We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Aigialos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aigialos Hotel
Ranked #29 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Spent 3 nights at Aigialos in Santorini with my wife and was very pleased. The views from the room and property are spectacular overlooking the bay, caldera, Fira, and the entire coast. The location is great at the southern end of Fira. Walking distance to all of Fira shops and restaurants. Could not be more convenient.
The staff, Madonna in particular, are outstanding. They arranged upon request everything from airport and ferry transfers, to wine-tasting tours, to restaurant recommendations and reservations, to catamaran dinner sailing, and taxis. Perhaps the best service we've ever experienced.
Breakfast, included in the package, was outstanding - daily fresh fruit, omelets, coffee, juice and fresh baked breads and croissants.
The room itself was just okay. It was clean and pretty much as advertised but not more. We had requested a king but ended up with two twins pushed together. Would recommend something higher than the main level though as we were woken up a couple of times by early morning activity after leaving the windows open for the cool evening breezes.
Aigialos is perfect if you are looking for a place to base a Santorini visit. Located in a great spot with great breakfast and spectacular views. The donkeys shuttling back and forth at the start and end of the day are charming. Great access to all of the island with wonderful staff to help. Not a resort though - tiny pool and little to do on premises.

Room Tip: Pick something higher than the main level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We just got back from staying at the Maestros suite at Aigialos for 3 nights with our 2 boys and had the most wonderful time. Our private balcony was magical with the best views in Santorini. The place was very charming, clean and the staff were all super helpful and quick. They also had the best food!
Thank you for such a great experience and because of that we will be back!! Madonna was our main lady and she was amazing!
Sincerely
Narimane Panayotou

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nh1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The view of the caldera was amazing and the hotel had a lot of unique charms, but the aesthetics couldn't make up for the quality of the room.
Our room had the smallest shower that I've ever been in and a spout that was only adequate for someone 5"4 or less.
The air conditioner in the room did not work which lead to us having to leave the windows open the whole time. This eliminated almost all privacy, as other could walk by and see in, and allowed many bugs into the room. The shutters also banged any time there was a breeze making it difficult to sleep.
It's the only hotel that I've ever stayed at in Santorini, but I'm sure you can do better for the hefty price we paid to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViviTsota, Manager at Aigialos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Honored guest,
Thank you for staying in our property during your holidays in Santorini Island. We very much appreciate your comments in relation with the amazing view and referring to a clean hotel.
Aigialos Hotel is a traditional settlement focusing to offer the authentic experience of a typical Santorini House of the past.
In line with our philosophy and with great respect to tradition we open the opportunity of our entire honored guest to experience our facilities as they were. In other words we maintained the exterior and interior architecture as per the original version. Zefyros, a two level typical house, has the privilege of two totally private balconies with stunning view, but a small bathroom. A characteristic which clearly stated in our web site to avoid any misunderstanding of our potential guests. With regard to the A/C issue we very much regret for the incident, although unexpected technical problems is a common phenomenon in hotels all over the world.
Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My time at Aigialos was short but memorable. From the breathtaking views from hotel rooms to the friendliest service I've ever experienced. The staff went out of its way to make me feel at home and taken care of. I ended up with the Notos House, a small room with its own private balcony and an unobstructed view of the volcano and the sea. I had front row seats to the most spectacular sunset I've ever seen. Breakfast, which is included and can be served in your room at no extra cost, was plentiful and delicious. I was stuffed for hours!

My only criticism was the transfer. For my departure, I chose to make arrangements with the hotel for a transfer only to be told that I would be expected to pay the same fare as two people would, 30 EUROs. That was unnecessary and unfair. I chose to overlook this because of my wonderful time at Aigialos but it did ruin the moment for me.

Room Tip: If you're travelling alone, Notos House is what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadege10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed for a few nights in Aigialos during our honeymoon trip to Santorini. We stayed at the Pounentes room located at the first level of the hotel. As a result we did not really have a direct view of the caldera or the small islands close to Santorini, as we did in our previous hotel in Oia, Esperas. But that was the only negative, if I can say that, thing about our accommodation.
The room was very spacious with 2 levels (one small bed on the top floor), which was really not necessary in our case as we were only two. This top floor is rather small and I could only picture a child or a small person staying in it. Now, the bottom floor that we used was very very beautiful. Marble floors, a very comfortable bed, traditional cycladic island decoration for the windows, the furniture and the colors in the classic white and blue. Although there was no direct view we enjoyed the large sitting area close to the window. The bathroom was also out of marble with a very nice shower. The only thing I could warn people for is that one of the windows is next to the small alley and if you hate a/c and prefer to have a window open as we did, you can hear people passing by or even donkeys galloping down the path :)))). It was a very small problem to us as the bed was located on the other side of the room.
The breakfast was classic international with some local additions, which varied each day. One can have it by the small pool area they have or outside the room in the semi-private balcony (shared by 2 other rooms but it is quite big for several people).
Service was excellent, as in all places we have visited in the island.

I personally loved this hotel with its comfortable and gorgeous spaces, which are very much adapted to the island aesthetics.

Room Tip: Each room is different so make sure you enquire about what would like very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ariari_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Absolutely beautiful views from our terrace and a wonderful staff. Everyone was very accommodating and the room was the perfect size for our family of five. It was really neat to stay in a historical building. The made to order breakfast was the best we had in all of Greece!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJohnson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I had a 3-night stay in this hotel and it turned out to be our best hotel experience ever. We think this hotel is beautiful in every way. The hotel reception area, the rooms, the terrace, the views, and the staff, are all beautiful. We were happy that we called the hotel about airport transfer before we arrived. So, the minute we got there, we were greeted and our luggage was taken all the way to our room. (Remember ,most of hotels on the island are on cliffs, even though this hotel is close to the main square, youl would appreciate it if you don't have to carry your heavy stuff up steps)
Unlike those modern hotels where you stand and talk to people behind counters to check in, Vivi,the hotel manager, came to us with a warm welcome and sat us down at a table with drinks.The check-in was a very pleasant start. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, with 2 bathrooms, one large living room with lots of resting seats and more than enough furniture. You feel more like living in a home than a hotel. We just loved it. When we stepped out onto the terrace Wow! The view was stunning. The first night the weather suddenly changed, and we couldn't go anywhere. So we decided to dine in the hotel restaurant. That was a wonderful experience. We were impressed by the delicious food and above all, by the way we were treated. Georgia made all the efforts to serve us the best food. Breakfasts were abundant and fantastic and quite a few people had room service and enjoyed their food on their terrace, overlooking the caldera. We definitely highly recommend this hotel to whoever is going to visit Santorini and you'll love it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.0 mi away
Aria Suites
Aria Suites
#17 of 80 in Fira
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Kalisti Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Santorini Reflexions Volcano
0.1 mi away
Athina Luxury Suites
Athina Luxury Suites
#10 of 80 in Fira
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kastro Suites Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aigialos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aigialos Hotel

Address: Ypapantis street, Fira 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fira
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#19 Luxury Hotel in Fira
Price Range: £292 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aigialos Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aigialos Collection consists of sixteen, renovated neoclassical houses that were originally the fine homes of the island's noble captain families. The architecture and design of the houses bring to life the traditional way of life of the island's nobility. Restored to perfection by master masons using local volcanic stone and coloured lime plaster, the houses are linked by cobbled walkways. Situated on the rim of the caldera, sheer cliffs that rise from the sea, the hotel overlooks the island's famed volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aigialos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigialos Hotel Fira
Aigialos Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing