We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Greek Culture experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Thira and Apartments
Ranked #8 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful Greek Culture experience”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Hotel Thira is a 3 generation family owned and operated hotel. There is no better way to experience Santorini and Greek culture. It is such a beautiful hotel, small with nice accommodations, and very close to Fira (only 5 minute walk). We had a wonderful stay, were extremely well taken care of by the entire family, grandparents, Tony, his wife and lovely daughter Maria (who was home from college for a visit). We were treated to breakfast every morning and the staff provided outstanding suggestions for sites to see, restaurants, and beaches. We especially enjoyed returning from a long day and relaxing at the lovely pool area and playing cards in the outdoor lounge. Of our 3 week adventure across Europe, this was one of our best experiences! We hope to return and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamWillFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    47
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
97
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

One of the best things about Hotel Thira is its proximity to the town of Fira (about a 5 minute walk away). While it does not boast spectacular views and is very much a no-frills establishment, it has a lovely pool and outdoor lounge area, and the hotel staff are extremely nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend it, especially for young visitors who want to enjoy the nightlife in Fira. The wifi was spotty but otherwise no complaints! And you can't beat the price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Schmidt14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for a week with my girlfriend and had a wonderful stay. Tony and his wife were so lovely the whole time, from giving us a discounted price on renting an ATV, to directions for anywhere on the island, and to dropping us off at the bus stop on our way home! He even gave us a token souvenir to take home with us in the end! The rooms were lovely and clean the whole time we were there and the view from the terrace and swimming pool is breathtaking! it's also located very close to the main square of Fira and the bus stop in Fira too! I've already recommended this hotel to many close friends and relatives thinking of visiting Santorini!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilievangelov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Tony and his family work very hard to ensure all guests are made welcome snd are very well looked after. The parents do a good job serving guests a simple breakfast and if you are lucky as we were you may be offered very large, home grown figs for breakfast fruit.
After the storm every part of the complex was cleaned thoroughly. The rooms were impeccably clean.
the bathroom was small but adequate. Wifii was not strong in the room but ok in common areas.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celebr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Hotel Thira and would highly recommend for young people, couple or anyone looking for a clean, comfortable stay in a good area of Santorini. The hotel is only 50 meters away from the bus stop that takes you to the Oia and a 5 minute walk to the little markets that lead you to the main centre of Thira. Tony's lovely father picked us up at 1am from the ferry which we were so grateful and even at that ridiculous early hour he was still so friendly! Room was really clean when we arrived and fixed up each day. Lots of good restaurants close by and a nice pool to relax in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gg2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burry Port
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just got back after a 10 stay with Tony and his family. The hotel is very well situated 5 mins either way and you are in the centre of everything you will for views of the volcano or wake up to views and sunrise over the Agean sea. We had the junior suite and it was great, we had a fantistic view the bed linen and towels were changed every day and the room was cleaned top to toe. We have stayed in many 4 & 5* hotels and not had such good service.The welcome for us stared as soon as we arrived as Tony had arranged for us to be picked up from the airport and at the end his father dropped us off at the airport for ''no charge''. The hotel is family run and I promise you you will not go wrong. If you go to the wonderfull island of Santorini you can stay in many hotels and pay more than you will at Hotel Thira but you will not stay in a better or happier hotel. Hotel Thira punches well above its standard and we would have no hesitation staying there again.

Room Tip: Go for the suite its worth it. Get up early and watch the sunrise its as good as the sunset. Rent a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waynecoles14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed at family-run Thira for one week, and had an overall great experience! The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are big and clean. The hotel facilities and location is also great. I would recommend anyone to stay here, wether you are a family, couple or single.
I hope to come back some day :)

Hannah from Norway

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahhedvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 80 in Fira
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.2 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
2.2 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.4 mi away
Costa Marina Villas
Costa Marina Villas
#5 of 80 in Fira
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thira and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thira and Apartments

Property: Hotel Thira and Apartments
Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Thira and Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel THIRA& Apartments We are waiting for you to visit the most beautiful island in the world , which was carved out of an incredible cosmogony .A white wreath of houses ,arches ,terraces and churches with blue domes complete this beauty. On the top of Fira city,250 meters of the main square, is located the Hotel THira & apartments. We offer with care our clean units with all modern comforts ,and sea view , for the holidays you always dreaming of. The cycladic traditional ,unique architecture enhances the leisurely and spacious surroundings (in a soothing enviroment.) Luxurious appointed and tastefully decorated rooms ,with friendly and helpful hotel staff .This will be perfect for honeymooners. Relax yourself on confortable sunbeds and enjoy the pool and the sun. Close your eyes and let your mind soar over the island of fire , letting it feel the living presence of lost Atlantis Bathe in the clear Aegean sea , knowing that the ancient gods would be envious of your pleasure. Near there are restaurants, mini markets ,shops, the conference center Nomikos, and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Thira and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Thira And Apartments Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing