We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing--has seen better days.”
Review of Loucas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loucas Hotel
Ranked #68 of 80 Hotels in Fira
east coast
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing--has seen better days.”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our bed, made of slats, broke twice. The bathroom was up 2 stairs, and the tub was small (you could barely stand up because of the curvature of the underlying cliff). Our room was way down the hill, so we couldn't hear the nightclub, but it also meant a long walk to street level. Breakfast was so-so compared with other hotels we stayed at on our trip.

Room Tip: dont choose near the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rednissan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    66
    35
    35
    48
See reviews for
33
119
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have taxed 4 nights at Loucas Hotel and have really felt in paradise on Santorini. This is a gem. We have stayed in standard room which has white , island white room with tall ceilings, pretty blue bedspreads, a big window with shutters that open to our terrace and wonderful views of Thera and the caldera. Each morning would wake , open the shutters to the blue sky and views of the sea, and listen for the soft tinkering bells of the donkeys as they would pass by , their hooves tapping on the stone passageway below on their way down to meet the cruise ships and ferries arriving for the day. What a unique experience.
Our room is basic, but very comfortable. Have bathroom with shower works well, good hot water, but shower curtain little too short. So if you can tolerate a few little quirkiness, this is a wonderful value. We share a lovely terrace with a room across the hall, so we each have a little table and set of two comfy balcony chairs- has been nice occasion to visit with German couple. The terraces seem different, as hotel has variety of room combinations. Breakfast is ample with eggs, tomatoes , cucumbers, olives, a cheese and ham, breads, canned fruit, yogurt and honey. It was more than filling. And is served on another terrace looking out to the sea- incredible. As others have commented, there are lots of stairs, but that is the nature of Thera and Oia cliffside hotels. We walked and saw a lot of places, similarily cascading down or up the cliffs creating the most dramatic landscape and exciting atmosphere of any island. We went to a couple little museums here, and what is incredible is that the island villages have been here on top of the cliffs for 100s of yrs, yet so much of the towns were tragically destroyed in a 1956 earthquake; since then not only has the island villages been rebuilt and restored, but further developed so beautifully.
We felt so lucky to be able to stay here. The location is excellent, and one is embedded among other places that can charge 300-500 euros for the same view. The staff are very nice. We had booked through Mediterra Holidays, so they arranged a transfer to hotel, but the taxi could not enter the pedestrian village, so hotel manager met us and carried our bags to the hotel, and then the reception arranged for our bags to be transported to the room . Very helpful. There seems to be a very nice mix of guests of all ages with real international diversity, which we thoroughly enjoyed. People are very friendly. We wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. You might want to specifically ask for a queen bed, as ours was two twins put together . Or book the superior rooms if you want to make sure you get a large bed.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm 13 above breakfast terrace and above pool levels and had excellent views, lovely ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAP245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Views were lovely, until we got on our level. We had paid for an upgrade which is why I was so disappointed. My sister and her husband were the level higher (115 steps from the road ) with a big room and views from the rather small balcony, we were 135 steps and when sitting on our seats the view was blocked by trees, really really disappointing after waiting
so long to get there. Our room #43 was half the size of #42 with a mezzanine level built in for the bed, my husband who is under six foot had to duck his head to walk around the bedroom and there was a ladder to get up to the room. We were very very disappointed especially as we had paid for an upgrade, we wondered what basic rooms were like. Having seen my sisters room we know some are quite nice. Breakfast was also not that good.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RHONDA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Hill, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Loucas Hotel. This was a great hotel located looking over the Caldera. Our room was superb with our own courtyard where each morning the donkeys would walk by. The views breathtaking from here. Staff at reception very helpful and nice also.

Within the hotel is Aris Restaurant which serves delicious good priced meals. Also a great wine list . THe staff at Aris restaurant were incredible, as was Aris himself a very friendly generous man. THere is a bar above the restaurant that serves great cocktails and again with views to die for. We will definitely go back and stay at the Loucas Hotel. Thanks to everyone there.

Room Tip: Book a Superior Room or Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The staff were really good they would do anything to help and petros was hilarous. We had a really nice time in Fira. One down fall was the room.. It was advertised to have a spa bath but it turns out it had never worked.. And the shower leaked alot all over the bathroom but other than that it was a great hotel. Breakfast was also a bit ordinary as eggs were always cold..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ezra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The staff at the hotel was very nice and I almost feel bad to have to give this rating but the hotel is just not a four star, maybe 3. It was clean and the view is nice but most hotels in Fira have that view. You can easily stay at one of the hotels next to it and be at a truly 4-5 star hotel. The bed was hard. Room was no frill and very basic. Breakfast was ehhhh... basic.

I did read some of the reviews about the club above the rooms, if you get a room lower than the street level - which means a lot of steps, you won't be bothered by the noise.

Wifi never worked except if you were in the reception area. I even told someone at the desk and they made some excuse about it but it never worked. So don't count on it.

Didn't like the pool area. Felt like I was at a cheap motel. I looked over to the next hotel and its pool and I was envious. Luckily, we preferred to go to the beach anyway.

Hotel location is good but as another reviewer said, you get what you pay for, a basic room and hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms far away from the club as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goddesstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our first impressions weren't great of this hotel. We had organized a transport service from Santorini port to the hotel. However the bus could only take us so far as the hotel is located in pedestrian only area. The driver said that he had organized for the hotel rep to meet us and walk the rest of the way. When we arrived there was no one there, the driver was very apologetic but assured us the hotel rep knew. We waited and waited and attempted to find it ourselves but couldn't. We then tried to phone them and in return they hung up on us. We eventually got hold of them and they came to meet us. During our stay everything seemed like a chore for the staff. They didn't want to give us the wifi password or help us at all.
The view was amazing. However it took us 106 steps to get to our room which was ok for us because we have the ability to. However if you have limited mobility at all please don't stay here as the hotel is located on the side of the cliff.
The room was basic which was ok because it was clean. As others have said you are below a bar. I found this to be an issue around 1:30 every morning the noise would wake me. My boyfriend had no issue he just slept through. I ended up using noisy canceling headphones. So my suggestion if you are a light sleeper take ear plugs.
We were there during a time when there were major issues with power in Santorini. We understood that it was out of the hotels hands in regards to this however it would have been nice to be kept up to date. We never had hot water and one day had no water at all. But we weren't offered any option or information on these issues even when asked.
Overall location great especially to watch the famous Santorini sunset but that's really all. Please be cautious when staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fira hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Odyssey
Hotel Villa Odyssey
#72 of 80 in Fira
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Carra Hotel
Porto Carra Hotel
#55 of 80 in Fira
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kavalari
Hotel Kavalari
#36 of 80 in Fira
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Panorama Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Adamis Majesty Suites
1.7 mi away
Nautilus Dome
Nautilus Dome
#24 of 80 in Fira
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loucas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loucas Hotel

Property: Loucas Hotel
Address: Kamariou Mesarias, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loucas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loucas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loucas Hotel Fira
Loucas Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing