We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be back soon”
Review of Solaris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solaris
Ranked #60 of 79 Hotels in Fira
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Be back soon”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We visited Solaris hotel at late October. The staff was very friendly and gave us valuable information about the island. We had a problem with the car and the staff came and helped us to jump start the car and return safely back to the hotel. The room was cleaned regurarly and had a very nice view. The brekfast was very good especially for vegeterians like us. The swimming pool was ok and we had a couple of coctails at the bar near the pool.The main advantage of the hotel is the short distance from the city centre (almost 5 minutes on foot). Definetely hotel Solaris is a wise choice to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giannis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    39
    25
    16
    23
See reviews for
25
74
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Although we had specifically asked for a double room with ocean view, the one which was illustrated on their website, when we got there it was nothing like we were promised. We complained to the manager ,mrs Anastasia Fatourou,but said there was nothing to be done because it was high season. We asked her to see some other rooms so we could have a taste of the hotel pretty much in general. The rooms were nothing like the white romantic and cosy rooms wih view and large balconies that were advertised. The worst thing was that it was confirmed from the manager that the rooms were exactly as shown, because i spesifically asked her about that many times. It was such a waste money and it sure wasnt what we had booked!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Katerina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fira hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We had a nice stay here, the staff were very polite and easy going, quite helpful and knowledgeable, breakfast was ok(nothing special) all up it was a nice place to stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The location of the hotel is very good, just outside of Firá. The rooms we saw were recently painted and had new bathrooms. The mattrass, however, had experienced too many guests. The breakfast is very good, except for the juices. We had an interesting experience with the management of the place. We booked a room for 4 persons, based on the photo's on the booking com site, which showed two beds on one level and two more on an mezzanine. When arriving the receptionist gave us a double room with a sofa bed instead. We refused and said we wanted to talk to the management. it was 5.30 pm and the receptionist told us that the manager would come in two or three hours. We said we'd wait in the lobby and she turned up after one and a half our, stating that she needed her rest in this busy time. After a lot of unpleasant and extremely unprofessional bickering we got two double rooms for one night and a small refund for the next, since she said the hotel was fully booked for that day. It was all our fault, you see. Since we had paid in advance for two nights we had not many options. We were glad to leave the place and we felt truly misled. So if you really want to stay here it is wise to a) explicitly ask for the room as shown on the internet sites, b) insist on a firm confirmation of your reservation and c) not paying in advance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polderpolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We booked using booking.com & asked for twin beds an ocean view & no smoking booking.com emailed me advising Kostas a staff member had confirmed ok. We were met at the ferry by a staff member who did not introduced himself just took a suitcase and headed off with us following dodging the crowds. On arrival at the hotel we were not offered juice Kosta just told us about the island. We eventually were shown to our room on the ground floor at the front of the building no ocean view and a small balcony adjoining another balcony where the ashtray was full. I complained and spoke to Anastacia the manager who said she would move us to a better room the next day. In the morning we went out for the day and arrived back in the afternoon to find we had been moved up one floor still at the front of the hotel. I showed my confirmation email to Anastacia and this time she said Kosta did not agree to our requirements. The room we were given was small and to the front overlooked a vacant block and a derelict building to the side our view was a parking lot for cement trucks but next to this was a pretty church. The garden view promised is there if you lean over the balcony and look down. The hotel is on a busy intersection with a constant stream of traffic it was so noisy we could not have the balcony doors open. The toilet leaked I reported it & a plumber was promised but never came. Breakfast was served by the pool the usual cereals fruit etc and meats and cheeses, there was no refrigeration and the lids were not secure on the food. The first morning the staff member who looked after breakfast sat at the bar talking and chain smoking. The only good thing about this accommodation is the location which is a short walk to town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bowdy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

For the first time we visited Santorini. We think it is the best island in Greece. We stayed in hotel Solaris for 5 days. When we first booked we were not 100% sure because we have read among all the good things in the comments some really bad too but we thaught that it would worth a try since the prices were good enough for us. When we got to the hotel the first impression was very good, the stuff was really kind and helpfull they gave us all the information we needed to have about the island. They also offered us an orange juice to welcome us and some wines in the room. Our room was a bit smaller than we expected but it had a very nice view, it was very clean and the bathroom really nice. The hotel was near the center so didn't have to rent a car or something. We had a really good time in hotel Solaris and we definetly recommend you to go there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Santorini's P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelingTheWorld673, Owner at Solaris, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I would like to caution every traveller against this hotel. I have been travelling for years and never in my life have I had such a bad and shocking experience. I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on the 10th and 11th of July 2013. Everything was fine when my friends and I checked in; 4 of us in total.On the morning of 11th July, we called the reception to ask someone to fix the washroom door as the handle had broken (it was already loose when we got there). The guy who came to fix it got the job done in 10 min and left and we left the room after him to go explore Santorini. In a rush, my friend and I left without putting our handbags with our foreign currency into the safe (not sure if they even have one)! We brought out only some euros with us as we felt its safer and left the rest of our money in our room. We spent the entire day out and got back to the hotel at almost 11pm and found that our room had been cleaned and bags shifted but we didn't think much of it. The next day we took a noon ferry out to another island and on the ferry my friend opened her handbag to purchase a coffee and found that a 100 dollar US bill was missing. The rest of us checked our handbags as well and I discovered a 100 dollar Canadian bill was missing from my wallet. This thief stole one bill each from us, leaving the rest in our wallets probably thinking we wouldn't notice if one goes missing but we did realize it; we do keep count of our money as it is hard earned! Upon arriving at our next hotel, my other friend who is a make up artist opened her bag and found 3 of her palettes of make up missing. We immediately called Hotel Solaris and spoke to Anastasia at the reception and explained what had happened and she basically denied everything and did not offer to do anything to help us let alone investigate or question the staff! She informed us that a young woman named Maria cleaned our room but she did not question her over the missing money and items. I am not sure if the housekeeping staff stole from us or if this is a scam involving ALL of the staff at Hotel Solaris. For all we know, they could have gone through our luggage to see what little items they could steal without us noticing! Either way, this has left such a bad impression in my mind of this hotel. I discourage any traveller from going here as you will get robbed by the very people who you should be able to trust! Hotel Solaris, shame on you and your staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TiGi1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelingTheWorld673, Manager at Solaris, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear TiGi1987, we were very surprised with your review. We are sorry to hear about your experience at the hotel. We are a family-run business and all our staff are hard-working and honest people that maintain the highest level of pride and integrity in servicing our guests. We have never had any reports of theft at the hotel in the past, we take guest safety very seriously and safes are installed in all rooms as well as at our 24h reception. Lastly, we can assure you there is no scam amongst our staff in the manner you have described, and if you have any further concerns kindly contact us directly.

Yours sincerely
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.3 mi away
Milos Villas
Milos Villas
#46 of 79 in Fira
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#43 of 79 in Fira
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melina Hotel
Melina Hotel
#52 of 79 in Fira
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.4 mi away
Amerisa Suites
Amerisa Suites
#64 of 79 in Fira
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Odyssey
Hotel Villa Odyssey
#68 of 79 in Fira
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaris

Property: Solaris
Address: Fira 84 700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 79 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Solaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solaris Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing