We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and relaxing”
Review of Melina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melina Hotel
Ranked #51 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Lovely and relaxing hotel.Clean quiet and comfortable.Breakfast was filling,staff friendly and helpful.Value for money.Loved the pool too!Beautiful!Cute,friendly dog outside reception door most days. Thank you Hotel Melina.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kacey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    79
    40
    7
    12
See reviews for
36
106
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2012

It was our dream to visit Santorini, and the towns and beaches around the island, and Yannis and his people really made it happen, the hotel is placed I a quiet side but close to the town centre so just a quick and safe walk. Yannis assisted with tenting an ATV and gave us good. Tip with what to do. Thanks Melina hotel, the Eksteens had a great time.

Room Tip: Small bathrooms but worked well as water drain well if you spill water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wicus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Excellent location, friendly staff, airy rooms, large pool, pleasant all-around. It's not luxury but we didn't pay for luxury. The room was clean, bright and well-ventilated with adequate air conditioning at night, which we needed in early July. The breakfast coffee was excellent.

Two small comp[laints: We were in room #1 and our bathroom was microscopic, with barely enough room to open the door. We were constantly stubbing our toes on the squared-off tile corner of the shower. Some rooms apparently have larger bathrooms.

My second complaint is that they don't recommend drinking the tap water, but they charge you for bottled water. The tap water is potable, it's not dangerous, but it has a slight taste. The price they charge per bottle is not unreasonable compared to a store, but I mean, come on...

Room Tip: Next time I would request a larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel a few day ago. It's located in Fira,it's quite near the town center but it's not noisy. The contrary, it's quite and peaceful, with a very nice and relaxing pool.
The hotel was clean and every day the room smelled cleaness and chlorine. The owner was quite helpfull in organising our excursions and always knew all the information we need. He was very polite and smiled all the time. I will definetely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsyxoulaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

the hotel is located at a completely different location than you would expect from google maps. somewhat outside third, but directly located at a small road. room has been somewhat dusty, balcony as well. pool wasn't clean. breakfast was good and more than enough but it took 20 minutes to prepare it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Great hospitality, clean and always available to help in moving arround the island

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makis70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I stayed here whilst attending the WWIC2012 conference, and I was very happy with the hotel, the staff, food and atmosphere.
It was not peak season, and so the hotel was fairly quiet, which meant I had the pool to myself most days.

Breakfast was toasted cheese+ham sandwiches, side of toast, an egg and marble cake (Cake for Breakfast! Awesome!), served with tea or coffee, by a lovely lady who didn't have much English, but was very smiley and helpful. I disagree with other reviews that say the staff/owners were not nice. Perhaps it was the guests that were not nice!

The room was fine, with A/C, Phone, Fridge and a TV (which I didn't use), there is free Wi-Fi and a PC for internet use in the lobby. I had a ground floor double room, which had a large balcony. Shower wasn't amazing, but it was typical in my experience.

I think it might be a nice place for families too, but I didn't seen any children there.

The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from the town square/tourist shops and local supermarkets. It is not on the Caldera view side, so don't expect an amazing view, but it does get the morning sunshine :) Other reviewers complained about a carpark view - well yes, there is a carpark, but it's behind the hotel gardens - which include a nice pond and a BBQ - I guess they get this going when they are busier.

Room Tip: An upstairs room, on the pool-side might be a good choice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.2 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.6 mi away
Milos Villas
Milos Villas
#44 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astir Thira Hotel
Astir Thira Hotel
#50 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Dahlia & Jasmine Collection by Angel Studios
0.6 mi away
Amerisa Suites
Amerisa Suites
#65 of 80 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#42 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melina Hotel

Property: Melina Hotel
Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Melina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melina Hotel Fira
Melina Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing