We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain but adequate for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We chose this hotel because of some prerequisites. We were on our way from the international airport at Santorini by ferry to Paros. We needed a decent place to stay overnight, not far from neither the airport nor the port. Also we wanted that a taxi could reach the hotel front door, which is not necessarily self-evident in Santorini because of the rather particular geography. All other good things came as a bonus. Astro Palace fulfilled our requirements.
The hotel architecture was plain and modest, the interior very clean and well kept. The welcome and the reception was exceptionally good. A special bonus was a glass of local white wine of good quality was offered in the lobby, while we were waiting for our luggage to reach the room. The service was impeccable and clearly exceeded what normally could be expected of this level of hotel.
The room was spacious but sparingly decorated. As the outdoor temperature was just 17⁰C when we arrived, the room temperature was a little cold for my wife's taste. An extra blanket was provided in minutes.
Morning breakfast was exceptionally plentiful and diverse. The fruit department was rather meagre, though, probably due to that was still out of season.
Only the checking out experience was the only low point during our visit. When we left, about half a dozen of people wanted to check out at about the same time. A few of us had a schedule to keep. The receptionist tried to handle anybody's requests who just dared to jump the queue, all at the same time. Also, the telephone ringed continually and couldn't be ignored. Naturally she failed miserably to keep the situation under control and we nearly run out of time. It was a nerve-racking experience for many of us. All other services in the hotel had an adequate number of employees allocated. Clearly the reception would need at least temporary help to sort out peak periods.
Reserve time for checking out!

Room Tip: At least room 323 was quiet and had a good view over the premises,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorfHki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotel is absolutely beautiful, clean, and well situated from main town centre. Staff was all incredibly nice and helpful. Pool was gorgeous and very clean. Excellent breakfast buffet , offered for several hours in the morning which works for any schedule! GREAT value for money as the price was very reasonable for this kind of hotel in suh a high demand area. The only thing it lacks is a caldera view, but ou can see the view from many places and never really stay in your room anyway! 5 star all the way.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friendlytravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A wonderful hotel with a location close enough to sample all the restaurants in Thira in just a few minutes walk. Hotel was extremely well appointed with spa and gym. Breakfasts were awesome. The staff were amazing - always smiling and helpful.

Rooms well appointed with quiet air-con and good bathrooms. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean. We looked at the "other" hotels we had considered and many of the cliff facing rooms were dark and stuffy with hotel pools that were really were just splash pools.

Location ideal for exploring the island by car as not in the town centre which gets very congested.

The only choice for us when we go back to Santorini.

Murray and Linda

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and look out over the pool, area. The suites have private pools/Jacuzzi'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Astro Palace is a beautiful, spacious and new hotel but it's not located on the spectacular cliffs of Fira as I'd expected. Clearly I didn't do enough homework when it was booked, but after I got over the disappointment of the location I enjoyed it. The pool is stunning and very quiet. The daily breakfast buffet was nice. And the staff very friendly and helpful. Upon arriving I got a tour of the property and they were eager to help me find places to eat with sunset views. As long as you manage expectations, it is a nice place. And it looks a lot bigger and newer than some of the hotels overlooking the cliffs. So just balance what you're looking for...

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank AnnaO99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in May 2014. The hotel is very well situated a short walk from the centre of Fira. Of course, it isn't in the caldera and wouldn't be for the price you are paying - however a 10 minute walk wasn't an issue for us. The hotel does not, in any of its literature, purport to be in the Caldera. The views from the pool are as they appear - quite beautiful. The staff were extremely courteous and hospitable, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were lovely; contemporary, light and spacious. I'm not sure what all the fuss is about the 5 star rating. Hotel rating is a numbers game and a tick box exercise based on the facilities available. The standard of service here, and the cleanliness of the rooms and public areas was excellent as was the standard of housekeeping. This hotel is simply great value for money. My only criticism is that breakfast was disappointing. There was little to no fresh fruit and the selection of hot food was a little odd for my personal taste.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with an adjoining door due to noise factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Food_4_thought49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel is in a good location just behind the city centre and would be a 10 minute walk. We booked the honeymoon suite and got a normal suite which was very disappointing, our room also included wine and fruit on arrival, we didn't get this... From a 5 star hotel I would not expect to pay extra for pick up and transfers nor would I expect to pay for the sauna and hot tub. The gym equipment was crap and some broken. The pool area was nice and the view from the pool great. Television in suites are tiny. Lovely big beds and bath. They include a turn down service but when our room only gets cleaned at 7pm that isn't a turn down service that just cleaning.. We were also left with no towels after our room was cleaned and had to chase up towels hours later to shower.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sezaluke90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The main thing i'm disappointed in is that its not on the cliff side, which is completely my fault for not researching (just going but word of mouth). I would have like to stay on that side and taken in the santorini experience of being there. Also, you have a good 10 min UPHILL walk (past the dozens of tour buses and their gross fumes) to get to the cliff side where all restaurants and shops are. I dont mind the exercise but when i want to wear something other than runners, say a nice pair of sandals for dinner, it's impossible to be comfortable but also embarrassing almost to call a cab for the 5 min ride. Our room, the pool area, and everything was nice and clean and room service does an excellent job. She was super nice and came in twice a day to clean. The tv is the smallest i've seen in a hotel room and very limited channels (we are not in the room a lot but at night, when you want to unwind and fall asleep, you pretty much can watch bbc or can repeating their news). Breakfast was pretty good, if you keep to the simple boiled egg/fresh breads/yogurt, etc. Their selection was different every day but unfortunately anything they made was weird (chicken in overcooked scrambled eggs? gross). But the service was excellent. Also, they need more than one person at the front desk...anytime we wanted to ask a question (say a good restaurant) there were people waiting to check in or out and people who have questions as well...it was to a point where we would give up and just ask someone in town. By the way, our favourite restaurants were Nauossa (went there twice!) and Ellis. Other ones were so so or not good (ex. Niki was BAD).

Room Tip: we bought the upgraded room with the private pool for an extra $300. not sure it was worth it...bare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fira
1.5 mi away
Lilium Villas Santorini
1.7 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
3.8 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#3 of 81 in Fira
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
1.5 mi away
Volcano View Hotel Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astro Palace Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astro Palace Hotel and Suites

Address: Eikostis Pemptis Martiou, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#17 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range: £153 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Astro Palace Hotel and Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites with private pool is a new hotel built in 2010 located in Fira town. All rooms have sea view and half of the rooms have also a private pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astro Palace Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astro Palace Hotel Fira
Astro Palace Hotel And Suites Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing