We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caldera Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caldera Studios
Ranked #22 of 49 Fira B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Caldera Studios and cannot recommend it enough. It was fabulous! Koula, the lady in charge of the running of Caldera Studios was so helpful as were everyone who worked there. Our room overlooked the Caldera and the view was breathaking. The room was kept spotless. The hot tub was lovely for cooling off. The location is perfect with lots of restaurants and bars nearby. Already planning to go back next year. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronno27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Yes the view. Stunning. All day every day. Yes the location, really nice, central and still peaceful and quiet. There are so many places along this stretch of the town but nothing will ever beat our welcome and stay. Koula, the proprietor, made this stay for us. I don't think any hotel could match her hospitality, friendliness and warmth. We were made to feel welcome, nothing was too much trouble and we were genuinely sad to leave. I had reservations about leaving a review because I didn't want this place to be unavilable when I want to go back, which is soon but she deserves the praise and once you visit you will feel the same.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPatmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Breathtaking Views !!!!!!! This hotel is excellent value for money.
It offers good accommodation (small bathroom) with amazing views at a very reasonable price.
If you check out the nearby properties and their prices you will know what I mean.
Steps are unavoidable in Santorini. It is in Fira town, almost 90 steps from the main Gold Street.
Dont worry, porter is provided to carry your luggage along with free pickup/drop to the port.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazingtravelstories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

My sister and I recently had 4 nights at Caldera Studios and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Koula explained all the best places to eat and to visit and Cristo(?) who carried our bags up and down those steps without even getting puffed! Wow, he is fit!
The room we had was very clean and comfortable and we had our own very large balcony to sit and admire the view, which we never tired of. Our breakfast was delivered each morning to our balcony which made us feel very special. Apart from the steps, which are a part of life on Santorini, we were very handy to everything. If I am ever lucky enough to return to Santorini, I will certainly stay here again

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to have a spectacular view of the Caldera
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

As a family travelling together we booked a double and a triple room at Caldera Studios and were absolutely thrilled with our choice. Koula the owner welcomed us warmly offering us complimentary orange juice and invaluable advice about the island re sightseeing, restaurants etc. The hotel is situated right on the caldera, about a 5 minute walk down a number of stairs from Firas Main Road, and it is just below the Cathedral, very well positioned. and a very short walk to the bus station for busses to the beach. Oia etc. The rooms were adequately furnished, the beds comfortable ( except the single bed in the triple room which didnt have a good mattress) all had good linen and the bathrooms were adequate with showers and shower curtains. Both rooms had fridges, bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities. The patios of each room were simply fantastic.....the triple room patio was enormous with 2 sunloungers, a couch and a table with 4 chairs....absolutely amazing to enjoy the breathtaking views and sunsets from( the best weve ever ever seen ). No breakfast is served so we bought yoghurt, juice etc at the supermarket and enjoyed that on the patio. Easy. Any problem or query we had was immediately sorted out by Koula, much appreciated and a free transfer from and back to the port was offered plus 2 very kind staff ( Alexi being one )carried all our baggage down to the hotel on arrival and back up to the road on departure, a good 5 minute climb. We absolutely loved our stay at Caldera Studios and long to go back. Thank you Koula!

Room Tip: The triple room has the most amazing patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

This hotel was fabulous. For the money that you pay, which is fairly cheap considering all the other options, you can't get any better. the view is amazing and the room was perfect. The lady who runs the place was one of the nicest people I have ever met. A friend and I stayed there for 4 days and she helped in any way possible. We were there during the government shut down and got stuck in Santorini an extra day. She arranged everything for us, called and canceled our Athens hotel and provided another place for us to stay. On top of all of this my friend had food poising that day and the lady again took care of her. I will forever recommend this place. Amazing. I can't stress how great of an option this is. Ps the stairs are not as bad as some other reviews have said. It's Greece and you are on a cliff...stairs are expected :)

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrill50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Caldera Studio simply completes my memorable vacation. My triple room villa is very clean, spacious, well decorated with large balcony. Its quiet and beautiful surrounding. The view is magnificent, overlooking the wide sea with amazing sunrise. The location is close to the city; with plenty of steps but that's the way it is in the island. Bus station to Oia is about 7 minutes walk.

The host, Koula, is very attentive, informative and helpful. She voluntarily assits us to rearrange our travel plan with travel agency when our flight was cancelled due to general strike in Greece. She also help arrange transport from/to the port. Its just a smooth and hassle free vacation and we love it.

I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hamadako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fira
0.3 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.2 mi away
Iriana Rooms and Apartments
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kavalari
Hotel Kavalari
#27 of 82 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#42 of 82 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Keti
Hotel Keti
#17 of 82 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldera Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldera Studios

Property: Caldera Studios
Address: on the Caldera side, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Fira
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Caldera Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caldera Studios Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing