We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Summer Time Pension
Ranked #16 of 52 Fira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I loved everything about this hotel. The staff are wonderful - Christina, who works there, was there to greet us every afternoon and give advice on whatever we needed. The location is perfect. Just 5 minutes from the caldera, bus stop and main streets. The views are spectacular from the rooms and the roof considering it is not on the sea. And the rooftop pool is a great bonus. I stayed in 2 different rooms, they were both spacious and comfortable with great views - the back room had a view of the sea and a blue domed church and the front room also had a view of the sea. The price is excellent and I highly recommend Summertime Pension. I can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

We went to Santorini around the start of April and stayed there for 4 nights.

Tip 1: This is a family business ran by a very capable lady with a family to raise and a business to look after. We admired her hosting, service and friendliness and hope every hotel guests would feel the same after they stay in this hotel. The hotel owner, E (her name is too long so let's call her E), prides herself with good service and wants the best for her guests. When we were catching a plane out to Santorini from Athens, E rang us and asked when are we arriving because she would like to pick us up. We told her the time and she came with her own personal car. Don't expect a pick-up van because this is Santorini, everyone owns a small-medium family business. So yes, email her beforehand if you like to have airport pick-up, completely free of charge.

Tip 2: The best thing about this hotel? The lady owner lets you choose the room you want before checking-in. She will take you upstairs and downstairs so that you can have a look at the rooms. This is the best tip, choose the room upstairs and room number 6 because the balcony allows you to catch the sunrise! We didn't realise the view until we woke up one early morning and saw it, it was amazing. Look at my pictures attached.

Tip 3: The room does get very cold at night especially during change of season between spring/summer. Try to warm up the room with the air-con and then you will be fine during the night.

Tip 4: The hotel is literally 2-3 minutes walk away from Fira city center, you won't really feel the crowd coming in and out of the hotel because it is a few streets away from the city centre.

Tip 5: In the morning, E will be around in the hotel doing cleaning and preparing hotel guests' check-in, so it does get a little bit noisy (at minimal level) like a mini Greek movie. You get to see the hustle and bustle like you have never seen in your life before. We didn't mind the sound at all because as a traveller, you should be experiencing culture like that.

Tip 6: They cleaned the room everyday while we were there, so i guessed if you want some privacy, let the hotel owner know. Do not worry, the hotel room is very clean and brandly renovated recently.

Tip 7: Bed is super comfy and we have no complaints. I cannot think of any bad things to say about this hotel. During the summer, it might get very hot in Santorini so make sure you go at the right time.

Tip 8: If you like E to send you to the airport, you should let her know asap because she does get a little busy at times.

Tip 9: IMHO Location-wise? very good. Sleeping-quality? very good. Customer-service? Best.

Tip 10: you don't need to catch a bus to get around in Santorini because it is so much easier to hire a cheap small car for 44 euros/per day. One of the good car rentals is D'Amigos which the shop owner also knows E (summer time pension's owner). They both share the same family name but they are not related.

See my reviews on restaurants to recommend when you are traveling in Santorini

If you think my reviews have been helpful, please click "yes

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank TravelQueenie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I did not go to Santorini to stay in the hotel or even in bed. So, Summertime Pension was good for us. The price is cheaper than many others hotels in the island, but we did not have breakfast or a caldera view (in the rooftop, you can see Kamari beach). It is very importat to say that Santorini is tiny and we can go to Thira center by walk and take a taxi easily. The failure point was our noisy bed. The Summertime has a pool, but we did not used it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HumbertoLeiteBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed in Summer Time Pension for five nights while I was in Santorini, and I could not be happier with my choice. First of all, the location could not be better. It is extremely centrally located, being only a 3-5 minute walk from the town center and bus station. Keep in mind how important this is when you're staying out at the clubs until 5 a.m. The rooms were adorable and spacious with their bright colors, comfortable beds, and outdoor space. We easily fit three girls with large suitcases (which tend to explode anywhere we go) in a triple room and did not feel crowded. Plus, the wi-fi worked perfectly the entirety of our stay. For the space and location, the price cannot be beat.
Most importantly, the people were absolutely lovely and helpful. Christina, who is there from 4 - 9 p.m., is just wonderful. When we arrived she sat down with us and a map of the island and circled all of the beaches and sites we should visit and gave us a full list of her personal restaurant recommendations. She could not have possibly been more helpful.
My only advice is to skip the breakfast, simply because you can get inexpensive coffee and pastries pretty much anywhere. With the price, the location, and the service you really cannot get a better value. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank faracest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel is centrally located in Fira, 5 minutes walking distance from the caldera. The hotel is not facing the caldera, but it is so close that one should not mind.

The room was spacious and the bathroom was modern and relatively spacious (recently renovated I suspect). The room was cleaned every day and the owner of these rooms was very helpful with information for nice beached and restaurants! There was free wi-fi which was working perfectly. Breakfast was available at an extra change, but we preferred to walk to cafes at the calder and enjoy a norning coffee there!

Also, the hotel is very close to the central bus station and off the main road of fira, so it is relatively easy to go to the other villages of the island. If you have a car, you can park for free near the hotel (no designated parking area for the hotel, but there are spaces to park your car in the street or free parking lots).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed at Summer Time Pension to relax and getting aound visiting the whole Santorini island.
The position is perfect to see everything in Fira and it is very close to the bus station as well, so you can easily reach all the other villages.
But, above all, the welcome I received by the owner of the Pension was simply marvellous; she took me from the airport to the Pension and back again, at the end of holiday, from the Pension to the airport. She is really very nice and helpful for every aspect of your stay.
The room I had was very large and confortable and kept perfectly clean.
Last, but not least, the price was very reasonable, probably for the low period.
Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giuseppe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Second year back to this hotel, staff are so helpful, rooms are big and very clean. For the price you pay I was do impressed. Roof top area is adorable and the location is perfect. You have everything you need near the hotel and it is close to all the public transport. Would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mandimaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
Costa Marina Villas
Costa Marina Villas
#5 of 81 in Fira
537 reviews
0 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.3 mi away
Galatia Villas
Galatia Villas
#45 of 81 in Fira
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kavalari
Hotel Kavalari
#40 of 81 in Fira
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solaris
Solaris
#66 of 81 in Fira
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Giorgio Villa
San Giorgio Villa
#5 of 52 in Fira
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Time Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Time Pension

Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Fira
Price Range: £39 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer Time Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summer Time Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Time Pension Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing