We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Greco Brilliant”
Review of El Greco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Greco
Ranked #20 of 81 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights at El Greco hotel. It was brilliant. Loved the swimming and they upgraded us to a studio apartment at no extra cost. Just loved it and it was very close to shops and main centre of town. Even hired a car to get around. They delivered it to the hotel and collected it again. How easy was that.

Room Tip: Ask for studio room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine007-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

Comfortable rooms, very good breakfast and amazing pools. Several pools spread throughout the resort. Unfortunately we had unusually cool weather for May so could not use them (would be nice if a couple of them were hottubs). About a 10 minute walk to Santorini. Not a problem for most people but keep this in mind if travelling with children or elderly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel Junes 19/23 2-12, hotel is beautiful, 3 large pools, lots of chairs different levels, and a bar in this area. Breakfast was good, served 8 - 10 every day, food is always full and fresh.. Rooms are very nice and large, quiet and cool. Excellent location, 7 minute walk to the start of Fira town, beautiful sunsets from across the road.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dino12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

For one of the largest hotels in Santorini it was a very good venue for our family wedding gathering. It's not large by other mediteranean resort standards, about 90+ rooms, but because it's spread out over a large area, on 3 levels with 4 pools and a choice of room types, it does not feel like a big resort at all. Service and food can be very subjective, but I have to say, from our perspective, the food was of a good standard and the service from the staff was excellent. All very friendly, well presently and helpful. My only advice to people is to try and select or request a newly renovated room, but all rooms are of a good size, roomy, and well presented with aircon. Bath is slightly on the smaller size, but it is a full bath and shower when requested. Buffet breakfast, very filling and good selection of foods for most tastes.
I have seen and heard comments that it lacks character, which is true to a degree, but I put this down to being a larger hotel on the Island and most hotels follow a similar theme in terms of presentation, very Greek, very white. So a larger property does not carry the same character as a smaller boutique type of hotel. El Greco in a great position, just 5 mins walk in to the centre of Fira (Thira) which has a great selection of restaurants and shops. Great fun at night! Caldera view from Fira is spectacular and sunsets to dream of! Rooms also have fridges which can be used for your own drinks etc from supermarket 3 mins away. It's ticks the boxes to ensure you are comfortable, in a convenient location, excellent service, good food and can enjoy the surrounding area with ease.

Room Tip: Request newly renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tony2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The hotel is nicely situated along the main road fronting the cliffside overlooking the sea, where it is possible to enjoy the sunset without mixing with the crowd at Oia. It is also about 10 minutes walk from activities in the capital town of Fira. This is helpful as parking in the town is difficult. Rooms show some signs of aging as evident from the way the doors and windows work. Nevertheless, it is clean and comfortable enough to keep us there for 3 nights. Besides breakfast, there is simple fare at the poolside for lunch and dinner if one is too tired to venture out.

As many tourists come and go from this hotel daily, getting good service would probably need serious interest in the geography of the island as well as some of its culture and history, as the staff could be really too busy to entertain those who just touch-and-go. We had good help from Mr Nikos, the front desk guy who recommended all the nooks and crannies in Santorini that we could explore on wheels.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Beautiful hotel. Very helpful staff. Clean and spacious rooms. 5 mins walk from fira town centre. Lovely pool area, quiet hotel. Buffet breakfast included was pretty good

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenBrown234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The outdoor area was very good, however no view to the caldera from the hotel despite being 5 metters away, Only few rooms might have a good view. Spacious room but old TV and signes of rust in the bathroom probably due to the bad water of Santorini, chairs in the balcony old and no possibility to dry towels and swimming suits besides placing them on the chairs. Breakfast OK, however not possibility for cold coffee only filter coffee provided. Dinner, OK, no dessert, only fruits. 3-4 ;pools to choose from. Close to Fira, within a 10 minutes walk. It should cost less. Personnel is friendly and OK. Reception gave wrong info on the half board hours so we almost miss the first dinner. It is open from 7.30-9.30, quite early for Greek people.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s0fiaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.4 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Santorini Palace
Santorini Palace
#22 of 81 in Fira
451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lilium Villas Santorini
1.3 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 81 in Fira
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco

Address: Fira | Box 91, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Fira
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range: £93 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Greco 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Fira
El Greco Hotel Fira
El Greco Santorini/Fira
El Greco Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing