We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a Lifetime”
Review of El Greco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Greco
Ranked #24 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Trip of a Lifetime”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Amazing place. Beautiful location. As others have stated - with it being a short walk from Fira it lends itself to being on the quieter side. Had an amazing view of the ocean waters on one side of the property and the caldera on the other side. Take a taxi up to Oia for the sunset (I don't think I will ever experience anything as wonderful again - although the narrow roads and the daring taxi driver left my heart in my throat at times). We had a triple room and for 3 women with big suitcases, we had plenty of room. The pool bar was a lot of fun for a relaxing drink with GORGEOUS views - although the pool water for May was a bit cold. The breakfast buffet wasn't fantastic, but it was plentiful and offered a lot of variety. The honeysuckle plants throughout the grounds gave off a scent that even now when I smell honeysuckle, I think of Santorini!

Room Tip: There are several types of rooms on the property. The first we were shown was one of the loft rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamrn39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    642
    193
    69
    40
See reviews for
387
819
46
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here as part of our Trafalgar tour. It is a beautiful hotel. My husband, daughter, and I stayed together. The room had a loft (mezzanine) room for my daughter. The only downsides were that the shower had no curtain (huge shower!) and we had a bit of a hike up to the reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just got back from spending 7 nights half board at the El Greco hotel. Overall the hotel is good but it is easier to put it into pros and improvement points.

Pros
Air-con was very quiet and efficient in the bedroom
Comfy firm bed, powerful hot shower
Very clean throughout the hotel and grounds
Nice but simple decor rooms
Great swimming pools (Have to put your towel down early for a lounger)
Perfect location for 5min walk to Fira town centre
Nice Gym and Spa
Breakfast was nice but limited
Free Wi-Fi BUT very slow!!

Improvement points.
The BIGGEST area which needs improvement was the food. Evening meal on half board basis was VERY poor and VERY limited pretty much the same every night. (we decided to pay to go out for dinner in Fira town after 4 nights) The restaurant was pretty much empty every night!!
Reception staff not the most forthcoming with info, namely we had to ask about pool towels.
As you can't drink the water, no complementary bottle of water in the room
No tea and coffee facilities
Only 1 English TV channel, BBC news24

Overall we were happy hence the 4 stars, we would just recommend going B&B, and eat in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road, some guests complained about the evening traffic noise. We s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The beds were rock hard, the bathroom basin leaked constantly, the bar man yelled at me when I called a nice coffee a frappe not freddo, breakfast was strange ie tin veggies and instant coffee , lunch by the pool was stale bread and sloppy tzakki and that was 12 euros, worst place in an otherwise beautiful 2 week stay in Greece. Ugghh

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Its a beautiful hotel near fira town in santorini.
a 5 mins walk can make you reach fira town.

Clean and comfortable rooms.
The location is ideal.

We had a pool view room which is very pretty.
really nice property to stay in Fira.
You can hire a ATV and go all around Santorini,

Room Tip: Get a room on the 1st floor with with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jayparekh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is large, spread over several acres, with five swimming pools and a couple of breakfast buffet areas. It is located within a short walk to town of Fira. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The resort, although busy, was still quiet and relaxing. The buffet breakfast offered a good selection. The only downside was that there was no view of the beautiful Santorini bay (caldera). The property is a good value and would be a great place to sit by the pool and relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

There's no doubt about it that this hotel is beautiful and in a great location. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. There are many lovely pools to sit by and soak up the sun. And it is only a short 5 min walk in to the centre of Fira, close enough for convenience but far enough away that it is not noisy or busy. However, our stay at El Greco was marred by a few factors. Firstly, our neighbours seemed to be in the furniture moving business and everytime they pulled out a chair from the table it made a screeching noise. It seemed this happened every minute or so! El Greco need to put the felt on the bottom of their furniture to try to reduce the noise it makes. Secondly, our bathtub leaked, so every shower there would be a big puddle on our floor. But lastly and the most disappointing was the service we received from the reception staff. Dont get me wrong, the wait staff were great! But the reception staff had an attitude. This being our first stop on our honeymoon we were expecting a warm and friendly welcome, but we did not get it. At one stage we asked one of the reception staff to confirm our booking and she flat out said "no". For the price we paid per night, we expected a much higher level of service. Its not enough to have a beautiful resort, you have to provide the service and experience to go with it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.9 mi away
Santorini Palace
Santorini Palace
#21 of 80 in Fira
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 80 in Fira
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.9 mi away
Milos Villas
Milos Villas
#51 of 80 in Fira
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco

Property: El Greco
Address: Fira | Box 91, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#21 Family Hotel in Fira
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Greco 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Fira
El Greco Hotel Fira
El Greco Santorini/Fira
El Greco Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing