We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Greco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Greco
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in El Greco hotel in july 2014. The driver Nikos picked us up from the airport and it was a short drive until we reached the hotel! The staff at the reception were very helpful, courteous and told us where to eat and visit. It is a beautiful hotel, nice big pools and 2 small ones for smaller children! all the buildings were white, the rooms were cleaned etc.The breakfast was lovely specially the sausages ;-) . We booked 2 rooms last minute and we couldn't get the rooms that we wanted so we had the ground floor bedrooms which was quite huge but the only downside was the bathroom! it was so tiny and dated! The wash basin tap was working properly and there was only one bulb working in the bathroom specially if you wanted a shower at night before bed! That was the only bad thing! apart from that everything else was perfect. The views outside the hotel was spectacular and its only 15 minutes walk to all the amenities i.e. restaurants, travel tours, shops, cable cars you name it! it was fantastic to have everything on your finger tips! you won't be disappointed we weren't! Will definitely be returning to El Greco except this time will book very early so we could get the upstairs rooms facing the beach!

Room Tip: If you book early book the rooms upstairs they are more stylish, big and better views but a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    589
    169
    66
    41
See reviews for
362
743
45
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very helpful staff... neat hotel.

Close to Fira town, very convenient for dining and clubbing.

All rooms seems to look over the pool areas and vines view only the reception was overlooking the sea view.

Great service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiko_Maj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is clean, tidy, beautiful and there are 4 or 5 pools to choose from! A 10 minute walk in to the heart of Fira, the location is perfect. The sunset over the road, overlooking the caldera is a must see.
We were allocated a room right at the bottom of the hotel which was great when we arrived as it felt quiet and secluded with no passers by. As the week went on though, the poolside became very busy and at times quite noisy. Not really what we signed up for but we didn't grumble.
Sleep was also a bit of an issue- other guests slamming doors at all hours and dragging furniture around (why?!!!).
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here but next time I think we'd try somewhere a little more quiet and chilled.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tlm1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel. The rooms are fresh and clean, the maid service is 5 star. The room has a safe a fridge. They do not care if you choose to bring food and drink in, which can be be bought very cheaply if you are on a budget from the carrefour supermarket just 200m walk away. Example of price, a large myths beer at the bar is 5euro at the supermarket 1 euro 24.

The pools of which there are 4 nicely designed examples are not overcrowded although during busy season you may choose to pop out of your poolside room to put towels down around 7:30 but generally there was no problem getting a bed.

Wifi is ok if only a bit hit and miss. Most rooms will get full connection to hotel router.

Two things let it down a little. Firstly, communication is poor. Example, our room should have been allocated to a brand new restaurant which we didn't even know existed until we found out on our own. Secondly. I think the level of interest in the clients by the staff generally was lack lustre to say the least. At times they seemed like they just didn't want to be there.

Overall though I can highly recommend this venue which is literally 10 minutes transfer from the airport

Room Tip: The rooms numbered 500 + seem to be the newest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We loved our two nights at El Grecco. As a relaxing part of our Europe trip we enjoyed the three amazing poolside options and our room overlooked one pool - perfect! The rooms were large with Greek style decor, not my taste but what you expect to find in Greece!

The staff were super friendly & upgraded us for one night of our stay - we enjoyed one night at Cliffside suites in Firostefani, a stunning hotel with great views.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends travelling to Greece.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Good looking resort with many pools but breakfast was poor and pricing for drinks etc. excessive. Has more rooms than expected and when busy was hard to get by the main pool. Close to Thira with a 15 minute walk but the road is busy at times so need to watch out for those scooters. Our friend stayed next door and his opinion was that this resort was better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Disappointed. We've been traveling thru Europe for 6 weeks and this is the poorest level of service. Facilities are very average, breakfast is poor to average. The room was okay but only just adequate in terms PC fit put and bathroom. Would not stay again or recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geoffee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.4 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Santorini Palace
Santorini Palace
#19 of 82 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#22 of 82 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.8 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.4 mi away
Tzekos Villas
Tzekos Villas
#14 of 82 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco

Property: El Greco
Address: Fira | Box 91, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#21 Family Hotel in Fira
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Greco 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Fira
El Greco Hotel Fira
El Greco Santorini/Fira
El Greco Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing