We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - the original, classy and romantic Santorini mansion”
Review of Aigialos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aigialos Hotel
Ranked #32 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
1 review
“Excellent - the original, classy and romantic Santorini mansion”
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Having stayed at the beautiful Kaikias House, with its unique view, the admiration of the truly breathtaking Aegean caldera was for us already a good reason to come back.
But the hotel itself has enchanted us, too! With its dignified and tranquil aura and its graceful architecture and decoration - starting from the lobby, which is furnished with lovely antiques and tapestries, to our rooms with the smooth marble floors and bathroom, the hand-curved bed poster, the antiques and the original paintings. My best description is being invited to a beautiful house, full of authentic and well cared pieces, combined with all modern hotel amenities. Definitely not something you encounter often, even at boutique hotels. This place is the original, classy Santorini mansion.
A very efficient, well mannered and friendly staff, they all go out of their way to make the stay exceptional - from restaurant suggestions to trip organization. Well done! The location is superb, both in terms of view and proximity to the city, as well as some of the island's best gourmet resturants and the Cycladic archaeological museum (walking distance).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AthensDanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    57
    16
    5
    11
See reviews for
94
284
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2009

wonderful experience, stayed 5 nights in July,2009 with family ( 2 teenagers ). Jean-Pierre and staff make you feel as though you are the only ones there, in a beautiful cliff side palace with extraordinary views.Impeccable staff and great chef,Alexandra who will create any meal you desire. The best place to stay in Fira , cannot wait to get back.
BP
Arizona, USA

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bspArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

I've spent a four-day holiday with my husband in Santorini where I chose to stay at the Aigialos Hotel.
We were staying in the Zefiros room, which I think is one of the largest in the hotel. It was also very nice and quiet, with two lovely balconies overlooking the caldera.
The only improvement could be the bathroom, which is quite small.

We had dinner at the hotel twice, especially after finding out how great a cook is Alexandra. Once we asked for dinner to be served on our balcony, we felt like having fish and Alexandra did another fantastic job, really special. Everything was soooo romantic! The breakfast was very good and abundant, too.
The staff were really nice and always eager to help. I felt like they were more like friends than just girls working there!

The location is absolutely scenic, quiet and really convenient to walk to town.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melarossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC area
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Aigialos in late May 2009. Every morning we would open the doors onto our private patio and breathe deep as we looked at the sparkling blue water and the magnificent Caldera. The staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was the best experience ever, and I'm still dreaming about the food! Each morning we ate a made-to-order scrumptious breakfast. But the true "stand out" was on the night of our arrival. We wanted to relax and asked for dinner to be made for us at our hotel. We could have had it served on our private patio, but since it was early in the season, we were able to have a private dinner by the pool. With only our food "preferences", Chef Alexandra made us the most special, romantic, delicious dinner we've had in a very long time. Amazing!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Our family of four shared a two-room suite with a space for dining in the room or on our terrace and two baths. All the amenities one could ask for were there except a hair dryer. We overlooked the crater's edge and couldn't stop taking pictures of the incredible view. A great location from which to walk the town, but not at all noisy. The rooms feature truly unusual and historic maps, antiques and artwork. The staff are superb and the food is fabulous. They have a new chef who will cook dinner for you and serve it in your room or on your terrace or in their dining area or by the pool. Breakfast was fantastic! The service is very personal and they do everything possible to make sure you have a wonderful stay. They helped us with restaurant reservations and took us to the beach and had called ahead to make sure we got prime treatment and the best spot. This is a great place for a special occasion and it is costly, but in my opinion it is worth it. Fabulous place for a honeymoon.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

The Aigialos is Ranked as one of the 200 Best Hotels in the World by RESORTS & GREAT HOTELS.

We were in Santorini the first week of June, 2009 and had the most amazing experience at the Aigialos hotel in Fira. My family, which included my wife, 16 year old son, as well as my two daughter s age 14 and 8 all agree this was by far the best of the five hotels we stayed in during our two week trip to Greece. I was very impressed with their service and desire to make our stay very special. We were met at the boat by Jean Pierre and a staff member who brought two cars to accomodate our large group and luggage. Upon arrival at the hotel, Jean Pierre and his wife brought us a large fruit plate, chocolates and drinks. He asked if we had any special request for the mini bar and stocked it with our favorite beverages which he went out and acquired especially for us.

The room (Levitas) is a large2 bedroom suite with 5 beds, which was perfect for our three children in one room and the master for my wife and myself with a beautiful Caldera view. While our luggage was taken to our room we chatted with Jean Pierre who provided a brief history of the hotel. Our room is actually part of a 17th Century House built into the side of the cliffs overlooking the Caldera. Both rooms were "Cave Rooms" which had rounded domes and each came with its own full sized bath WITH TUB - which we found exceedingly rare in europe. The suite also included satellite televsision, two build in air conditioners, DVD Player, Stereo, Refrigerator with ice bin, Store top burner, phone and a large patio which had an amazing view of the ships coming in and out of the harbor. Each morning and afternoon we were seranaded by the bells worn by pack horses who made the way up the steep cliffs right by our rooms and even took a 2 hour ride on these wonderful animals down the streets and onto the beach on the other side of the island and back.

The best part of this stay had to be the amazing food prepared by the new chef, Alexandra. She prepares amazing breakfasts cooked to order, including omlettes. No Continental Breakfasts or Hardboiled eggs and toast with yogart at a buffet line here. You are waited on by a staff who will prepare most anything you desire, including pancakes, omlettes, etc. Breakfast is served on the patio by the pool or inside the dining room if the weather is cool.

Dinner is actually served here and it is INCREDIBLE. We had two dinners at AIGIALOS bookended by dinner at what Frommers says is the best retaurant in Greece - Selene which is actually next door to Aigialos. THERE WAS NO COMPARISON...Dinner at Aigialos prepreared by Alexandra (who previously was a chef on Mykonos) was by far superior to dinner at Selene. We had the most amazing salads with carmelized peaches, gargonzola cheese, pistachios and Alexandra's special dressing, followed by entrees of roast pork loin stuffed with cheese, carmelized pearl onions, as well as lamb, seaffood and pasta.

The restaurant at Aigialos is the best kept secret on Santorini. Whatever you ask Alexandra to prepare for the evening, she will do her best to make it for you and it is unbelievably great. Seriously, it surpassed Selenes and the food we had at Phillipi in Mykonos which is the most hightly touted restaurant on that island

Jean Pierre's hospitality and desire to make your trip a relaxing one was obvious in other ways. Jean Pierre would make phone calls, book reservations, set up special trips like to pack horse ride to the beach, etc. They took care of arrangements for a boat tour to the Caldera and told us of special places in town.

Another perk to the place is that it is on the edge of Fira so that its within walking distance to the main plaza/shopping/restaurants but not in the middle of the craziness of Fira town. The room we stayed in comfortably accommodated the four of us and was kept impeccably clean. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend Aigialos and their lovely staff to anyone who is planning on going to Fira.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLAX333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We were in Santorini the second week of May and had an amazing time at the Aigialos hotel in Fira. Our group consisted of my husband and I, my 4 year old daughter and my mom. From the moment I called Aigialos to make the reservation I was very impressed with their customer service and desire to make our stay very special. We originally booked Levantos but when we arrived Jean-Pierre, the manager, recommended that we stay in Apilitos which was a larger room with a beautiful Caldera view. The welcome we received was truly amazing. First we were invited to enjoy a glass of wine while our luggage was taken to our room. Then shortly after going to our room, we were pleasantly surprised with a beautiful fruit tray and two more bottles of wine! This may sound silly but the fruit tray was really impressive - two martini glasses with fruit in a compote and then more fresh fruit displayed beautifully. Their hospitality and desire to make your trip a relaxing one was also apparent in other ways like when we wanted to take the busy to kamari and instead of just pointing the way on the map they walked us to the bus stop so we wouldn't get lost, the way they doted on my daughter (she ate more cookies at Aigialos than I thought was possible) and when they took care of arrangements for a boat tour. Another perk to the place is that it is on the edge of Fira so that its within walking distance to the main plaza/shopping/restaurants but not in the middle of the craziness of Fira town. The room we stayed in comfortably accommodated the four of us and was kept impeccably clean. The food in their restaurant (which I believe is for guests only) was amazing - I still dream about the delicious eggs and mini croissants we had each morning. We also had dinner one night and the meal was spectacular. The dinner was particularly notable because we had also had dinner at Selene, which is right next door to the hotel and highly recommended in the guidebooks, and while not as fancy, the food I would say was as good or better. In short, we had a wonderful time and would highly recommend Aigialos and their lovely staff to anyone who is planning on going to Fira.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmb94070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
Athina Luxury Suites
0.0 mi away
Aria Suites
Aria Suites
#20 of 80 in Fira
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santorini Reflexions Volcano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kalisti Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Panorama Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Volcano View Hotel Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aigialos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aigialos Hotel

Property: Aigialos Hotel
Address: Ypapantis street, Fira 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fira
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#20 Luxury Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aigialos Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aigialos Collection consists of sixteen, renovated neoclassical houses that were originally the fine homes of the island's noble captain families. The architecture and design of the houses bring to life the traditional way of life of the island's nobility. Restored to perfection by master masons using local volcanic stone and coloured lime plaster, the houses are linked by cobbled walkways. Situated on the rim of the caldera, sheer cliffs that rise from the sea, the hotel overlooks the island's famed volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aigialos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigialos Hotel Fira
Aigialos Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing