We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel with traditional character”
Review of Aigialos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aigialos Hotel
Ranked #34 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed for a few nights in Aigialos during our honeymoon trip to Santorini. We stayed at the Pounentes room located at the first level of the hotel. As a result we did not really have a direct view of the caldera or the small islands close to Santorini, as we did in our previous hotel in Oia, Esperas. But that was the only negative, if I can say that, thing about our accommodation.
The room was very spacious with 2 levels (one small bed on the top floor), which was really not necessary in our case as we were only two. This top floor is rather small and I could only picture a child or a small person staying in it. Now, the bottom floor that we used was very very beautiful. Marble floors, a very comfortable bed, traditional cycladic island decoration for the windows, the furniture and the colors in the classic white and blue. Although there was no direct view we enjoyed the large sitting area close to the window. The bathroom was also out of marble with a very nice shower. The only thing I could warn people for is that one of the windows is next to the small alley and if you hate a/c and prefer to have a window open as we did, you can hear people passing by or even donkeys galloping down the path :)))). It was a very small problem to us as the bed was located on the other side of the room.
The breakfast was classic international with some local additions, which varied each day. One can have it by the small pool area they have or outside the room in the semi-private balcony (shared by 2 other rooms but it is quite big for several people).
Service was excellent, as in all places we have visited in the island.

I personally loved this hotel with its comfortable and gorgeous spaces, which are very much adapted to the island aesthetics.

Room Tip: Each room is different so make sure you enquire about what would like very well.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ariari_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
There are newer reviews for Aigialos Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Absolutely beautiful views from our terrace and a wonderful staff. Everyone was very accommodating and the room was the perfect size for our family of five. It was really neat to stay in a historical building. The made to order breakfast was the best we had in all of Greece!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJohnson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I had a 3-night stay in this hotel and it turned out to be our best hotel experience ever. We think this hotel is beautiful in every way. The hotel reception area, the rooms, the terrace, the views, and the staff, are all beautiful. We were happy that we called the hotel about airport transfer before we arrived. So, the minute we got there, we were greeted and our luggage was taken all the way to our room. (Remember ,most of hotels on the island are on cliffs, even though this hotel is close to the main square, youl would appreciate it if you don't have to carry your heavy stuff up steps)
Unlike those modern hotels where you stand and talk to people behind counters to check in, Vivi,the hotel manager, came to us with a warm welcome and sat us down at a table with drinks.The check-in was a very pleasant start. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, with 2 bathrooms, one large living room with lots of resting seats and more than enough furniture. You feel more like living in a home than a hotel. We just loved it. When we stepped out onto the terrace Wow! The view was stunning. The first night the weather suddenly changed, and we couldn't go anywhere. So we decided to dine in the hotel restaurant. That was a wonderful experience. We were impressed by the delicious food and above all, by the way we were treated. Georgia made all the efforts to serve us the best food. Breakfasts were abundant and fantastic and quite a few people had room service and enjoyed their food on their terrace, overlooking the caldera. We definitely highly recommend this hotel to whoever is going to visit Santorini and you'll love it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We couldn't have been happier with our trip to Aigialos. From the moment we arrived, the staff exceeded our every need. They also made us feel like family, and for this, we will return again and again.

Room Tip: It is hard to find a bad room, but if you want an exceptional view, just ask in advance.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

What a beautiful place to stay! The views were amazing and the room was lovely and nicely appointed. We really enjoyed the made-to-order breakfasts and attentive service from everyone at the resort, From the moment we arrived, we instantly felt pampered and it set the mood for a relaxing vacation in Santorini. If you're looking for a beautiful room, spectacular views, and excellent service, then look no more... Aigialos Hotel is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in the wonderful Sorocos room. A beautiful room and incomprable terrace overlooking the caldera. While our outings about the island were lovely, nothing beat a cocktail on our own terrace watching the yachts and cruise ships below.

The dining was superlative. We had breakfast on the terrace and watched the green flash at sundown between courses in the restaurant. Georgia talked us through the local vendors that supplied our Greek banquet. Everything was a gastronome's delight. The local wines complimented the ultra-modern takes on traditional Greek dishes. We were in heaven. Do not pause, seek this place out and enjoy!

Room Tip: Not sure if this hotel has a bad room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We chose Aigialos from the tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The staff with their "nothing too difficult" attitude combined with very responsive service and the cleanliness of the place were all the icing on the location and its gorgeous views. We are coming back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.0 mi away
Aria Suites
Aria Suites
#15 of 80 in Fira
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Athina Luxury Suites
0.1 mi away
Santorini Reflexions Volcano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kalisti Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#7 of 80 in Fira
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aigialos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aigialos Hotel

Address: Ypapantis street, Fira 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fira
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#20 Luxury Hotel in Fira
Price Range: £289 - £951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aigialos Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aigialos Collection consists of sixteen, renovated neoclassical houses that were originally the fine homes of the island's noble captain families. The architecture and design of the houses bring to life the traditional way of life of the island's nobility. Restored to perfection by master masons using local volcanic stone and coloured lime plaster, the houses are linked by cobbled walkways. Situated on the rim of the caldera, sheer cliffs that rise from the sea, the hotel overlooks the island's famed volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aigialos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigialos Hotel Fira
Aigialos Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing