We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel for staying near Fira”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Greco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Greco
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for staying near Fira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel possesses a fantastic location opposite the Caldera view and is only a 5 to 10 minute stroll from Fira town centre. An added benefit is that it is less than a 10 minute drive from the airport.
Very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms clean and airy with modern décor. Our room had plenty of hanging and storage space. There a many large pools to choose from with the result that none ever seems overly crowded, which is perfect for a quiet and relaxing read on your sun lounger.
However, I believe that this hotel is not really suited for younger children, as it caters more for adults.
The only slight criticism is that there is no entertainment in the evenings by the pool bar (at least when we visited), something which I feel would add ambience.
Overall, we had a fantastic stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay near Fira.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    589
    169
    66
    41
See reviews for
362
743
45
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Close to the city and the buses our stay in el greco hotel was amazing. Our room was very clean and we did not face any problem. We had perfect view to the sea and the pool. We were amazed by the number of swimming pools. Very beautiful and friendly hotel! The location is ideal. The food served at 18:00 and after was delicious as well as the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _MariannAAAA_mariann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Ive been staying in El Greco hotel for the past 2 days. And i could not be any happier with the service provided. On the first day i asked for a baby bed and within 5 minutes it was in my room. The reception has been very helpful. The beds are very comfortable. Breakfast has a lot of variety. Location is convenient. I will recommend it for anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sonady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights & it served the purpose in terms of location but I don't feel it's a 4* hotel.
The room was pretty basic, good breakfasts but the reception staff always seemed to come across as being hectic & slightly rude at times.
One of the main things this hotel needs to fix is the sun lounger situation. People clearly dump towels on these & head out for the day making it very difficult to get a lounger. They urgently need to advise that this shouldn't be happening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great hotel to stay in Santorini. Have already stayed twice in this hotel and both times everything was perfect. Asked for a room away from pool noise and although hotel was very busy they managed to give me one exactly where I wanted (viewing the fantastic caldera). Asked for tea making facilities and was given immediately. One aspect which was not up to standard was the wifi in the room which was unusable.

Room Tip: room facing the caldera and higher floor to get better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElisabeteDias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

For our anniversary, we selected this resort for our 5 night stay in Santorini. The staff at the lobby were friendly, offered us water while we waited for the check-in. They even upgraded us from the standard room to a superior room for free. After check-in, We were driven in a golf cart to Room 28 (lower newer buildings to the right with own pool and breakfast restaurant), which was on the 2nd floor. The room was big with a king size bed, flat screen TV, big stand-in shower, modern decor, fridge, and a cute small balcony overlooking the pool area. The rooms were cleaned daily and i loved the smell of their little lotion bottles.

This resort is not one of the hanging-over-the-cliff hotels, but it was big and roomy. If you want a view of the caldera, you just need to cross the street. It was also just a 5-10 min. walk to the local bus station (if you want to travel to Oia, Kamari, etc), a supermarkt was within 5 min walk (we got a lot of snacks and water there), and the town center of Fira was all a short walk away. They also have a spa and gym, but we didn't use it.

We only ate at the restaurant once, they offer buffet-style dinner and also a-la-carte dinner. We only ate there once, since there are so many options in Fira to eat at local restaurants. Breakfast had good choices and was served at both restaurants from 7-10 am, we only ate at the newer restaurant for breakfast, since it was right in front of our building.

Wifi was free - we noticed, it worked best during the day. In the evening, it's super slow - since everyone shares the same connection.

Tip: use the local bus to travel to other towns. It's efficient, cheap and runs very frequently. As of May 2014, the one way trip to Oia or Kamari Beach was just 1.60 Euro per person. You pay on the bus, make sure to bring small bills or change with you.

Room Tip: Lower area buildings are newer and also quiet during our stay. Try to get a room on the 2nd floor fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just had 6 nights. Terrible. Booked 2 rooms and when we arrived they tried to put us in a so called suite.
A room with an attic type bedroom with single beds- obviously a family room and it was situated right at the very far reaches of the resort.
After getting our 2 rooms we discover that there is no mattress on one of the beds, only a Base.
Rooms very substandard our bathroom has the toilet leaking all over the floor. First morning no hot water. Buffett breakfast very sub standard.
This property looks good from the outside but is basically a low grade 3 star property.

Room Tip: Try and get a room close to the restaurant area. Lots of stairs otherwise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.4 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Santorini Palace
Santorini Palace
#19 of 82 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#22 of 82 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.8 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.4 mi away
Tzekos Villas
Tzekos Villas
#14 of 82 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco

Property: El Greco
Address: Fira | Box 91, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#21 Family Hotel in Fira
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Greco 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Fira
El Greco Hotel Fira
El Greco Santorini/Fira
El Greco Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing