We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giggling uncontrollably”
Review of Hotel Keti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Keti
Ranked #23 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Giggling uncontrollably”
Reviewed 18 November 2009

It was hard not to giggle uncontrollably when you first arrive (after an arduous climb down -- surpassed only by the trip UP -- with a full load of luggage) and see the view of the caldera. No picture or written description can do it justice -- just see for yourself. It's AWESOME, in the true, original sense of the word.

The hotel itself is very good. Prices are quite affordable, esp. in the off season, and we got the Cavehouse Suite for a steal (on the hotel website). It was cozy for a suite -- I suspect the less deluxe rooms might even be smallish for some. The furnishings were fine. Housekeeping was efficient. The front desk person was genial, with excellent English. Much like our Athens leg of the trip, however, we did have to wrestle with mosquitoes, esp. at night. Be prepared to swat aggressively and keep the windows shut in the evening (or wear some repellent).

We got the transportation to and from the airport, which consisted of a mass shuttle for multiple Fira hotels on the way to the hotel, and the front desk hailing a cab (which we had to pay) on the way back. That being said, the shuttle was worth it.

Fira can get loud, even in the off season (we could hear nightclub music from the patio at night), but the Keti has a gem of a location, with terrific views and a relatively quiet setting, amply justifying the steep slopes one must traverse to and from the the hotel. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JiffyPoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    87
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
44
249
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Stayed 2 nights. Great views from patio. Nice clean rooms. Good location for exploring. Travel lightly since you need to walk a bit to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

excellent value for money. terrific location on caldera in fira. the walk up and down to the town is not as bad as many others have suggested. well worth the amazing views. highly recommended.

minimal downside is no restaurant (several euros for optional continental breakfast).

free wifi available at front desk. not reachable from my room.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barneysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights in October in a double superior room and loved every minute of being here..it was the best value hotel we stayed in during our Europe tour.
The location is great...spectacular views out onto the caldera. We had our own balcony and also access to the shared balcony. Nothing better than sitting here to watch the sunset.
The rooms are nice and airy...simply furnished but comfortable, with a fridge, hairdryer and safe. The staff were friendly and helpful and gave us a map on arrival and advice on where to go. The breakfast was an extra 7 euros per person per day and was decent.
Only thing to be aware of is that its a bit of a climb down to the hotel. We arranged a taxi from the airport through the hotel and the driver told us to wait at the top of the stairs with our bags for someone to come up and meet us. Waited 20 minutes and no one arrived so we eventually just walked down...
Otherwise, everything was perfect. Would not hesitate to stay here again!
Would recommend hiring a 4 wheel buggy/scooter to get around Santorini..great value!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikeAirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

When researching our trip to Santorini, this hotel stood out as having some of the best rates in the area with the majority of hotels located on the caldera charging 200 euros or more/night. It goes without saying that the view from the balcony is spectacular. The rooms are like caves dug into the side of the volcano and are very spacious, clean and comfortable. Be prepared to climb lots of stairs.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

I highly recommend this hotel. I stayed here from September 29, 2009 to October 3, 2009. The staff were very professional and welcoming. When I arrived I discovered that I had left a bag on the bus when transferring from the airport to the hotel. After telling the kind gentleman at the reception desk he immediately called the agency and my bag was retrieved and returned to my room. What a relief. This could have ruined my trip. This was a wonderful gesture and gave me a great impression of the Greek people and their honesty. The room was a standard double and overlooked the harbour as shown in the photos. The view from the balcony is stunning. Every room has a balcony with a view so you cannot go wrong staying here. You find yourself sitting on the balcony to observe the beauty of Santorini. The room was very clean and had a very nice whirlpool tub. The size of the room was large and if you need to store water or food it contained a fridge and single burner hot plate. You do need to climb steps so guests should be prepared for this but most of the hotels facing the caldera require climbing some steps. The location is close to major sites and transportation. At the top of the hill from the hotel you find the museum of prehistoric Thira and the main bus station is a short walk. You are close to restaurants and shops. I purchased a ticket for volcano/hot springs/Thirassia boat tour from the hotel. It is well worth considering. It is very enjoyable. When returning to Santorini I will choose the Hotel Keti for my stay. I am still talking about my enjoyable stay in Stantorini. Thanks again to the Hotel Keti for their hospitality and kindness.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmctrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Great hospitality in this small hotel. We had a room overlooking the caldera and what a view to wake up to!
Iannis is the perfect host, he is friendly, welcoming and a great guide to the many restaurants in Fira. He also offered us great advice on the activities we wanted to do.
We will definitely be back to enjoy the sunsets at hotel Keti!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabs_browning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 80 in Fira
799 reviews
1.7 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
0.0 mi away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#8 of 80 in Fira
403 reviews
0.0 mi away
Athina Luxury Suites
Athina Luxury Suites
#11 of 80 in Fira
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keti

Property: Hotel Keti
Address: Parodos Agiou Mina, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#11 Family Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keti 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Keti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keti Hotel Fira
Hotel Keti Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing