We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but Not great value for money”
Review of El Greco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Greco
Ranked #20 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good but Not great value for money”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The outdoor area was very good, however no view to the caldera from the hotel despite being 5 metters away, Only few rooms might have a good view. Spacious room but old TV and signes of rust in the bathroom probably due to the bad water of Santorini, chairs in the balcony old and no possibility to dry towels and swimming suits besides placing them on the chairs. Breakfast OK, however not possibility for cold coffee only filter coffee provided. Dinner, OK, no dessert, only fruits. 3-4 ;pools to choose from. Close to Fira, within a 10 minutes walk. It should cost less. Personnel is friendly and OK. Reception gave wrong info on the half board hours so we almost miss the first dinner. It is open from 7.30-9.30, quite early for Greek people.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s0fiaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    601
    173
    66
    41
See reviews for
366
758
45
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I stayed at El Greco four nights in June. The hotel is lovely. The staff is very helpful, especially Elena, Nicolas and Nikos. They helped direct me to all the wonderful places in Santorini and offered good advice on where to go and how to get there. My room was great with a caldera view. The breakfast is very good, although it does get crowded. The location of the hotel is perfect - just a short walk down the main road into the main shopping area in Fira. I was very happy to be at El Greco because it is a peaceful and lovely hotel, close to all the action in Santorini. I would definitely stay here again. Wish I could come back next month!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
163 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Our stay on Santorini was wonderful . The El Greco is located about 5 minutes from Fira and to see the island we found a car essential and so very cheap as they can be rented through the hotel. The hotel staff were so very friendly and helpful with the car being delivered to our door in 15 minutes and collected from the hotel when we had finished.
Our room was huge with lounge and balcony front and back. The bathroom a lovely size and very clean.
Breakfast was excellent served in a lovely dining room by the pool.
As Fira is in the centre of Santorini a car essential, as the township of Oia is a must with its narrow laneways and blue domes plus lots of beautiful cafes and souvenir shops. Cars can not be driven around the town at all but there is ample parking nearby for free.
All in all our stay ar this hotel was wonderful and I would certainly recommend it to anyone who visits Santorini which is such a beautiful island and so worth seeing.

Room Tip: Perhaps dont have the rooms along the main street as they would be noisy choose the internal rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimB346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Hotel was beautiful with several swimming pools on the grounds. The rooms were large and roomy compared to other hotels I stayed at in Greece and the islands. The staff was helpful, friendly. The hotel is conveniently located about 5 minutes from the center of town (FIra).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Hi, just got back from two wonderful weeks at the Hotel El Greco in Santorini, it was excellent. The staff were very accomodating and would try adhere to your needs. The bar and restaurant staff were excellent and need a mention, there names are....Aldo, Harriz, Pedros the bar staff, and lovely Nadia who worked in the restaurant, all the other staff were very helpful in there own way, but these few were the ones we got to know best, these are the people who made our holiday.They all made us laugh everyday, and knew our drink orders before we got to even sit down, fantastic, they work such long hours without sometimes a day off.. The hotel itself is very spacious and set in such a lovely way, you are not on top of other holiday makers. The rooms are very spacious and very, very clean. The sunbeds are the best ive ever layed on, some of the other hotels are plastic and uncomfortable, but these are so comfy, we actually fell asleep. The hotel is only a few miniutes walk into Fira town, which is beautiful, and if you love to people watch, is ther best place to be. The views from the restaurants overlooking the caldera are breath taking. We decided to do a tip to the volcano, which is really good, tiring, but good, the guide, called Kim was very informative. There are many trips to choose, but we just went to rest and chill out. The only thing i would say is a must do, is the donkey ride from the port below, we have never laughed so much in our lives. We are thinking of going back next year, to this same hotel, but doing a twin island tour.....counting the days already. PS take comfy shoes, you will need them for Fira Town, its very cobbly and heels are not an option, it can get a bit windy at nights, so take a wrap and DONT forget your camera, you will need extra memory cards, there is a different view round every corner..... :)

Room Tip: we aksed for a quite room, which was situated off the main road, it did have a seaview of the others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardsons7253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

By reading reports on TA it becomes apparent that the rooms vary in standard and location.
I guess we were lucky because we had a fabulous room in a wonderful position. It was kept immaculately clean and the bed was the comfiest I have ever slept on.
How people can complain about the breakfast I do not know. There is every thing you could possibly want including good English brekky every day.
The hotel is extremely busy with a high turnover of guests of all nationalities.
Reception staff very friendly and helpful. My husband broke a tooth and with the help of the excellent Thomsons rep and Elena ( reception ) a same day appointment was promptly made.
We had one week of good weather from 8th May but the second week was cooler and very windy and was a bit of a disappointment.
We visited Perissa and was extremely pleased that we did not book a holiday here, even though it had a beach and Thira does not it wouldn't have been a beach that I would want to go on. very tacky resort.
Kamari was abit better witha few nice tavernas along the beach all vying to get your business . Have a snack or drink and you get a free sunbed on the beach. I'ts ok for an hour or two but would still not want to stay there - go for Thira anytime.
We did actually fall in love with El Greco and the wonderful island of Santorini.
We did not fall in love with Santorini airport which was an absolute nightmare on the way home. I think we queued for 2 hrs in 5 different places, not even time for a drink and then they rushed us through at the last minute as the plane was due to take off. Total dis-organisation. I won't let it put me off returning though, all in we had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImogenCornwall_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed here twice now,its a good base for fira,very clean,etc,etc,,only negative is breakfast time,same food everyday,no creativity with it&can be quite busy aswell(tip get there for 8am)&beat the mad rush which happens around 9am..but overall a nice pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twobobski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.4 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Santorini Palace
Santorini Palace
#17 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#15 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.8 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.4 mi away
Tzekos Villas
Tzekos Villas
#18 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco

Property: El Greco
Address: Fira | Box 91, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#21 Family Hotel in Fira
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Greco 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Fira
El Greco Hotel Fira
El Greco Santorini/Fira
El Greco Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing