We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aigialos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aigialos Hotel
Ranked #28 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Fulton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our stay at the Aigialos Hotel was simply the best! Great location, awesome views, and wonderful staff. Evita Dadira and Madona Vougadi were wonderful at Reception and
Georgia Traxilou was a terrific Hostess at breakfast every morning. If you are facing Fira from the caldera, the Aigialos is basically all the way to the right side of town. So while it was close to shopping and restaurants and the cliff-side walkways, it was away from the crowds and noise of the central part of town. The Aigialos Hotel is a European Heritage Site. The architecture and décor was simple and charming. Our room accommodated the 4 of us (my wife and I and our 15 and 12 year old) quite comfortably and the balcony connected the two main living areas. Waking up every morning and then watching the sunset from our balcony was breathtaking. Even when we look at our pictures today, it still brings a smile to our faces and an overwhelming sense of calm, peace, and relaxation. We had also visited Athens, Nafplio, and Mykonos on this trip and the Aigialos Hotel in Fira,, Santorini was simply the best!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s4nj4yp4t3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    56
    16
    5
    11
See reviews for
89
276
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beachgal540
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

It's obvious each persons review is equal to the room they received when checking into this hotel. Unfortunately, we did not get a room we believe we paid for. We reserved a Superior room and ended up with a tiny, musty room on the ground floor. We were so looking forward to something you see on their website- a beautiful room with a lovely view from your terrace, etc. We tried to negotiate with the manager but she was not willing to consider any of our suggestions. Our friends who reserved the same room at the same price got a third floor room with terrace so at least we could take advantage of the view from there room/terrace. Apparently, the type of room you reserve doesn't mean much. This is not an inexpensive hotel and we did not feel that they handled our issue well. I cannot fault their wonderful breakfast nor the waiters service, this part was excellent but it did not make up for feeling taken advantage of. Honestly, this is not a 5* hotel as other reviews have mentioned.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the ground floor or on the alley in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beachgal540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViviTsota, Διευθυντής at Aigialos Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit at the Aigialos Hotel! We are glad to read that you enjoyed our breakfast, which includes a variety of local recipes, homemade breads and jams and that our team restaurant did all the best during your stay.
With regard to your comments on the accommodation, we would like to point out that all Aigialos houses, including ground floor, have spectacular views and we always aim to offer the best available house upon arrival. Moreover, it was a common practice in the past all Santorini traditional houses to have plenty day light and windows in order to secure fresh air and sun light, due to lack at the time of air handling units . Therefore, by definition musty atmosphere cannot be detected in a traditional house, unless a strong south breeze is spread all over the island.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at our traditional settlement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights here and from the moment we arrived we had the most incredible time. All of the staff were exceptional - always happy to help and so hospitable. We stayed in Notos and the view from our private balcony was spectacular. Breakfast on our private balcony was very special and there was a great choice. We also had dinner in the hotel one evening and the food was delicious! There honestly isn't a single thing about this hotel that I can fault and I would recommend it to anyone visiting Santorini! Thank you again to all of the wonderful staff!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zahra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slatington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have been talking about a trip to Greece for many years. My husbands grandmother left Greece when she was 14 and we wanted to see where she grew up. After a few days doing "touristy" things in Athens and the villages we planned to relax in Santorini. We used a TA and wanted her to make sure, since Santorini is known for its views, that the hotel we stayed at had some. BOY, did the Aigialos have them!!

We staying in the Voreas "house" which was a room large enough for our family of 5. It was quaint, and although it didn't have new bathrooms and furniture, we loved it! We live in a 150 year old farmhouse so we love quaint and antique things. Our house had 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms with a daybed in the main room along with a kitchenette.

We had such a wonderful time there. Our veranda had magnificent views of the sunsets. It was actually a waste of time to go to Oia with the hoards of people. The view from our balcony was better (we did go to Oia since we were told you HAD to do that). Our breakfast on that same balcony everyday was such a wonderful benefit. All you had to do was check what you wanted the night before and it was brought up and set out for us to enjoy while admiring the wonderful view.

The staff was also part of what makes this hotel such a gem. Madonna was so helpful and actually became friends with our 22 and 24 year old sons along with another employee, Apostolis. There isn't a bad word I can say about any of the employees of the hotel.

This place is a wonderful gem in a beautiful location. It is what I expect heaven must be like! If we ever get to go back to Santorini, Aigialos will be our choice. There may be "newer" hotels but with the location, close to the action but out of the way, the views from the rooms and the staff, we wouldn't even think of another hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djp603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Lovely hotel. Sorokos' private veranda has a breathtaking view over the caldera which makes it so enjoyable for breakfast and also for watching the sunset. Breakfast was really good and the service was excellent. The hotel is within walking distance to Fira. I recommend going one late afternoon to Oia and watch the sunset from there. We really liked our stay at Aigialos and we definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Sorokos has a big private veranda overlooking the caldera and a very good view from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetNull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Plain and simple. From the moment we arrived we thought we'd died and gone to heaven. Our apartment was gorgeous, but the views! The most spectacular views awaited us in our apartment which overlooked the Caldera. It was so romantic and inspiring.

Service in this beautiful hotel was flawless. Vivi (the manager) is lovely and we will always remember her. Her professionalism and recommendations were exemplary. In general the attention to detail and customer service from all the staff was first class. We felt like family.

Breakfasts were wonderful. These greek pies..THE YOGHURT combined with Greek honey...OMG! The best I have ever had the pleasure, especially while enjoying with this expansive views ..so romantic and refreshing at the same time. This is what the good life feels like!

Santorini is magical. We stayed at this hotel in Fira (the main town) for 3 nights in the beginning of June (apologetically, it's taken too long to write this review) and loved every minute. We rent a car one day and drove from the beaches at one end of the island to the little town of Oia(the other end) as the reception suggested us. So nice.

We highly recommend this hotel, and Santorini in general. Aigialos is the perfect hotel if you wish to stay in the cosmopolitan city of Fira and go round. Vivi and her staff will assure the excellence of your trip.
Stay here, and fall in love all over again....!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank efi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was reading quickly the most recent reviews on TA and found a traveler who felt lucky for paying "just" 790 euro for a night at this hotel!
I don't know, I don't think I am cheap, but we paid around the same amount and didn't feel lucky for such pricing.
Overall, the concept is nice and the views are picture perfect, as you would expect in Fira.
However the quality of the accommodation is a far cry from a 5* standard. The rooms and bathrooms are tiny and musty and the furniture is not just antique, but shabby! We informed the reception that the air con was particularly musty and they answered that they clean it monthly! That was it! Nothing happened following our insistence as if that monthly cleaning meant I was telling stories. I'm sorry, but it is irrelevant to me how often do you do your maintenance, as long as it is inefficient.
The Wi-Fi is pretty much dead.
If you have a room by the alley and have a light sleep, you will have a problem at all times. The walls are paper thin and in high season there is a lot of activity, from tourists passing by your window with rolling suitcases, to party people coming back late and to the hotel next door who may decide at some point around 2 am to re-arrange every single seat and table they have on the terrace. It's pretty much as silent as if you were sleeping in the street.

All in all, I could assume the responsibility of choosing this location if there wasn't for something that a rate as disrespect. We were offered a free car with the reservation and coming from a 5* hotel, I was expecting a decent, average car. Well, it turned out to be a real menace, a budget car and rental that could barely be called that. I am quite a good driver if I may say so myself, but I had to put at use all skills acquired in 15 years of experience in the field + cool head in order to keep the crazy thing from going back at the middle of the slope, over all the other cars or bikes behind! (Santorini is a very hilly island so if you take a car, you are sure to go through many slopes.) It was horrible! To get an idea, for any slope, it could only go up in first gear and with a roaring rpm that you would have to prepare well ahead in order to get you to the top!

Anyway, if it came from a 3* hotel, I would have said it had to fit the budget. But from a 5* I expect to be offered something that is not a threat to my family's and other people's life, even if not charged.

So, with car or not, I would definitely not come back nor recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virgo_traveller_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViviTsota, Διευθυντής at Aigialos Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay in our property last year . We would like also to thank you for your kind comments about the concept of the hotel and the spectacular views . It is worth to say that one of the most recognized posters worldwide , promoting Santorini island , showing the dome and the belfry of the former Orthodox Cathedral , has been taken from our private verandah of the Mansion house you have stayed .
We take the opportunity to underline that our main concept and logo , as stated in our website , is the authentic experience . Aigialos Hotel is a traditional settlement , comprising a complex of 15 authentic vernacular houses , some of them being authentic cave houses , remodeled with absolute respect for tradition . In other words , restoration designs have been produced focusing the protection of all architectural details . It could be very easy to demolish walls , enlarge space and sacrifice the authentic architecture. But this is far away from our believes and what we would like to offer to our honored guests . That is exactly why Aigialos Hotel differentiates from other properties on the island .
It is worth also to say that the complex of houses belongs to one of the noble families of the island and in particular the house you have stayed was the Mansion house of the family . Actually, a member of the noble family was an honored diplomat with a stunning career at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs . As per the local tradition and practice in the past, all houses have been constructed with local stone and one of the characteristics is the wide stone walls . In our case , external stone walls of both bed rooms are 70cm wide ! Therefore, someone may easy recognize that definitely walls are not paper thin . It is true to say that windows at both bed rooms are looking to a small alley , but used only by the neighborhood and definitely far away from the noisy areas in Fira . Moreover , all Mansions on the island have plenty of windows to renew fresh air , thus by definition they cannot have a “musty” atmosphere .
Another point we would to refer to is the “shabby” furniture. With great respect , we would like to underline that all furniture in the sitting area of the Mansion house are dated as of the 18th century . It is worth to mention that the “lavamano” is a furniture of 19th century bought in Venice , the Vienna chairs are of the 18th century bought by the owner from an auction, while being the Ambassador of Greece in Vienna , the sofa bed is an authentic handmade piece of late 19th century and the lady’s glass with wooden candle holders is of the 19th century . That is for sure a rare collection dedicated to our honored guests .
Finally, we really apologize for the poor Wi-Fi signal, as a result of technical problem of the provider on the island for a couple of days . An issue that we also faced with our email communication.
We would like to assure you that Aigialos Hotel is an Authentic Ambassador of the Greek hospitality and we will be delighted to welcome you again in our premises .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
1.0 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.0 mi away
Aria Suites
Aria Suites
#22 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panorama Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Volcano View Hotel Santorini
0.1 mi away
Athina Luxury Suites
Athina Luxury Suites
#20 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cori Rigas Suites
Cori Rigas Suites
#37 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aigialos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aigialos Hotel

Property: Aigialos Hotel
Address: Ypapantis street, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fira
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#20 Luxury Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aigialos Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aigialos Collection consists of sixteen, renovated neoclassical houses that were originally the fine homes of the island's noble captain families. The architecture and design of the houses bring to life the traditional way of life of the island's nobility. Restored to perfection by master masons using local volcanic stone and coloured lime plaster, the houses are linked by cobbled walkways. Situated on the rim of the caldera, sheer cliffs that rise from the sea, the hotel overlooks the island's famed volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Aigialos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigialos Hotel Fira
Aigialos Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing