We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melina Hotel
Ranked #51 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

This hotel was a good budget family-owned hotel on Santorini and was about a 15 minute walk to the the downtown area in Fira. The rooms were mostly clean and accessible from the exterior of the hotel, and the pricing was a good value compared to the hotels closer to downtown. We spent most of our time in downtown Fira during the couple nights we stayed at this hotel, as it is not near any shops or restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbstruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    79
    40
    7
    11
See reviews for
35
106
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

This family owned hotel is simply the best deal on Santorini. Yannis, one of the owners, went out of his way to make sure we had a great time, didn't miss anything we wanted to see, and he made sure we knew about everything we might find of interest. The hotel is charming, clean, well staffed with personable people and it is conveniently located. I will visit Santorini again and I will stay at this hotel, and if you don't try it yourself, you will wish you had!

Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rhnva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed at Melina in September and paid 90 euros. Since is was the off-season,we thought it would be an outstanding hotel at that price, but we were a bit disappointed. We did enjoy the friendly owner, the nice pool and free internet, but we had a small room and the water in the shower was cold in the morning. We moved to Villa Koronios a few steps away and had a friendly host, great rooms, hot water and a pool for 40 euros. We didn't feel the better breakfast and free internet at Melina were worth 50 euros per night.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgaryconnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It is in a great location taking only 5 mins or so to walk to town and to the bus station if you want to go to other parts of the island, which I'd recommend Oia. Breakfast was great and a lot more food then I expected. The owners were friendly and helpful. If you're looking for a inexpensive hotel in Fira I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lissam15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

This hotel was a lovely experience. Perfectly situated, just a 2 minute walk into the town and far enough away from the town to be quiet. The rooms were clean and neat and the owner and staff exceptionally friendly, helpful and welcoming. The hotel has an authentic Greek feel and a lovely pool.

After experiencing other hotels in Greece, it was lovely to receive fresh towels every day and we were even provided with beach towels on request, which from experince is an exception to the rule for Greek hotels.

A lovely touch was that the owner waited up to personally welcome us at one in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lopsenpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

The reviews really helped us choose this hotel and it was exacty as described - clean, friendly staff, quiet location and near enough to Fira to walk in. Obviously no caldera views but our room actually had a lovely view the other way towards ancient Thira.I had told the kids we were staying in a cheap hotel and they were amazed with the nice rooms and the lovely pool. We spent 20 Euros each evening between the four of us buying a drink at a cafe with a caldera view so we didn't miss out on the sunset!
The ratings I give are all 5 star taking into account the price.I would stay here again if we came back. It was very convenient for the bus station and we managed to walk there with very heavy cases in about ten minutes. The walk into Fira (10 mins) is along a pretty busy road and the pavements are non-existent so I would be less happy taking small chidren here.
.The owner booked us onto a boat trip to the volcano and hot springs and that was brilliant - 63 Euros for 2 adults and 2 children.
We got a bus to the ferry port for 2 euros each.
The taxi from the airport charged us 5 Euros each which was a rip off as it was very close to the airport. May be better to get a bus to Fira and walk if you don't have too much luggage.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LKWTeachMaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

Stayed 3 nights in early July. Before reviewing the hotel I have to give great thanks and credit to the owner who helped us with a sick child who had come down with a 24 hour stomach bug the day we were to check out and leave. He helped us with a place to rest, medicine and food. Prior to this , he was very helpful with information on things to do on the island. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the bus station and main town of Fira making it nice and quiet. Wonderful pool. Breakfast was filling and good, though the same each day. Fast and free computer in the lobby. The room was fine, with balconies front and back and a safe but had twin beds pushed together instead of a double bed. The small bathroom was the only negative with a a tiny shower, mismatched toilet/ toilet seat and lid.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shakh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
1.5 mi away
Nautilus Dome
Nautilus Dome
#30 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.3 mi away
Costa Marina Villas
Costa Marina Villas
#5 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Philippion Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kavalari
Hotel Kavalari
#31 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dahlia & Jasmine Collection by Angel Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melina Hotel

Property: Melina Hotel
Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Melina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Melina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melina Hotel Fira
Melina Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing