We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scirocco Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scirocco Apartments
Ranked #24 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
ajijic
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spectacular view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Scirocco is a small family hotel located on the rim of the caldera. Staff were more than helpful. Room was very clean & fresh towels as needed without asking. Nice and bright - we do not care for the lack of windows in cave rooms. We found our mattress to be firm but comfortable. Better than at some of the other hotels we have stayed at. The view is magnificent. We had a small private balcony - with perfect sunset views. The price was very affordable especially when compared to other hotels in the area. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We found room 3 to be perfect for us. Small room but with private balcony, highest floor so not man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lee k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    84
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
49
145
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in a cave room at the Scirocco apartments. The service was beautiful. We were in communication with the hotel before we arrived and they made sure we easily found the apartments, which are quite a long way down the caldera. The view from our own balcony was unrestricted and unbelievable! We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Positives:
- Unique experience sleeping over the caldera
- Cute little simple apartment during our four night stay.
- Nice balcony, great view

Negatives:
- Uncomfortable beds. Although I heard this type of bed is common in Santorini, I still felt the bed was worn out and mattress needs changing
- Flat uncomfortable pillows
- Threadbare, crunchy towels
- Floors always got wet from shower
- Musty smell
- Bed sheets never changed during our four night stay
- Some strange woman passing thru our balcony and using our window as a mirror to fix her hair, while I was standing behind the curtain watching her...
- Informing us that they overbooked our room and that the next occupants are waiting for us to vacate the room. We booked our hotel back in September 2013 (eight months in advance).
- Pounding on our door to clean our room while we were sleeping.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvTravel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days with a 1.5 yrs kid.. (not an easy job with the stairs). The apartments are quite a few stairs down but that gives you a nice view of the houses on both your left and right, as well as some sea view, depending on which apartment you stay in. We chose 1 - the less stairs the better... but we weren't disappointed! Someone said nr.8 gives the most privacy but i dont see why you'd want to sacrifice the wonderful city view for added privacy (unless you're into something really shady, ofcourse)
The rooms are quite cool despite it being burning hot outside. Unfortunately this instant hot-instant cold thing gave the kid a fever by day 2.
The staff were quite nice, and helped us with some of the things we needed for the kid.
IMO, its hella cheap and ~quite nice if you're young and travelling with friends, but with a kid and carrying a buggy, well, get ready for some exercise!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sakib R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö,Sweden
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

A long overdue review. Whenever my friends ask me where should we go? I ask them where. If they say Greece I tell them Santorini.

I have been to some other greek islands during my life time but Santorini is the top # 1 right now. Why? We have stayed at Scirocco 2 times now, both times we tried different rooms or apartment.

We asked for the lower levels by the pool and did they come through? YES.

The breakfast is simple, if you desire something else or are just as lazy as we were you can always buy your own in the nearby supermarket.

There are many steps to climb for sure, but some free exercise is never wrong considering you will have a entire week to try out Firas outstanding restaurants.

Book your room here, the sooner the better. I guess I would say I could take any room since all of them offers amazing view. Some days we just sat there with our snacks and wine and just looked out over the water.

We are looking forward for our next visit, for there will be atleast a couple of more visits to the lovely Island of Santorini.

Did I also mentioned they offer free pickup and drop off at the airport? Well they do.

BOOK NOW:.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kallander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Moriches, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I cannot say enough amazing things about Scirocoo. We absolutely loved our stay here while in Santorini. We did not arrange to be picked up at the airport, but I would definitely recommend doing so. There are many stairs to get down to Scirocco and if you do not know where you are going, it could be difficult to find. Our taxi driver dropped us off at the bottom of the hill and after struggling to get our luggage up, we asked someone for directions and they ended up calling our hotel for us. A very handsome man from Scirocco came to help us and carried all of our luggage down the many, many steps to our room. He also helped us when we were leaving and carried all of our bags up. When we arrived at the hotel, Christina was very helpful and showed us points of interest on a map of Fira. The room was small, but comfortable and clean and it had 3 beds. The hotel has breathtaking views of the volcano and sunsets from the balconies. There is also a pool at the hotel which has the same amazing views. The hotel is not far from the bus stop, which is very convenient if that is how you plan on exploring Santorini. The one negative is that there is no Wifi in the rooms, only on the balcony. Our whole experience at Scirocco was picturesque. I would without a doubt stay here again when I travel in Santorini, which I will do one day!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great value for money considering the surrounding hotels were a decent amount more. It's not luxurious and new, but it's nice and has a Greek inspired theme in it. Our room, for two, one queen bed, bathroom, was very spacious and clean. Had a problem with a showerhead but that's about it. Had a sofa, mirror, mini fridge, small table and chairs and closest space. Obviously had a balcony with an amazing view. I'm 23, and not in bad shape, but the steps were annoying. I fell not too far there, some steps were painted and a bit slippery. There are going to be steps anywhere you stay, but just keep that in mind if you plan to pack heavy or can't walk properly/far. That being said, there was a nice gentlemen who should assist with this if needed. They picked us up from a meeting point. It's a family run business, the staff are just beautiful. Very helpful, gave us some local advice for restaurants. The pool isn't that great, not as big as it looks but does the job.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rnair47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kavalari
Hotel Kavalari
#31 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Keti
Hotel Keti
#16 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iriana Rooms and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cori Rigas Suites
Cori Rigas Suites
#37 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santorini Reflexions Volcano
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#43 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scirocco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scirocco Apartments

Property: Scirocco Apartments
Address: Fira, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Fira
#21 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Hotel Class:3 star — Scirocco Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Scirocco Apartments Fira
Scirocco Apartments Hotel Fira
Scirocco Apartments Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing