We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King Thiras Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Argonaftes(Firostefani)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
97
108
16
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
108
16
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe bussmall balconywonderful ownerscobble stoneonly stayed one nighthard boiled eggsfamily owned hotelyogurtvery pleasant staycar rentalthe cliffwould definitely stay here againspectacular viewsboat tripferry porttravel agentmac and cheese
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This is my first review on Trip Advisor, I use it all the time when making plans but have never taken the time to give good hotels and attractions the review they deserve.

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in September during our travels throughout mainland Greece and the islands.

The service was spectacular. The hotel owner was attentive and called multiple travel agencies on a Sunday to track down our transfer to the airport.

The location to Fira can not be beat. It is just a short walk to the downtown area, but away from the noise and bustle. Don't miss the cliffside walk directly behind the hotel...perfect for sunset pictures and also gives you access to more restaurants.

Our room opened to a balcony that overlooked the island and the sea. Every night I threw open the doors and we slept with them open. As promised, our room also had a decent view (but no odor) of the next door's donkey, which was pretty great.

The room was a decent size and was super clean. Previous reviewers have commented on the hard beds and tiny baths. I have to say that the hard beds seem to be pretty standard in Greece. If this is going to be a problem, I would suggest staying at an American chain or similar international chain. The bathroom was small, but the hand held shower is also standard throughout Greece, even in the 5 star hotel we stayed at in Athens. All the bathrooms come with floor drains as a bathroom drenching while showering seems to be expected.

My husband and I are independent travelers who value cleanliness and quality for our dollar over luxury and hand holding. If you are on your honeymoon and want a romantic hotel with a pool and other luxuries or you're a traveler that needs something comparable to a chain hotel in the states, this place is not for you. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax, enjoy what Greece has to offer and you want to make the most of your euro/dollar while living life to its fullest, King Thiras Hotel might be the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaaragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Well located, basic accommodation. Would recommend for travelers on a tight budget. Owners very helpful and welcoming. No Pool or outside common area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmogirlOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our honeymoon and although this is truly a no frills hotel, the owner and his wife were amazing, as was our stay. King Thiras is an affordable option because it does not have a caldera view. However, we were never in our rooms during the day so we would not have capitalized on the view if we had it. From the hotel it is only a short walk to the main center of the town and the owner takes his time to give you a map and let you know the best places to go and see the island. After having a hard time reaching our hotel at our last island, we contacted the owner before reaching Santorini and he offered to pick us up from the bus station and bring us to our hotel. Him and his wife are truly all about servicing their guests. His wife makes the complementary breakfast and we thought it was a nice treat. Before we booked our stay I read various posts that stated the breakfast was not good but, in our opinion, it was just not like an American complementary breakfast. They have toast, meat, and cheese to make a sandwich, boiled eggs, yogurt, honey, olives, coffee, tea, Orange Juice, etc. We really enjoyed it and always left full. The downside was that the shower stall was quite small (only one person could fit at a time) and the mattress was not too comfortable. However, the mattress problem seemed to be a theme throughout our trip so it was something we had become accustomed to. We really enjoyed our stay at King Thiras and would recommend this hotel to active individuals who would not utilize a hotel with a great view because they are off exploring.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FSachon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I am going to start by stating that this has been the worse hotel I ever stayed at by far. The first night we the room the gave us #15 the A/C was not working, we notice when we returned from the town and the reception was closed already. The owner also lives there ( very nice guy by the way). We could not sleep all night. The next day he gave us another room which the A/C was working but it was a full size bed (for a couple is way too small). The bathroom was super tiny and everything very very old. The bathroom was so small that I could not even shave inside the shower. The hand held shower was just hanging from the nobs. you either had to hold it between your legs or put it in the floor while you showered. The water tasted nasty. We did not even attempted to try the breakfast. on a postive note it had a great location. walking distance from the town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anharin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Small family run hotel, where you are treated like family! The owners are wonderfully helpful. The hotel is about a 2 minute walk from central Fira and literally just off the trail to walk to Oia. The owner was so helpful suggesting places to go and how to get there. We did not travel with a computer, so he happily let us use his laptop!
Minor drawback - the shower......very small, and almost impossible to operate without getting water everywhere. They need longer shower curtains! and this hotel is definitely not for disabled travellers - stairs to enter, and the beds were very low, and quite hard.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews