We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
74
60
13
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
60
13
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus minute walk from the main square clean bathroom shops restaurants central location our night stay wi fi santorini island downtown fira easy access walking distance private balcony stayed for nights recommend this hotel good size jacuzzi receptionist
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We went to Santorini around the start of April and stayed there for 4 nights.

Tip 1: This is a family business ran by a very capable lady with a family to raise and a business to look after. We admired her hosting, service and friendliness and hope every hotel guests would feel the same after they stay in this hotel. The hotel owner, E (her name is too long so let's call her E), prides herself with good service and wants the best for her guests. When we were catching a plane out to Santorini from Athens, E rang us and asked when are we arriving because she would like to pick us up. We told her the time and she came with her own personal car. Don't expect a pick-up van because this is Santorini, everyone owns a small-medium family business. So yes, email her beforehand if you like to have airport pick-up, completely free of charge.

Tip 2: The best thing about this hotel? The lady owner lets you choose the room you want before checking-in. She will take you upstairs and downstairs so that you can have a look at the rooms. This is the best tip, choose the room upstairs and room number 6 because the balcony allows you to catch the sunrise! We didn't realise the view until we woke up one early morning and saw it, it was amazing. Look at my pictures attached.

Tip 3: The room does get very cold at night especially during change of season between spring/summer. Try to warm up the room with the air-con and then you will be fine during the night.

Tip 4: The hotel is literally 2-3 minutes walk away from Fira city center, you won't really feel the crowd coming in and out of the hotel because it is a few streets away from the city centre.

Tip 5: In the morning, E will be around in the hotel doing cleaning and preparing hotel guests' check-in, so it does get a little bit noisy (at minimal level) like a mini Greek movie. You get to see the hustle and bustle like you have never seen in your life before. We didn't mind the sound at all because as a traveller, you should be experiencing culture like that.

Tip 6: They cleaned the room everyday while we were there, so i guessed if you want some privacy, let the hotel owner know. Do not worry, the hotel room is very clean and brandly renovated recently.

Tip 7: Bed is super comfy and we have no complaints. I cannot think of any bad things to say about this hotel. During the summer, it might get very hot in Santorini so make sure you go at the right time.

Tip 8: If you like E to send you to the airport, you should let her know asap because she does get a little busy at times.

Tip 9: IMHO Location-wise? very good. Sleeping-quality? very good. Customer-service? Best.

Tip 10: you don't need to catch a bus to get around in Santorini because it is so much easier to hire a cheap small car for 44 euros/per day. One of the good car rentals is D'Amigos which the shop owner also knows E (summer time pension's owner). They both share the same family name but they are not related.

See my reviews on restaurants to recommend when you are traveling in Santorini

If you think my reviews have been helpful, please click "yes

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank TravelQueenie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I did not go to Santorini to stay in the hotel or even in bed. So, Summertime Pension was good for us. The price is cheaper than many others hotels in the island, but we did not have breakfast or a caldera view (in the rooftop, you can see Kamari beach). It is very importat to say that Santorini is tiny and we can go to Thira center by walk and take a taxi easily. The failure point was our noisy bed. The Summertime has a pool, but we did not used it.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HumbertoLeiteBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed in Summer Time Pension for five nights while I was in Santorini, and I could not be happier with my choice. First of all, the location could not be better. It is extremely centrally located, being only a 3-5 minute walk from the town center and bus station. Keep in mind how important this is when you're staying out at the clubs until 5 a.m. The rooms were adorable and spacious with their bright colors, comfortable beds, and outdoor space. We easily fit three girls with large suitcases (which tend to explode anywhere we go) in a triple room and did not feel crowded. Plus, the wi-fi worked perfectly the entirety of our stay. For the space and location, the price cannot be beat.
Most importantly, the people were absolutely lovely and helpful. Christina, who is there from 4 - 9 p.m., is just wonderful. When we arrived she sat down with us and a map of the island and circled all of the beaches and sites we should visit and gave us a full list of her personal restaurant recommendations. She could not have possibly been more helpful.
My only advice is to skip the breakfast, simply because you can get inexpensive coffee and pastries pretty much anywhere. With the price, the location, and the service you really cannot get a better value. Enjoy!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank faracest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel is centrally located in Fira, 5 minutes walking distance from the caldera. The hotel is not facing the caldera, but it is so close that one should not mind.

The room was spacious and the bathroom was modern and relatively spacious (recently renovated I suspect). The room was cleaned every day and the owner of these rooms was very helpful with information for nice beached and restaurants! There was free wi-fi which was working perfectly. Breakfast was available at an extra change, but we preferred to walk to cafes at the calder and enjoy a norning coffee there!

Also, the hotel is very close to the central bus station and off the main road of fira, so it is relatively easy to go to the other villages of the island. If you have a car, you can park for free near the hotel (no designated parking area for the hotel, but there are spaces to park your car in the street or free parking lots).

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed at Summer Time Pension to relax and getting aound visiting the whole Santorini island.
The position is perfect to see everything in Fira and it is very close to the bus station as well, so you can easily reach all the other villages.
But, above all, the welcome I received by the owner of the Pension was simply marvellous; she took me from the airport to the Pension and back again, at the end of holiday, from the Pension to the airport. She is really very nice and helpful for every aspect of your stay.
The room I had was very large and confortable and kept perfectly clean.
Last, but not least, the price was very reasonable, probably for the low period.
Definitely recommended!

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giuseppe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews