We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of communication lets this hotel down”
Review of El Greco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Greco
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lack of communication lets this hotel down”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel. The rooms are fresh and clean, the maid service is 5 star. The room has a safe a fridge. They do not care if you choose to bring food and drink in, which can be be bought very cheaply if you are on a budget from the carrefour supermarket just 200m walk away. Example of price, a large myths beer at the bar is 5euro at the supermarket 1 euro 24.

The pools of which there are 4 nicely designed examples are not overcrowded although during busy season you may choose to pop out of your poolside room to put towels down around 7:30 but generally there was no problem getting a bed.

Wifi is ok if only a bit hit and miss. Most rooms will get full connection to hotel router.

Two things let it down a little. Firstly, communication is poor. Example, our room should have been allocated to a brand new restaurant which we didn't even know existed until we found out on our own. Secondly. I think the level of interest in the clients by the staff generally was lack lustre to say the least. At times they seemed like they just didn't want to be there.

Overall though I can highly recommend this venue which is literally 10 minutes transfer from the airport

Room Tip: The rooms numbered 500 + seem to be the newest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    601
    172
    66
    41
See reviews for
366
757
45
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We loved our two nights at El Grecco. As a relaxing part of our Europe trip we enjoyed the three amazing poolside options and our room overlooked one pool - perfect! The rooms were large with Greek style decor, not my taste but what you expect to find in Greece!

The staff were super friendly & upgraded us for one night of our stay - we enjoyed one night at Cliffside suites in Firostefani, a stunning hotel with great views.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends travelling to Greece.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Good looking resort with many pools but breakfast was poor and pricing for drinks etc. excessive. Has more rooms than expected and when busy was hard to get by the main pool. Close to Thira with a 15 minute walk but the road is busy at times so need to watch out for those scooters. Our friend stayed next door and his opinion was that this resort was better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Disappointed. We've been traveling thru Europe for 6 weeks and this is the poorest level of service. Facilities are very average, breakfast is poor to average. The room was okay but only just adequate in terms PC fit put and bathroom. Would not stay again or recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geoffee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The El Greco is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at. It is so beautiful with several infinity pools and well-kept grounds. It offers plenty of space, so you never feel as though it is crowded. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and an incredible breakfast buffet is offered each morning. You can eat either indoors or outdoors beside the pools. The variety of foods is incredible and everything was fresh and delectable. The hotel is close to the downtown area of Fira, where there is much activity, plenty of restaurants, and lots of shops. Be sure to try a gyro. They are amazing. You will never go hungry in Fira. Also, take a taxi to Oia and watch a sunset, as well as enjoy the various restaurants and shops there. You may need a sweatshirt or sweater, as it tends to get cool once the sunset occurs. This is a great hotel and this was my second visit to the El Greco. Can't wait until I am able to visit again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Second Floor rooms have balconies that often overlook the pool areas. Don't worry about noise; t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyC209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very relaxing resort with a beautiful view overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Rooms are clean and pleasant, spacious for a family of four. Hotel is near Tesco convenient store and Fira town where a lot of things happening.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKTang8511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We were extremely pleased with our stay at the resort. It was within a 5 minute walk to the city, where restaurants, shops and pubs are located. Pools, food, staff and building were all unbelievable. I would recommend this place to anyone!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.4 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Santorini Palace
Santorini Palace
#17 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.8 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.4 mi away
Tzekos Villas
Tzekos Villas
#18 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco

Property: El Greco
Address: Fira | Box 91, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#21 Family Hotel in Fira
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Greco 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Fira
El Greco Hotel Fira
El Greco Santorini/Fira
El Greco Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing