We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic customer Service”
Review of El Greco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Greco
Ranked #19 of 81 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Room and surrounds were great, its a pity their customer service cannot match. Their failure to simply pass on a message to us caused us a 17 hour wait for a ferry in the middle of the night without a room to wait in. Had they simply called our cell phone or slipped a note under the door we would have been able to leave the island on time.
Do not rely on them to contact you for any reason,

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
13  Thank licketylips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,179 - 1,185 of 1,805 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2011

I stayed in the El Greco hotel for 2 nights as part of a large group. My room was at the far south end of the hotel. The room reeked of chlorine, and it did not have any operating windows. So I aired it out as best I could by leaving the door open while I was in the room.

Other issues: the hot water wasn't very hot, the sink stopper didn't work, and the TV was tiny and only got a few channels. Overall the room was at the low range of Motel 6 quality.

Obviously El Greco has far nicer rooms than the one they put me in, but I'm not planning to stay there again.

Room Tip: See the room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ToutLeMonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We stayed 3 nights and they were brillant. We had a gorgeous upstairs room over looking both swimming pools. Our room was clean, modern and beautifully set out, little touches like the blue shutters were perfect. The whole hotel is very beautiful and picturesque. The wee chapel is gorgeous too. The Caldera is right across the road from the hotel as was not a issue seeing the fab sunsets Santorini is famous for. Fira is about a 5 minute walk and the supermarket is stocked with everything you will need. We hired a smart car one day and a bike the next and were cheap enough and easy enough to get around the whole island and outer beaches. Fab place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bec_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

El Greco is a large hotel by Greek standards and has been renovated to a high standard. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and it is set on three levels. Both sides of teh island can be viewed from the hotel and if you are lucky enoght you have the sun in the morning and the afternoon. The pool areas are stunning and give guests choices regarding relaxing by any one of the pools.

The room we stayed in was a double with two large sofas that could be additional beds. There was lots of space for two people but not much storage space for clothing. I appreciate that most guests are only there for a couple of nights as they're on tours but for travellers staying for a week storage is limited. Although the rooms are advertised as having self-catering facilities this is very limited and, other than a cold snack and the ability to keep drinks cold, it isn't much use.

The breakfast is buffet style and the same each day which was a little repetitive. The fruit served was all tinned and I really would expect fresh fruit to be available. This was probably the most disappointing element of our stay.

The staff were very helpful, polite and courteous at all times and dealt with any queries quickly and efficiently.

The location of the hotel was a 5 minute walk from Fira on the pavement meaning it was nice and quiet but close enough to all the amenties you would require.

If I went back to Santorini I would be more than happy to stay there again but may consider room only.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RKD419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

The hotel is clean and comfortable, some of the staff are friendly. when we arrived the were very ignorant it was as if we were disturbing them. Breakfast is a joke like being in a cattle market it was get in to line and que all the time like being back at school. The food was average but ok for breakfast, the buffet restaurant and the a la carte restaurant are one and the same just like a cafe no atmossfere The 500 metre walk to the town is very missleading they must have stretched the tape when measuring ,as for the see view yes if you cross the road outside the hotel. the bar prices very expensive £2.50 for a can of lemonade an extra £2.00 if you want them to deliver to your sun bed. they say that the small family run hotels are a lot beter this would be my choice next time as would all the other guests i spoke to on this holiday. as fore Santorini very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dellboyLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We really enjoyed our trip to Santorini and our stay at the El Greco. It is a brand new hotel with four beautiful pools. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We did encounter a couple of small problems though. First was the gym which was not available. As this was the reason we wanted to stay there, we had no idea it was not operational. They did find a gym that we could use but it did cost us 25 Euro for the use of it for three days, and you had to walk to it as well. Wasn't impressed with that. The other issue we had was the rooms are not heated and the floors are freezing cold. Just happens it was quite chilly the entire time we were there and had to have blankets on to sit in the room. There is air conditioning which I'm sure will be appreciated in July and August though.
The breakfast buffet is quite good, and once again the staff are very efficient and friendly. Overall, once the gym is up and running and the weather warms up, it would be a great place to stay in Santorini. It is a very short walk to all the shops, and restaurants which are very nice. We rented a car for two days but found that you really only need it for a day as the island is small and there isn't much too explore once you driven around it once. Gorgeous island and very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoMuchFun10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Our Travel advisor recommended we stay at the El Greco in Santorini, as she and her husband had stayed there previously, and enjoyed it.
Upon arrival, we requested an sea view, which was provided at no extra charge. The room was huge, kitchenette, kitchen table, couch, spotless and wonderful. Many windows that opened with a cross breeze and extremely private. A little balcony area with a table and chair.
There are 3 pools, and the grounds are extremely esthetically pleasing. The breakfasts were adequate, but we were eating so much elsewhere, so this was not an issue.
The walk to Fira is 10 minutes, perfect for a stroll. The bus to Oia was a 5 minute walk, and very easy.
Highly recommend to go to the restaurant Flame in the Volcano. Raymond is the owner, and he treats everyone like they are the most special people in the world. He runs it with is wife and son. The food is wonderful. Get there early, as he will not take on customers later in the evening. The sea view of the volcano is as wonderful as the service.
I hope that one day we can return to this wonderful island, and would love to stay at the El Greco again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suerob19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.9 mi away
Santorini Palace
Santorini Palace
#20 of 81 in Fira
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
1.2 mi away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#8 of 81 in Fira
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#7 of 81 in Fira
463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco

Address: Fira | Box 91, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Fira
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range: £90 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Greco 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Fira
El Greco Hotel Fira
El Greco Santorini/Fira
El Greco Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing