We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, a bit rough round the edges”
Review of Melina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melina Hotel
Ranked #52 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, a bit rough round the edges”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for four nights at the beginning of august. Location is convenient - a 5 min walk to the restaurants etc overlooking town, and isolated enough so you don't hear too much traffic and crowds. On our arrival the man at the reception was stern but nevertheless helpful in issuing us a map of the town centre and recommending us some places to eat, drink and visit in the island.

Our room was pretty basic - but it had a nice location overall at the back of hotel and overlooking the pool so you can come and go as you please. The bed had clean sheets and clean towels were provided. Housekeeping also came every day.

Shower facilities were decent and overall the room, while clearly a bit rough round the edges, did the job. We hardly spent much time at the hotel so it was a good place to rest our heads. Air con was welcome and the little balcony was a nice place to chill after hours. Swimming pool was also a nice place to relax.

As other reviews have mentioned the breakfast was a little bready. We only had it once (mainly because we didn't wake up for it!) and it consisted of a cheese and ham toastie, more toast, a slice of cake (!) yogurts, orange squash, and (cold) boiled eggs. An uninspiring meal but otherwise filling.

Overall a pleasant stay, you get what you pay for really. Not sure I'd stay there again but it does the job!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joapaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    82
    42
    8
    12
See reviews for
40
109
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel for a week at the end of July, and had a lovely time. It was very close to the airport, just a 5-10 min taxi journey. The staff were very helpful when we first arrived, they provided us with a map of Fira town, and information about where is good to eat and what to do on the island. The rooms were kept very clean and tidy by the maid, who came to clean every day leaving fresh towels. The breakfast was simple but nice. The location of the hotel is perfect as you are only a five minute walk into the main part of Fira, where all the bars and restaurants are. The restaurants along the front are all lovely, as you have a beautiful view over the caldera. You are also only a five minute walk from the bus stop, where buses run (regularly throughout the day and night) to the other towns on the island. The swimming pool area is also very nice, with a good sized pool and plenty of sunbeds. Overall, we would definitely recommend staying here, as we really enjoyed our stay in there. (I would also recommend going to the open-air cinema in Kamari, it's a really good experience. And the Thalassa & Bella aurora day cruises are definitely worth going on, they're a little more money than the other excursions at 56 euro but worth the extra money. The boat is an beautiful old looking sailling boat, which takes you to the volcano, where you get off and climb the volcano and then to the hot springs where you can jump off and swim. Later on you have food on board and a saxophone player plays whilst you watch the sunset go down. It was a really nice day/evening).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel does not have a nice view. I would recommend this place if you're visiting santorini on a budget. I was satisfied with the experience but disappointed with the location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ntouchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were so happy with the staff and Melina herself. She is so friendly and just went out of her way to help us and make sure we knew all we needed to know. The establishment itself Is lovely and a close walk to town.
The only things that took my review down from 5 stars was the wifi didn't work in our room, we had to stand outside to get it. The blankets on the bed really aren't nice or comfortable at all.. (They feel like a floor mat).
But that didn't ruin my experience, we still really enjoyed staying here.

Thanks for having us :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We spent three nights at the Melina hotel and we were pleased that it was right at the edge of downtown where you could walk to everything but not be kept up at night by all the late-night parties. The staff were extremely helpful and on top of everything. We had an early flight the day of our checkout so we would miss the breakfast that is included, but to our surprise, they left some items in our room the night before just so we wouldn't be hungry on our way to the airport. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stubb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We liked the location of this property, just a short walk to the town of Fira. The grounds are well kept and the pool area is very nice. Melina (owner) is very friendly and provided good tips and information about things to do on the island. The rooms are on the small side and the beds definitely need updating. The breakfast is monotonous and carb filled. It was an acceptable stay but could be improved with better mattresses for a better sleep quality and a better breakfast options.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights recently. It was a short trip from the airport and easy to find. Unfortunately our flight was so early we got here before 7am and had to wait outside. After getting some breakfast we came back to the hotel and waited in reception, they have a lovely setup to the side with chairs and cushions near the window. Our room ended up being ready early which was great.
The rooms are very clean and neat and keep with the white/blue theme of santorini.
Breakfast the next day was served to our table. Great if you like bread, not so great if you don't but for only 2 days it was ok.
Maria was very helpful in explaining where everything was when we arrived and booked us a day tour as well. The pool is a lovely place to relax and cool off. All in all a nice quiet place to stay, would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santorini
Hotel Santorini
#45 of 80 in Fira
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.2 mi away
Astir Thira Hotel
Astir Thira Hotel
#53 of 80 in Fira
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Solaris
Solaris
#63 of 80 in Fira
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milos Villas
Milos Villas
#51 of 80 in Fira
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leta
Hotel Leta
#48 of 80 in Fira
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melina Hotel

Property: Melina Hotel
Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Melina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melina Hotel Fira
Melina Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing