We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Renos
Nearby Hotels
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kavalari(Fira)(Great Value!)
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$720
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$701
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athina Luxury Suites(Fira)
US$873
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$826
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$359
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$300
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aroma Suites(Fira)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Leta(Fira)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Greco(Fira)(Great Value!)
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$971
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveller rating
779
53
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
779
53
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsown gardenevery morningpanna cottagrand suitewonderful hostsprivate jacuzziour honeymoonfew stepsfreshly squeezed orange juiceperfect locationspectacular viewsthe cliffgreek breakfastlarge balconya family run hotelwatched the sunsetcomfortable rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
723 - 728 of 839 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2007

This is a very nice place, with helpful, friendly people, a real home away from home. Santorini is touristy, not cheap, but the view is tremendous. I've been taking tons of pictures, with so much to see. The rooms overlook the volcano, the old port, other towns on this island and the other island, Thirassia, with lots and lots of water. When the ships arrive, Santorini is loaded with tourists, even at the end of the season.

The room is excellent, modern and convenient. The pictures on [--] are a good representation of them, spacious - even roomy. The balcony was the feature fo us. Wireless access included and reasonable prices in the minibar were nice surprises.

We took the boat trip from 10:30 am to 4:30 pm. First it goes down the coast to the main port, (rather than the old port, which is just down the hill a couple of hundred meters vertically from here). The geological strata was the highlight. The second part was over to the active part of the volcano - not active now, but there are fumarole vents and the smell of sulphur. The island did not exist 500 years ago, and there is a nice brochure, in addition to the guide. The last big eruption was in 1950. After that, the boat went over to a hot spring, swim over from the boat. From there, we went over to Thirassia, the other island to have lunch and walk around a bit, with more interesting rocks and strata. Then back to the town of Oia, with very picturesque ports and town, and finally returning here.

The water is not drinkable here - too hard, and conditioning leaves it tasting salty, so buy the water. The Greek salads are great, if you like tomatoes, cucumbers, olives and onions (I omit the onions). The temperatures are very comfortable and not humid. The light jacket has been all I need. Plan to sleep late, eat late, and walk as much as you want. Stair climbing is the conditioning to prepare, as there are many ups and downs. Breakfast here is 8 am to 11 am, with lots of variety and very good.

We've had dinner three times at Dionyssos. The staff is friendly, with a broad set of choices, and the bills are very reasonable. The portions are huge, so we shared.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RaspberryBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

We were a family group of four adults and the first thing that sprang to mind the moment we arrived at the Villa Renos and stepped out of our hotel room onto our balcony was, "this is surely heaven on earth!". The view over the blue Aegean from that hotel balcony was utterly breathtaking and I felt as if I'd surely 'gone to heaven'. Before we booked through our travel agent, we had read such positive reviews of the Villa Renos on tripadvisor that we decided that was where we also wanted to spend our four nights in Santorini, as part of our Greek cycladic island sojourn (including Mykonos and Paros). We were not disappointed! Petros, Zina and Vasillis Mateka were the most wonderful hosts of this beautiful family-run hotel. They made us feel so welcomed and part of their family, so much so that we already miss them very much now that we have returned home.
My husband and I stayed in Room 4 and my brother and sister-in-law stayed right next door to us in Room 5 so we shared the large balcony which included a spa pool for our own use. The other 3 rooms on the other upper level above us had their own hot-tubs each and there was a private little honeymoon suite on the level beneath us which again had their own private spa pool. What a treat for us all! We would come back to Villa Renos after a hot day out sightseeing or shopping and retreat to our little havens and there we would stay until the spectacular sunset ended another glorious day. As for the start of each day for us, the delicious home-cooked breakfasts that awaited us each morning on the hotel's dining/breakfast room balcony was a gourmet's joy to behold (I am an avid cook). Delicious home-made Greek yoghurt topped with crushed pistachio nuts, fresh orange juice from oranges locally grown, fresh fruit and the most delicious spinach and cheese phyllo pastry rolls or Santorini-style tomato meatball fritters, delicious cold cut meats and beautiful cheeses
accompanied by hot toast. To die for! We loved this hotel so much we are in fact planning to return there same time next year in 2008. Would recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone who would like to experience the warmth and hospitality of a beautiful family and a vista so divine that you would think you had in fact gone to heaven.....

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Joollz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

We booked Villa Renos after reading other reviews on Tripadvisor and it was everything we had hoped for. We will certainly return. its location is perfect in Fira close to everything. The hotel is small with only 8 rooms,our room 7 had its own beautiful mosaic outdoor jacuzzi and the views from the private balcony were breathtaking. It also had a very comfortable bed and indoor jacuzzi bath in the marble bathroom. For friends it would be an ideal place as it has 3 rooms next to each other on its own large terrace with a large outdoor jacuzzi We also loved the breakfast with homemade delights everyday.Vassili and his family could not do enough for their guests. Their advice regarding restaurants etc was also excellent.We will post photos asap. we would also highly recommend Ambrosia restaurant in Oia for a truly special meal. Grainne and Paul Dublin

Stayed: September 2007
Thank trickydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

This is just a great place. We stayed here for 2 days on our honeymoon. In retrospect, I would have like to stay for a few more days. The room was well-decorated, clean, and spacious. It has some of the best views in Santorini. You can spend the entire day on the patio. The staff are friendly too. They gave us good advice on restaurants and things to do.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exp-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

In August 2007, as part of our European honeymoon, we spent five fabulous nights at the stunning Villa Renos. We were immediately impressed with the charming personality and valuable advise of Vassilis Matekas as we contacted him directly to make our reservation. It was the relationship that we developed with him over the phone that confirmed we had a special place to stay in Santorini.

Our room was comfortable and very spacious. There is no need to watch the famous sunsets from any other place on the island than your very own private terrace. The panoramic views are simply breathtaking. Villa Renos is centrally located with fine restaurants and excellent shopping nearby.

This boutique hotel is run by a very welcoming and friendly family, Petros, Zina and Vassilis. They provide professional service with a personal touch. No request is overlooked and you are always greeted with a genuine smile.

The home cooked breakfasts prepared by Zina were exceptionally fresh. Traditional Greek style delicacies were served with the produce locally grown on their farm. Breakfasts were a real treat to look forward to every morning, not only for the quality gourmet food but for the outstanding service and for the lovely conversations. We especially enjoyed dining on the balcony facing the scenic outlook. It was such a perfect start to our day. We asked Petros if he grew prickly pears, the fruit from the cactus plant, and he certainly did. From that point, we were served freshly peeled prickly pears, which we loved. We missed out eating them in Italy as the season had not started but we made up for it in Santorini.

After travelling through Europe for five weeks, Villa Renos provided us with a relaxing opportunity to enjoy Santorini. Thank you so much for making our stay with you so perfect, we have unforgettable memories. We would certainly recommend Villa Renos to everyone visiting Santorini. This is a desirable destination and we will certainly continue to stay at Villa Renos. We love it.

See you soon, many thanks, Angela and Ezzy – Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Adventurer_Aug-07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews