We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kavalari
Nearby Hotels
Lilium Villas(Fira)
US$183
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$369
US$344
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$225
US$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$386
US$374
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$843
US$669
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Evgenia Villas & Suites(Fira)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$268
US$253
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$161
US$151
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
235
128
30
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
128
30
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cliffthe buscave roomgreek yogurtbreakfast terraceexecutive roomhot watersqueezed orange juicecarry your luggagesmall windowhotel atlantisbreakfast is servedevery morningdifferent levelsperfect locationtwin bedsloved this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

On our last night on Crete, we had to decide where to stay 1 night in Fira/Thira on Santorini . Hotel Kavalari seemed to fit what we were looking for. Previous good reviews, breakfast included, good caldera view and close to town center at a reasonable price, 78 E. And we could not have happier with our choice. It was the last room available, #30, which is close to the lobby and higher up than other rooms.
Though the room is small and has 2 single beds. We are getting used to that bed arrangement in Greece. ( see our previous Greece reviews). Short showers will give you hot water showers. For your Greek style breakfast , just sit at a table and it is brought to you by a staff member. Wifi connection was good in the room or reception ( separate password needed). Both desk staff we met are very friendly and very helpful .
Finding this hotel is easy too. Once you get off at the bus terminal , simply head up up towards Hotel Atlantis and the main viewpoint and pedestrian walkway, turn right and walk a couple minutes. You'll see the framed entrance way, sometimes the rope is down, due to lookylous taking pictures.
We really liked this place and recommend it. We would have stayed longer but had accommodations already booked in Oia for the next night.

Room Tip: All rooms face the caldera. Lower rooms are closer to the lower breakfast deck but means more stairs up to get to the walkway for shops and resturants.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubberducklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The views of the caldera are stunning--they literally have to put a rope up to keep non-guests from coming in and staring. The sunset was better from this hotel than in Oia. The location in general is also good, an easy walk to shops, restaurants, and the bus station, but still quiet.
My room was a single on the bottom terrace. It was clean and decently sized, although the bed wasn't very comfortable. Having to heat the water for a shower is annoying, but that's life in Greece.
The staff members were very friendly and helpful. The wifi wasn't working too well during my stay, but they were forthcoming about it and gave suggestions for getting a better connection.
The breakfast was delicious and a very generous portion. I couldn't finish what they brought me.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, ask to be placed as close to the lobby as possible.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flatbstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The view from entering is amazing, then you get to your room, and it's still awesome! We traveled here in mid-April for our honeymoon and we'd definitely be back.

Transportation to/from Airport: They offer you in advance a taxi/shuttle service, but after being in town for a week, I regret paying 22 EUR for our shuttle. The bus is about 2 EUR each and a 4 minute walk from the hotel. The shuttle can't drop you off at the hotel front either because it's a pedestrian walk way. Take the bus, you pay for your ticket on board. They arrive pretty regularly.

Check-in: We checked in at 10am, so it was staffed (not sure what earlier arrivals do).

Our room location: We were in a standard double room #13, on the main/middle terrace outside the breakfast room. People complain about the walk (about 5 flights), but after all the gyro/soulakis you eat, who are we kidding, we need to burn those calories! One bad thing about #13 is that there is always somebody outside your door on the main terrace. Not good for honeymooners! Also, they keep a pet Parrot in the main terrace. This is fun for a bit, but when you're trying to take an afternoon nap, that bird squawks something hellish and it's no rest for you!

The Room (#13): They provide all the basic toiletries (Shampoo, conditioner, and soap). The bathroom was a cool and spacious cave with a seat in the large waterfall spout shower. That shower was awesome. You do need to flip the switch to charge the hot water 10 minutes before showering, but it's not a big deal. It's a smaller water tank so don't blast the shower at 100% or you'll be out of hot water in 4 minutes. Punch it to 70% and you'll have enough hot water for a 15 minute shower since it's heating at a more sustainable pace. Clean towels provided each day. The bed is pretty crummy, and you feel the springs on your back. I just got an extra comforter and folded it in thirds to soften it up. If English is your only language, the BBC News and some German News station are your only options. There are about 3 outlets for you to use. Only one of them was a grounded outlet (don't forget your outlet converter). The rooms come with a crummy safe; however, the cleaning ladies are good. I left out expensive camera equipment, and nothing was swiped.

WiFi: Strong signal as they use repeaters, but my guess is you're sharing a T1 with the other 20 rooms in the hotel. This means, good signal, slow slow slow speeds. After strolling the island for 10 hours on foot, it'd be great to come back and stream some videos. We had the best speeds at 4am when we were jetlagged.

Breakfast: I like croissants, pain de chocolate, bowl of mixed fruits, greek yogurt, and fresh squeezed orange juice every morning with your choice of coffee or tea. It's light and gets you ready for a day of walking. Some people need meat and eggs in the morning, but I found it just fine. They give you real honey packets so just pour that in your yogurt for some solid protein.

Activities/Vendors: We went with the ATV company that Costas (sp?) recommended at the front desk. It was cheap and easy. 25 EUR for 24 hours with an 150cc ATV. Plenty of power and it comes with a back storage box for your helmets and backpack gear. We didn't have to pay for extra insurance or fees/taxes. The vendor takes your credit card number down on carbon paper, and returns it to you upon completion. Honest easy going guys. The ATV was fun!

Eats Nearby: For your gyro/souvlaki fix, go to Lucky's off the main street. It's where the locals go. 2 Euro for a souvlaki. Mama's Kitchen is nearby. It's recommended. The chinese food restaurant on the main street is a rip off for sub par food. Grocery store is nearby for snacks and alcohol. We would get some souvlakis, some Fix Hellas beers, and sit on the terrace of our hotel for sunset dinners. The view didnt get old for the week we there.

Laundry: This hotel doesn't have laundry services, so you'll need to walk south on the main street for a bit to find a cleaner. Drop of your clothes. You'll need about 10 EUR for wash/dry of one load and pay another 3-4 EUR for detergent and softener.

Check out: We had the 6:00am flight out, so check out was a bit different. There was no staff, so we unlocked the front door and the reception door, left the key at the front desk, then closed both doors behind us which auto lock. They can call you a cab that costs 18 EUR and shows up promptly. The drive to the airport take like 7 minutes. No need to tip.

Value: We were off-peak season for Mid April, and paid about 80 EUR per night. 6 Days in Santorini is good amount of time. You really get to see the island!

Room Tip: Don't get room #13 (Standard Double). It gets loud during the day time. Lower levels are more private, but a lot more steps. It might be worth it to pay the extra dollars and get a better located room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MJWang24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

When we saw the view from our hotel window, we were thrilled! It was wonderful to come back from sight seeing around Santorini to such a spectacular dynamic scene as the sun went down. We would like to convey our gratitude to the fantastic staff there. The advice, friendliness and service were top notch. In particular, we are especially grateful for the efforts, understanding and compassion of the Kavalari staff when we had a bout of ill health that required a visit to the local medical centre. We were able to continue with our holiday as planned when well again. We heartily recommend anyone visiting Santorini to stay at the Hotel Kavalari.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank tuxxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel offers outstanding and picturesque views of the Caldera and is located in the heart of Fira which is only steps from boutiques, restaurants, bars and a supermarket. We walked everywhere, there was no need for a car or cab. You get a patio with every room and can enjoy the famous santorini sunset right outside of your room. The only thing I wasn't crazy about was the breakfast, but that is because I am used to Complimentary Canadian breakfast, and also the jacuzzi was actually cold so we didnt get to use it much, but other than that the staff and rooms were amazing!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews