - they were very friendly and very helpful, especially Pedro who served us the nice and plentiful breakfast in the morning. They were always on hand to arrange taxis, and give us clear directions to places we wanted to go. I'd stay there again if (when) I go to Santorini again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kavalari
Hotel Kavalari
#31 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nomikos Villas
Nomikos Villas
#36 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cori Rigas Suites
Cori Rigas Suites
#37 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.1 mi away
Panorama Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Hotel

Property: Atlantis Hotel
Address: Mitropoleos, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#36 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A' class hotel (4 stars) located in the best part and center of Fira/Thira, with breathtaking views of the Caldera-Volcano-Aegean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing