We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as quiet as last time”
Review of El Greco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Greco
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
ESSEX
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“not as quiet as last time”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

stayed at the el Greco ,Sep 2012 stayed at the bottom part of the hotel near the new restraurant. lovely and quiet .Returned Last two weeks of June 2014 ,managed to get the same room .1st week busy but quiet.2nd week WEDDING .PARTY. arrived like a plague of locust ,devouring all the sun beds from silly o clock in the morning .Ok We are all on holiday to enjoy ourselves. but a bit of peace and respect for other people would not go a miss .Will we be going back? only if we make sure there are no wedding parties. And you should to if you want peace and quiet.

Room Tip: lower part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAVID132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    630
    191
    67
    40
See reviews for
382
804
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel during the 2nd week in June for two weeks.
The hotel is well located within 10 mins walk of Fira along a picturesque walk that take in a stunning view of the coastline. The hotel reception is clean and stylish and the reception staff tried to be helpful.
Check in was relatively painless bearing in mind there was a lot of new arrivals at the same time. We were allocated room 520 which turned out to be a great room, very spacious with a modest balcony on the ground floor and had sun all day. The room was always clean and bedding and linen were refreshed daily. The room was located away from the main pool bar in a relatively quiet spot.
The resort had 5 pools, three large and two smaller more secluded pools. There was an in door pool and spa/gym which we didn't use. We generally frequented the larger pools through out the holiday depending sun bed availability. There was a usual dash for beds early morning before 8am so be prepared for an early start if you want a prime spot. We did notice that beds were reserved early but never used until well after mid day and the hotel need to address this in some way at busy periods.
The pool was often busy at lunch as the food was of a very good quality and reasonably priced. The staff were also very friendly at the pool bar. Beach towels were supplied by reception and exchanged daily if required.
Breakfast was available at two different locations at the hotel and we ate at both and they offered similar food. The breakfast menu offered a reasonable selection of local Greek, continental and full cooked selection. This was adequate for us although, the cooked selection was sometimes a little cold. We stayed bed & breakfast and can't comment on the evening meals, but we have written some reviews on local restaurant which were great.
The hotel offered WIFI facilities which were ok around the pools but hit and miss in the room and reception.
Facilities for late check out were a little disappointing as the shower facilities could have been significantly better for people on later flights. We did ask to retain our room into the afternoon but the reception staff were unable to help although our room wasn't cleaned until mid afternoon.
Overall the experience was good, but could have been better if the hotel improved the sun bed position (more beds around the pools) and better late check out facilities as this was our last memory of the resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike66Harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at El Greco Santorini for 6 nights. A lovely spot, about 5 mimutes walk out of Fira. Staff very helpful, and the resort is very clesn and tidy. They have about 4 pool areas, with plenty of lounge chairs. It's so big, they will take you to your room in a golf cart.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay at this resort after a friend recommended it to us. We had a good sized room. Not really a view but we weren't in the room much anyway. The resort has three large pools with a bar aswell. Very clean resort with very friendly staff. A few downers was the crappy wifi and the noisey air-con. A short stroll to the town centre. They knew all the right people to talk to aswell in regards to tours and vehicle hire. I would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattgin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Well managed hotel with friedly staff- room was ready when they said, information briefing upon arrival. They really know this business. My room (308) had incredible views from my balcony that words cannot describe- unbeleivable! This room is not for light sleepers however as it is close to the road and there is road noise. Large property with multiple pools and poolside bar & restaurant. Food's OK, but if you want convenience, it's there. Short walk to town w/ buses, nightlife and all that Fira has to offer. Nice blend of Greek rustic (wooden shutters on the windows, skeleton keys) with modern amenities, clean & crisp.

Room Tip: My room (308) had incredible views from my balcony that words cannot describe- unbeleivable! This ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We chose El Greco as we wanted a larger resort with a choice of pools, and we loved our stay there.

Firstly the location is perfect. 10 minute walk into Fira where you can catch local buses everywhere. We could see the sea in both directions from our room.

We got a hotel club
Special deal which was just as well because I don't think the hotel is worth the huge regular prices The room was ok - clean and we weren't in it very long. But it wasn't big and there were no extra like tea making facilities or free water. The bathroom was disappointing as there was just a shower over a very narrow bath and the shower curtain stuck to you!

The Pools were great. I just wish the hotels would have a rule that if a lounge chair is unoccupied for 30 mins then the towels on it 'Barring' it will be put to one side so another guest can use them! People are so selfish and put their towels on first thing in the morning to reserve the lounge for later in the day, then disappear for hours! Ah well.

There are probably cheaper options that are just as good as el Greco but I would stay their again for the location and convenience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What a lovely hotel. With its many pools, close walk into town, clean rooms, good food, helpful staff all makes for a great experience.
Rooms are light on with furnishings but, they are clean and have plenty of room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookie077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.9 mi away
Santorini Palace
Santorini Palace
#20 of 80 in Fira
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 80 in Fira
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Milos Villas
Milos Villas
#50 of 80 in Fira
142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco

Property: El Greco
Address: Fira | Box 91, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#21 Family Hotel in Fira
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Greco 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Fira
El Greco Hotel Fira
El Greco Santorini/Fira
El Greco Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing